24G Nanocube help needed

kthc

Hi All,

Just got myself a 2nd hand 24G nanocube, pretty new set, about 3mths old. The previous owner kept crystal shrimps (freshwater) and got a set with both white lights. Been reading a few of the other nanocube owner's threads, cannot resist the itch.

Probably going FOWLR and basic corals like mushrooms and zoas.

1. Any idea where I can get suitable replacement bulbs and what I should be getting? (both 50/50 or just one blue??)

2. Now cycling and just got a Resun Sk-05. Mine's a little noisy cos of the air intake, any way to lessen the noise?

3. Should I change the stock pump, maxijet 1200 seems popular.

4. What will you recommend for the filtration media?

5. Anyone tried those 5 in 1 test strips? Thought of getting them but not sure how accurate they'll be.

Think that's all for now. Planning to move house in a year's time (once my 5yrs is up, not prison term but HDB term...) so don't want to spend too much at this time, so I welcome all donations too :paiseh:

Hi All,

Just got myself a 2nd hand 24G nanocube, pretty new set, about 3mths old. The previous owner kept crystal shrimps (freshwater) and got a set with both white lights. Been reading a few of the other nanocube owner's threads, cannot resist the itch.

1. Any idea where I can get suitable replacement bulbs and what I should be getting? (both 50/50 or just one blue??)

Will be getting the 50/50 PL lights, anyone knows where's selling and how much?

2. Now cycling and just got a Resun Sk-05. Mine's a little noisy cos of the air intake, any way to lessen the noise?

Now lagi best.... the pump is vibrating against the wall of the tank.... rumbling noise + the sucking noise....

Think I'll live with the stock pump for a while

Using crush live rocks together with one of the black sponges that came with the set, now looking for suitable chemical filtration media, any suggestions?

5. Anyone tried those 5 in 1 test strips? Thought of getting them but not sure how accurate they'll be.

Think that's all for now. Planning to move house in a year's time (once my 5yrs is up, not prison term but HDB term...) so don't want to spend too much at this time, so I welcome all donations too :paiseh:

I have a nanocube which have been running for about 7 months.

Below is come of my comments

Most bigger LFS which sell equipment should sell this. The cost depends on the brand. I think I saw some which are sold at $20-$30 before. I am still using the 50/50 which comes with the tank.

Do a search on this on this forum...that is quite a lot written on this. Yes...someone comment before that it is noisy...did you put it in the 2nd compartment. I bought one and decide not to use it because I decide to keep the bioload low (4 fish) and do 10% water change weekly instead.

This stock pump is not very reliable, the rod holding the impeller could rusty in 2 months and the pump stopped working. The LFS help me change to a new rod. Initially, I bought a eheim 1000l/h pump. However, its high wattage cause my tank to increase to 32 deg C because I do not have a chiller. Took me a long time before I found one that has a flowrate of 800l/h and wattage of 9W.

I use black sponge, a bit of fine white wool, phosphate remover and carbon. If you want to use the white wool, you havr to wash or clean it weekly to prevent it from becoming a nitrate factory

Not sure about it. Personally, I use the separate ones. for the first few months, i did measurement regularly. However, after sometime, the tank become very stable and the measurement results are always the same.

WhiteFish

Equipment: JBJ 24g Nano Cube with 9 x 3W White & 9 X 3W Royal Blue LED Lighting + Tunze Nanostream 6025+ 1 Fan

Fishs : 1x Cardinalfish, 2 x false Percula Clownfish

Inverts : 1x Sea Serpent starfish, 1x blue legged hermit crab, 1 x orange starfish

Corals : 2 x Lobophyllia, brown rics, red & green mushrooms, Yuma, Torch, Octo, favites, , clove, 1 x Aveopora,

Tank Thread : [url=http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=83257]

Thanks Whitefish, visited your thread in the members forum before I decided on the nanacube. So far so good, cycling and just did a water change today. Got all my liverocks from other reefers and now just letting it slowly mature before getting the fishes I want. Now looking around for cleaning crew.

I have a nanocube which have been running for about 7 months.

Below is come of my comments

Most bigger LFS which sell equipment should sell this. The cost depends on the brand. I think I saw some which are sold at $20-$30 before. I am still using the 50/50 which comes with the tank.

Do a search on this on this forum...that is quite a lot written on this. Yes...someone comment before that it is noisy...did you put it in the 2nd compartment. I bought one and decide not to use it because I decide to keep the bioload low (4 fish) and do 10% water change weekly instead.

This stock pump is not very reliable, the rod holding the impeller could rusty in 2 months and the pump stopped working. The LFS help me change to a new rod. Initially, I bought a eheim 1000l/h pump. However, its high wattage cause my tank to increase to 32 deg C because I do not have a chiller. Took me a long time before I found one that has a flowrate of 800l/h and wattage of 9W.

I use black sponge, a bit of fine white wool, phosphate remover and carbon. If you want to use the white wool, you havr to wash or clean it weekly to prevent it from becoming a nitrate factory

Not sure about it. Personally, I use the separate ones. for the first few months, i did measurement regularly. However, after sometime, the tank become very stable and the measurement results are always the same.

Hi All,

No way to avoid noises produced from the sk-05 leh I used that previously in my NC 24 gallon also noisy like sucking up drinks from an empty cup...Now i having RSM the turbo skimmer is also quite noisy...