Vlamingi_cont's 2nd tank

elemental chlorine is acidic not alkali. chlorine bleach, however, is alkali. anywho, using vinegar to clean off the chlorine is a good idea, but please be careful.

and note to bro vlamingi, if u are using chlorine bleach, please wear gloves. according to macrovan's reaction, chlorine bleach + vinegar will help neutralise it yes. but adding an acid to chlorine bleach may and WILL release elemental chlorine gas. which is very poisonous belonging to group 7 elements. should be alright unless u are doing it in very large portions. if u see greenish yellow gas being evolved, run the other direction

That means if i just use the vinegar on a cloth to clean no problem izzit?? :whistle

• Replies 1.3k

elemental chlorine is acidic not alkali. chlorine bleach, however, is alkali. anywho, using vinegar to clean off the chlorine is a good idea, but please be careful.

and note to bro vlamingi, if u are using chlorine bleach, please wear gloves. according to macrovan's reaction, chlorine bleach + vinegar will help neutralise it yes. but adding an acid to chlorine bleach may and WILL release elemental chlorine gas. which is very poisonous belonging to group 7 elements. should be alright unless u are doing it in very large portions. if u see greenish yellow gas being evolved, run the other direction

hahaha bro lemon lemon like teaching chemistry man hehehe

so fun :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

hahaha bro lemon lemon like teaching chemistry man hehehe

so fun :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Wah holidays haven end talking about lessons liao... u vri hardworking hor... :lol:

ai ya hehe must get mentally prepared le starting soon

heheheh :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

ai ya hehe must get mentally prepared le starting soon

heheheh :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

Hope its extended... :eyebrow:

haha omg. chemistry lesson. chlorine elemental is acidic? I don't know about that alr haha, just know that it is Grp 7 element and also never for chlorine to exist in that form in our atmosphere. If you happen to come across JC level chemistry which I totally suck in it because of the high level of memory work required, you will understand why in atmosphere, chlorine is found as CL2(g) and not HCL(aq). The most common chloride found is Sodium Chloride, also known as common salt! :D

Anyway, I forgot to add something in my previous post. I forgot to say the amount of chlorine to use is minimal. Maybe one capful or 2 capful is enough and mix with a big volume of water. And to add on, these are the steps to take for using chlorine:

1) Pour some chlorine into a pail (amount as prescribed above or what you prefer :)

2) Dilute them with a lot of tapwater

3) Put in your equipment

4) Watch the algae, scum and rubbish rot off your glass and acrylics within a few hours

5) Wash and rinse off the chlorinated water and your equipments

6) Pour alot of vinegar into the same pail

7) Put your equipments back into the same pail and dilute with water

8) Let everything stand overnight

9) Dry and be ready to use them again (:

Cheers (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

haha omg. chemistry lesson. chlorine elemental is acidic? I don't know about that alr haha, just know that it is Grp 7 element and also never for chlorine to exist in that form in our atmosphere. If you happen to come across JC level chemistry which I totally suck in it because of the high level of memory work required, you will understand why in atmosphere, chlorine is found as CL2(g) and not HCL(aq). The most common chloride found is Sodium Chloride, also known as common salt! :D

Anyway, I forgot to add something in my previous post. I forgot to say the amount of chlorine to use is minimal. Maybe one capful or 2 capful is enough and mix with a big volume of water. And to add on, these are the steps to take for using chlorine:

1) Pour some chlorine into a pail (amount as prescribed above or what you prefer :)

3) Put in your equipment

4) Watch the algae, scum and rubbish rot off your glass and acrylics within a few hours

Cheers (:

yea. chlorine group 7 halogens correct. most non metals are acidic. chlorine being one of them. dissolve it in water and it is acidic.

hehe today's news came out le....schs to reopen as scheduled...

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

I kinda think its not confirm yet woa

hahha hmm did you went and vote for the cna poll

hahaha :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

www.marineaquarist.sg

yea. chlorine group 7 halogens correct. most non metals are acidic. chlorine being one of them. dissolve it in water and it is acidic.

haha, what you are referring to are actually the oxides and hydroxides of non metals. Yeah, they are acidic because of the high oxidising nature of non metals. But to get HCL, you cannot get it from dissolving chlorine gas with water. Imagine that happening in your bleaching agent (: Get the picture? So to get HCL, chemists do electrolysis on sodium chloride solution (dissolved in water) then volia, you get chlorine gas still and HCL. So yeap, all these can be found in JC chemistry which is actually a whole new world from secondary school. You will also learn why chlorine will rather exist as a gas and not dissolve easily in water and why chloride ions are freely abundant in the water and why they bond readily with sodium and not hydrogen in ocean water and many more stuff (: all which are something to do with their bonds, the the shape of the electrons' cloud, electron affinities, the s d p electron distribution aka Markovnikoff's principle etc (: which again is all in JC Chemistry.

Anyway why are we talking about chlorine?! LOL back to bro's vlamingi's tank! :D

Paiseh bro!.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

3) Put in your equipment

Cheers (:

Ok... Once the bro confirmed... Lets get our hands dirty... :evil: :evil::evil:

hehe today's news came out le....schs to reopen as scheduled...

Oh man... :whistle :whistle :whistle

what were u expecting man??

or follow bro lemons method hehehe

go directly to the US hahhaa jkjk :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

www.marineaquarist.sg

what were u expecting man??

or follow bro lemons method hehehe

go directly to the US hahhaa jkjk :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

Haha...

Teacher: Why must go US???

I : Must buy some us zoas for my tank...

Teacher: Follow me to the detention area!...

Haha...

Teacher: Why must go US???

I : Must buy some us zoas for my tank...

Teacher: Follow me to the detention area!...

no la

Teacher: hmm so you went to the US huh?

you:yep why??

Teacher:so you bought wonderful zoas for urself huh?

you:totally coorrect

Teacher:then hmm WHERE ARE MY SPS!!!

hehehe :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

www.marineaquarist.sg

no la

Teacher: hmm so you went to the US huh?

you:yep why??

Teacher:so you bought wonderful zoas for urself huh?

you:totally coorrect

Teacher:then hmm WHERE ARE MY SPS!!!

hehehe :eyebrow: :eyebrow:

LOL... PS no stock only hav brown ones u wan?? LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:

Okok back to the tank...

Latest FTS... ;)

post-14611-1245818139.jpg

Grapes look a like bubble... Yummy!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

post-14611-1245818215.jpg

My pride & joy... :D

post-14611-1245818317.jpg

Lunar Eclipse... :rolleyes:

post-14611-1245818484.jpg

Do & Dar... Do its rude to ignore me... :pinch::lol:

post-14611-1245818633.jpg

woooo... nice prata!

Left overstock leh... Vri cheap nia... :eyebrow: