SRC Member angelfishlover Posted November 26, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted November 26, 2008 U need to let your system stabilise/ mature. Reduce your feeding, feed lesser amt so no food will be stuck in the LR. Get some cleaning crew to help get rid of the algae initially. Run PO4 remover such as Sorb4 to absorb PO4 , and run carbon to "clean" the water. Since u have no corals, reduce your lighting period to slow down the growth of existing algae. Suggested cleaning crew: Seahare, sea urchins (good at scraping off stubborn algae on ur LR), astrea snails. Remember that the cleaning crew only helps to clear off the algae, you need to get to the root of this algae bloom. Improve your water quality. I like the sea hare they don't just keep on eating and eating.They will never stop eating. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 27, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 27, 2008 U need to let your system stabilise/ mature. Reduce your feeding, feed lesser amt so no food will be stuck in the LR. Get some cleaning crew to help get rid of the algae initially. Run PO4 remover such as Sorb4 to absorb PO4 , and run carbon to "clean" the water. Since u have no corals, reduce your lighting period to slow down the growth of existing algae. Suggested cleaning crew: Seahare, sea urchins (good at scraping off stubborn algae on ur LR), astrea snails. Remember that the cleaning crew only helps to clear off the algae, you need to get to the root of this algae bloom. Improve your water quality. Added Sorb4 yesterday... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 27, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 27, 2008 Well a lil' away from my tank now pls visit this thread... Hydor magnum Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 27, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 27, 2008 Here the latest presentable FTS... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 27, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 27, 2008 And no more Algae... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yongshun Posted November 27, 2008 Share Posted November 27, 2008 Here the latest presentable FTS... gd job! so clean nw! unlike mine...lol den its time to check ur water parameters Quote Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2Skimmer: Deltec AP701 Return pump: RD 6Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150 Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmableLinked tankMain tank: 2 x 1 x 2Return: Eheim 1260Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controllerWavemaker: Tunze 6025My decommed 3 ft setup Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 27, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 27, 2008 gd job! so clean nw! unlike mine...lol den its time to check ur water parameters Yepz! Done that oredi... Ammonia : 0.25 ppm (as usual) Nitrate : 10 ppm Nitrite : 0.2ppm Thats the parameter... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 28, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 28, 2008 Looks Promising... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted November 28, 2008 SRC Supporter Share Posted November 28, 2008 bro,u have not provide us the link for the hydor. Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 28, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 28, 2008 bro,u have not provide us the link for the hydor. Sorry meaning?? Gort what u meant... The link is posted at the other thread...http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...mp;#entry768897 Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 28, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 28, 2008 Btw an easier way to find the youtube video simply type Hydor Boss and click on the 1st link in google.com Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 30, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 30, 2008 Can i add an Algae Blenny now?? To control some hair algae?? Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andyboss Posted November 30, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted November 30, 2008 actually hermit can do the job unless u are toking abt hair algae on the glass / areas unreachable by hermits.. they clear the algae real fast.... i use 1 blue leg when i was cycling my tank back then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted November 30, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 30, 2008 actually hermit can do the job unless u are toking abt hair algae on the glass / areas unreachable by hermits.. they clear the algae real fast.... i use 1 blue leg when i was cycling my tank back then But i dun dare keep hermit... Heard that they will scratch my tank's glass... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yongshun Posted November 30, 2008 Share Posted November 30, 2008 Can i add an Algae Blenny now?? To control some hair algae?? i juz bought 1 ytd! haha a cute little fella! Quote Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2Skimmer: Deltec AP701 Return pump: RD 6Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150 Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmableLinked tankMain tank: 2 x 1 x 2Return: Eheim 1260Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controllerWavemaker: Tunze 6025My decommed 3 ft setup Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angelfishlover Posted November 30, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted November 30, 2008 If you want scratchless then use sea hares.They are slow yet effective.They blend in with your LR too.They eat almost any algae. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted December 1, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 1, 2008 If you want scratchless then use sea hares.They are slow yet effective.They blend in with your LR too.They eat almost any algae. Oic just drop by AM yesterday night got 1 relatively big ard 8cm long... But now can't find leh or shld i say went to MIA ... Shld wait for another day before i start to worry... And took a lil risk got a small frag of red mushie just 1 polyp and it bloomed ... But tested water too salty But when sea hare (touch wood) dies will it gives of any poisonous stuffs?? Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angelfishlover Posted December 1, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted December 1, 2008 Oic just drop by AM yesterday night got 1 relatively big ard 8cm long... But now can't find leh or shld i say went to MIA ... Shld wait for another day before i start to worry... And took a lil risk got a small frag of red mushie just 1 polyp and it bloomed ... But tested water too salty But when sea hare (touch wood) dies will it gives of any poisonous stuffs?? I don't think so.The sea hare also loves to crawl around your wavemaker.My wavemaker is cleansed every now and then.I don't think they are like sea cucumbers.I got my sea hare from Am at around 6cm now like grown a lot bigger.Got a pistol shrimp but never saw the pistol shrimp but i know it shares the same burrow as my goby.Hope this one don't die again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted December 1, 2008 SRC Supporter Share Posted December 1, 2008 hey guys, seahare die also will give out toxic. Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MarcoVan Posted December 1, 2008 Share Posted December 1, 2008 Get abalone! Really effective! I have one inside my 10g. And trust me, it mows non stop! Even when my tank looks pretty algaeless otherwise, I will prefer to have snails such as cerith and astrea to invertebrates P.S Abalone was a solution to prevent any possible chance of hair algae outbreak as there weren't any cerith snails in the market when my tank began (: Quote Happy Reefing, Marc J. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angelfishlover Posted December 1, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted December 1, 2008 hey guys, seahare die also will give out toxic. Hmm thats why need to take care of them carefully huh..I didn't know that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member uLtRaMaN Posted December 1, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted December 1, 2008 where r all ur previous fishes which u mentioned u kept in a holding tub or something like that? i remembered one of it is a splendid wrasse Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted December 2, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 2, 2008 where r all ur previous fishes which u mentioned u kept in a holding tub or something like that? i remembered one of it is a splendid wrasse Mr Leopard?? Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted December 2, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 2, 2008 Get abalone!Really effective! I have one inside my 10g. And trust me, it mows non stop! Even when my tank looks pretty algaeless otherwise, I will prefer to have snails such as cerith and astrea to invertebrates P.S Abalone was a solution to prevent any possible chance of hair algae outbreak as there weren't any cerith snails in the market when my tank began (: Wah then cost a lot of money lor?? Haha but where have sell and will it release toxic when dead?? Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted December 2, 2008 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 2, 2008 Hmm thats why need to take care of them carefully huh..I didn't know that. Must be careful as i once experienced an anemone dead in my another 2 ft tank b4 i join this club... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...