Initial Start Up

is helping my bf building up his 5ftX2ftX2ft tank..

initially used seawater to fill it up.. put in LR.. lotsa worms inside.. i supposed the LR decayed or something..

caused the water to smell.. crashed tank..

took out LR.. rewashed.. changed new water.. cycling.. 2nd day liao tank still as smelly...

how ah?? :unsure:

anything can help eat the dying worms?

is helping my bf building up his 5ftX2ftX2ft tank..

initially used seawater to fill it up.. put in LR.. lotsa worms inside.. i supposed the LR decayed or something..

took out LR.. rewashed.. changed new water.. cycling.. 2nd day liao tank still as smelly...

how ah?? :unsure:

you shouldnt wash the live rocks with tap water. The smell is normal during the cycling period.Ensure theres plenty of water flow in the tank.Unless the smell becomes unbearable, don't change the water until the cyling is over.

do more homewerk ya........ ;););) lotz of readin can obtain from here n the other useful links..... :ph34r::ph34r:

juz leave it be... bear wif the smell for awhile... it is cause of the dieoffs from the rocks... part of the curing n cycling process... this will jump start the nitrogen cycle for the tank... stuff dies n decay n bacteria breaks it down into ammonia... then the areobic bacteria kicks in to break ammonia down into nitrites... then into nitrates.... anerobic bacteria then converts them into free nitrogen molecules...

so juz bear wif it....

just because the water smells during the initial cycle period, it doesn't mean the tank has crashed.

do not wash your live rocks with freshwater. soaking it is even worse. but what is done is done and you cannot do anything already. if you really have to, brush of the parts where it is rotting and all and just rinse it with saltwater. or a quick dab with freshwater. but I wouldn't advice freshwater rinsing at all.

secondly. read more through the forum. much much more then what you already have read. it is very important that you do so. saves you the time, effort and money on procuring newer lifestock. also, it allows you to make better decisions regarding the fate of your tank.

not saying you made a bad decision. just saying that it could have been avoided.

Actually with a few die off will actually kicjk start the nitrogen cycle. Dun worry to much of it. The bacteria will be able to feed on it.

Be patience as many of the reefers had mentioned that the smell will go away. I'll say maybe in a week or two depending on the amount of LR you have.

You may try testing for ammonia in a few days time and you'll see a peak. A week later or so, nitrite will start to peak and ammonia should go down.

i dare not day dream :erm::erm::erm: ..... as long as i hv a GF/wife who dun keep nagging me when i spen my time on my tank can liao :cry::cry: ..... dun really to help me..... :angel::angel:

:lol: haha

ok lah... dint really do anything lah.. except for scraping the dying LR..

giving ideas here and there.. learning with him..

maybe i might set up one tank on my own as well...

hahah budget constrain tho...

just finish up his 5ft tank and see how first..

u guys have to communicate with ur partners mah... so they wun nag so much..

You will need an overflow system or a surface skimmer...if not, you will end up with a 'oil' slick on the surface of your water in no time.

Aiya tigershark..stay single lah..single solitary life rox... :lol:

what i do with mine is to use a power head in the tank as well as another one to introduce air bubbles... smell goes away quite fast and i also have a fan running non stop there to circulate the air so it won't smell too much....