Really really sad case......

blueheaven

Just to share that i have a very sad case. u see, i first started with FL and found it not suitable. den recently i changed into PL for $70. den I found it cannot keep SPS(my dream). den I was thinking of T5 but too expensive and i cannot convince my father that T5 are good. he say that if T5 are so good, why are LFS not selling them? also he say i have been spending too much money on lighting. seems like I just have to make do with PL. sad~~~~~~~

:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

Well. I can sympathise with you. I started out with 4x30 watt FL. found it not enough, went for 4x55watt PL enough but not nice (no shimmering effect) then got a chiller and got a 250watt MH. all this in a short 3mths! ai.... waste a few hundred in FL and PLs, could have save so much if I can go straight to MH.

Get a part time job lor. then go buy the T5 you wan. But dont think thats enough rite. need MH to have the intensity I think. Correct me if I am wrong cos I dont keep sps. jus lps.

Just to share that i have a very sad case. u see, i first started with FL and found it not suitable. den recently i changed into PL for $70. den I found it cannot keep SPS(my dream). den I was thinking of T5 but too expensive and i cannot convince my father that T5 are good. he say that if T5 are so good, why are LFS not selling them? also he say i have been spending too much money on lighting. seems like I just have to make do with PL. sad~~~~~~~

:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

my heart goes out to you :D yes the T5 would be better though but then again if you intend on keeping SPS which is your dream , then I think you're going to spend more money on MH lights as T5 is unable to sustain SPS corals alone. The true fact is that this hobby doesn't come cheap and when you decide on whatever you intend keeping you should stick to the idea as this will save you alot from over spending in the long run. Hope you can convince your dad or in any case look for a holiday job in the mean time. ;)

seems that you have alot of problem with regards to lighting....

do yourself and the sps a favour...stay away from sps for now..i mean just for now..since you cant go mh or at least some decent T5s....

you dun have to give up reefing...just keep the other stuff except SPS.......and even if you do get T5s..you need a few tubes of T5s to provide adequate intensity....

anyway...you can tell your dad that ferraris are good...why most car agents not selling them? :P hehe..just kidding...

is it true that SPS cannot be supported by T5s?

can....some german reefers are doing it..but

they use up to 4 pieces of T5s for small tanks...and even up to 8 pieces of T5s for 3 to 4 foot tanks....

it is not impossible..but not very cost efficient other than the fact that they run way cooler than mh..

if take a light meter and wanna compare mh bulb and t5 tubes...u will take a few t5 tubes to match with a single mh bulb....in that sense, you can already add up the cost of a few t5 tubes and will be more expensive than a mh bulb...and also the total wattage of the t5 tubes together will be higher than the mh bulb..meaning more electricity costs....

coz the t5 gives light to the whole length of the tube whereas the mh bulb is a concentrated point of light like the sun....so if you measure only a spot...like the spot where a sps or clam may be situated, the t5s cannot provide enough intensity to it.... :)

what is there to be sad? u should be thankful to yr dad who has so far sponsor your hobby. There is always a limit to what your dad can give to u. Try to make do with what u have. Even LPS can be very nice also. Peace :peace:

My dad never support my hobby

what makes you think that my dad sponsor me?? :lol::lol::lol:

i also a student.. i spend afew hundred only t5 also... :bow:

if u intend to keep sps why nt get it in the first place...

no need to hurry rite... save the $$$ first n get a MH...

i also... it took me 2 months to get a t5 cause i studying right now...

slowly setup ur staff... no need hurry...

my dad at first also dont support me keep marine.. cause the floor i stepping on will break down when come contact with salt...

in the end every night they will go to my tank and see what happening inside.. small creatures.. moving up and down...

they never give me a single cent for this hobbies..

i spend every cent i earn on this marine tank... :)

Yar thanks everyone for your advice. I thnk i better save up money now and go for T5 at a later date. btw I heard about a new light called T52 or something like that. anyone has any info pls PM me. :thanks:

IMO go for MH... You will regret if you use t5s to keep sps

My dad is going to KILL me if I hang something on the ceiling... :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

if you are on a tight budget, visit our sponsor, BIO-OCEAN. They are in the process of bringing in affordable MH lights. Though China/Taiwan made, but using all the German parts.......worth it. 150W only , but good enough, better than T5 lah :lol: