Goby-shrimp combi recommendation

Hi all, suggested by a bro in here that I may have such a symbiotic relationship between a goby & a shrimp for my nano tank set up (24cm cube!!). However, being new to Marine, really have no idea how to go about doing so... Would appreciate if experts (or anyone with similar experiences) to shed some light on me...

(1) What type of goby & shrimp could I buy to establish such a symbiotic relationship in my NANO tank? [Prefer colourful & active ones if possible...]

(2) Only possible to have 1 pair or more of such relationships? [if more possible, how many before crashing bioload?]

(3) Where will be a good place to buy these Livestocks from? [Good quality & reasonable price with good service by the owner - help me to identify & catch good ones...) [Am contemplating going down to the farms in Pasir Ris Farmways one of these weekends to check it out...]

(4) Roughly how much will it cost to buy such a goby & a shrimp?

(5) Roughly how long can these livestocks survive after being packed by the shops/ farms? [Do not drive, hence most probably will be taking cab/ public transport home...]

(6) Any other live stocks that I may include in my NANO tank? [Actually I love Clownfish... possible?!?]

Doing my homework on this now as I'm currently cycling my tank after putting in the Livesand & Liverocks... Intend to do a FOWLR set-up in my NANO... All advises/ suggestions are welcome!!!

Hi Bro,

Yasha goby and yasha shrimp....price depends ....from 30 plus to 80 plus....lol...there are other goby and shrimp....just note shrimp like cleaner, fire, banded, camel, dancing, etc are not likely to pair up with goby...u can have more pairs but depends on your fate or how you can try to put them together without fighting....they need hiding area....usually underneath rocks....you will hardly see the shrimp...lol...maybe at the opening...goby depends on his guts...wahaha....

It can last quite hrs if properly packed and not exposed to sun. Nevertheless, the longer u take to bring back home...the stress level might increase....

U can keep small cleaner shrimp...hehe....they will move ard....shift left and right.....cleaning your fishes.....blue leg hermit or scalet hermit.....

places to buy...maybe henry......at marine life...clementi area...walkable distance...but sunny03 wont want to walk...lol...i will walk to jireh, ML and then to C328 or harlequin. Hehe.....few hours spent....lol....

goby and clown should be okay. If you keeping fish only, u can try but yr fishes must be seasoned to the water .....once they are seasoned...they are quite hardy and can withstand certain level of "dirty" water. However, when u introduce new fishes...dirty water will increase the fatality rate.....and maybe spread or affect others...hence....if your tank is small and with normal skimmer, just becareful to stock the type and number..

Hi all, suggested by a bro in here that I may have such a symbiotic relationship between a goby & a shrimp for my nano tank set up (24cm cube!!). However, being new to Marine, really have no idea how to go about doing so... Would appreciate if experts (or anyone with similar experiences) to shed some light on me...

(1) What type of goby & shrimp could I buy to establish such a symbiotic relationship in my NANO tank? [Prefer colourful & active ones if possible...]

(2) Only possible to have 1 pair or more of such relationships? [if more possible, how many before crashing bioload?]

(3) Where will be a good place to buy these Livestocks from? [Good quality & reasonable price with good service by the owner - help me to identify & catch good ones...) [Am contemplating going down to the farms in Pasir Ris Farmways one of these weekends to check it out...]

(4) Roughly how much will it cost to buy such a goby & a shrimp?

(5) Roughly how long can these livestocks survive after being packed by the shops/ farms? [Do not drive, hence most probably will be taking cab/ public transport home...]

(6) Any other live stocks that I may include in my NANO tank? [Actually I love Clownfish... possible?!?]

Doing my homework on this now as I'm currently cycling my tank after putting in the Livesand & Liverocks... Intend to do a FOWLR set-up in my NANO... All advises/ suggestions are welcome!!!

Hi Bro,

Yasha goby and yasha shrimp....price depends ....from 30 plus to 80 plus....lol...there are other goby and shrimp....just note shrimp like cleaner, fire, banded, camel, dancing, etc are not likely to pair up with goby...u can have more pairs but depends on your fate or how you can try to put them together without fighting....they need hiding area....usually underneath rocks....you will hardly see the shrimp...lol...maybe at the opening...goby depends on his guts...wahaha....

It can last quite hrs if properly packed and not exposed to sun. Nevertheless, the longer u take to bring back home...the stress level might increase....

U can keep small cleaner shrimp...hehe....they will move ard....shift left and right.....cleaning your fishes.....blue leg hermit or scalet hermit.....

places to buy...maybe henry......at marine life...clementi area...walkable distance...but sunny03 wont want to walk...lol...i will walk to jireh, ML and then to C328 or harlequin. Hehe.....few hours spent....lol....

goby and clown should be okay. If you keeping fish only, u can try but yr fishes must be seasoned to the water .....once they are seasoned...they are quite hardy and can withstand certain level of "dirty" water. However, when u introduce new fishes...dirty water will increase the fatality rate.....and maybe spread or affect others...hence....if your tank is small and with normal skimmer, just becareful to stock the type and number..

Hi bro solo77,

thanks for the reply (the one & only reply... so touched!!! :paiseh: ). Wow!! The Yasha goby & shrimp must be very nice to come with such 'nice' price tag also..) Don't think will be investing in such high-class livestocks as my first trial in Marine... Also dun think can have more pairs in my tank to see who'll pair with who due to the space constraints of my Nano tank... [Can't leave to FATE in my case...]

Went down to Aquamarin @ Jln Kayu today to get my hydrometer & also to look at the amazing marine livestocks to further excite my entry into this hobby... Asked one of the gentlemen there (by the name of Ah Du) for suggestions of livestocks based on my tank's size... He told me that maybe I can house 1 clownfish (those 3 for $10 kind), 1 damsel (either the black & white striped type or those with some white spots on its body type - also 3 for $10 kind), 1 camel shrimp (coincidentally also 3 for $10, actually I prefer those shrimp (white with a line of red running down its body & have long feelers type) but it cost $8 each...) & also a small starfish which my 22 months gal gazed at excitedly... In total, he told me I can have max of 5 fishes in my tank... (Any other suggestions for other suitable livestocks or maybe other places with even more attractive prices? Say 10 pieces of the above for $10?!? Yeah, I know I'm dreaming... LOL!!!)

He told me that my tank should be cycled & ready to intro livestocks in a weeks time (from today only, even though I'd set up my tank on Mon this week as I realised that my SG of my water is too low... until today after I'd bought my hydrometer...). So most probably will be dropping by Aquamarin next week to get my livestocks by then.. So hopefully they can outlast the SBS bus (service no. 86 & 83) journey of about an hour back to my house...

Solo77, based on the few replies that I'd read, it seems like to me that you are a very 'walkable' person - unlike Sunny03 as you'd mentioned... Ha!! Ha!! For me, I also don't mind some walking but it must be meaningful & fruitful... IMO, this is part of the knowledge accquisition phase in anything one does...

Maybe will ask you more on the issue of how to acclimatise the livestock & introduce to the tank upon reaching home with them & also what you meant by 'seasoning' them to the tank's water??? Till then, cheers & hope to 'see' from you soon... :thanks:

Okay, there are a lot of nano fishes that you can consider...

Mostly are eviota and trimma goby... Yasha and yellow nose goby is a good choice... Blue-stripe pipefish is also worth a try when your tank is more mature and stable... You can also try keeping neon goby, both yellow and blue... Red-head goby is a very good choice, a small fish with a lot pf personality... For goby one on the rare side, can try gressingeri goby... Worm goby is also a good choice but rarely imported, haven seen one for some time liao... Hectori and rainfordi goby is a very good choice also..

For shrimps, you can try looking for red spotted shrimp, yellow arrow shrimp, emperor shrimp, anemone shrimp and sexy shrimps... They stay small and is ideal for nano tank...

Hi Bro Terryz, how is your pox getting...hope u recover well(hope i got the right info). Nano that keep small goby is good but u must highlight to Bro Beetle the price...hehehe....neon goby is nice....the blue neon and golden/yellow. Will plan a project for that...hehehe.

Hi Bro Beetle, Bro Terryz suggestion is good. Actually i wanted to keep goby series in my nano quarantine tank. Will try to do it. hehehe, maybe can chiong farm with you. $10 for 10 fishes...can....chromis...kekekeke......Bro Terryz suggestion is good...do you have budget...neon goby will cost 20 to 30...hehe ....maybe u can consider cheaper one...Ah beng's shop at times got discount, say 3 for $10 but dont know when....some gobies not easy to keep....maybe u do some reading and we can meet up for some coffee session and suggest to you...hehehe....the shrimp u saw is cleaner or doctor shrimp....it is good to acquire one. Nevertheless, u must tell us your budget and from there, we can advice.

Mostly are eviota and trimma goby... Yasha and yellow nose goby is a good choice... Blue-stripe pipefish is also worth a try when your tank is more mature and stable... You can also try keeping neon goby, both yellow and blue... Red-head goby is a very good choice, a small fish with a lot pf personality... For goby one on the rare side, can try gressingeri goby... Worm goby is also a good choice but rarely imported, haven seen one for some time liao... Hectori and rainfordi goby is a very good choice also..

For shrimps, you can try looking for red spotted shrimp, yellow arrow shrimp, emperor shrimp, anemone shrimp and sexy shrimps... They stay small and is ideal for nano tank...

Hi Bro Terryz, how is your pox getting...hope u recover well(hope i got the right info). Nano that keep small goby is good but u must highlight to Bro Beetle the price...hehehe....neon goby is nice....the blue neon and golden/yellow. Will plan a project for that...hehehe.

Hi Bro Beetle, Bro Terryz suggestion is good. Actually i wanted to keep goby series in my nano quarantine tank. Will try to do it. hehehe, maybe can chiong farm with you. $10 for 10 fishes...can....chromis...kekekeke......Bro Terryz suggestion is good...do you have budget...neon goby will cost 20 to 30...hehe ....maybe u can consider cheaper one...Ah beng's shop at times got discount, say 3 for $10 but dont know when....some gobies not easy to keep....maybe u do some reading and we can meet up for some coffee session and suggest to you...hehehe....the shrimp u saw is cleaner or doctor shrimp....it is good to acquire one. Nevertheless, u must tell us your budget and from there, we can advice.

Bro Terryz, hope that you'll recover fast from your Pox also (if the info is rite... LOL!) Your recommendation of the livestocks all looks very nice (check for the images via Yahoo! Images...) but was just wondering if their price tags are also as 'NICE' as them also... :whistle

Bro Solo77, for me, I'm also one of those 'super tight budget' hunters... Reason being I'd & currently thrown in a huge amount of $$ into my planted/ freshwater tank hobby... & now - worse, being posioned by Marine setup!!! Don't want to incur the wrath of my Home Affairs Minister (aka wife) before she starts 'interrogating' me under the ISA (Internal Security Acts)... :pinch:

Meet up for kopi will be great as that means more learning along the way...

Me 2, expecting my child this coming december...must plan for him/her also....trying hard to stop....

bro...kopi equal learning equal to more poison....wahahaha...

Bro Terryz, hope that you'll recover fast from your Pox also (if the info is rite... LOL!) Your recommendation of the livestocks all looks very nice (check for the images via Yahoo! Images...) but was just wondering if their price tags are also as 'NICE' as them also... :whistle

Bro Solo77, for me, I'm also one of those 'super tight budget' hunters... Reason being I'd & currently thrown in a huge amount of $$ into my planted/ freshwater tank hobby... & now - worse, being posioned by Marine setup!!! Don't want to incur the wrath of my Home Affairs Minister (aka wife) before she starts 'interrogating' me under the ISA (Internal Security Acts)... :pinch:

Hi bro solo77,

thanks for the reply (the one & only reply... so touched!!! :paiseh: ). Wow!! The Yasha goby & shrimp must be very nice to come with such 'nice' price tag also..) Don't think will be investing in such high-class livestocks as my first trial in Marine... Also dun think can have more pairs in my tank to see who'll pair with who due to the space constraints of my Nano tank... [Can't leave to FATE in my case...]

Went down to Aquamarin @ Jln Kayu today to get my hydrometer & also to look at the amazing marine livestocks to further excite my entry into this hobby... Asked one of the gentlemen there (by the name of Ah Du) for suggestions of livestocks based on my tank's size... He told me that maybe I can house 1 clownfish (those 3 for $10 kind), 1 damsel (either the black & white striped type or those with some white spots on its body type - also 3 for $10 kind), 1 camel shrimp (coincidentally also 3 for $10, actually I prefer those shrimp (white with a line of red running down its body & have long feelers type) but it cost $8 each...) & also a small starfish which my 22 months gal gazed at excitedly... In total, he told me I can have max of 5 fishes in my tank... (Any other suggestions for other suitable livestocks or maybe other places with even more attractive prices? Say 10 pieces of the above for $10?!? Yeah, I know I'm dreaming... LOL!!!)

He told me that my tank should be cycled & ready to intro livestocks in a weeks time (from today only, even though I'd set up my tank on Mon this week as I realised that my SG of my water is too low... until today after I'd bought my hydrometer...). So most probably will be dropping by Aquamarin next week to get my livestocks by then.. So hopefully they can outlast the SBS bus (service no. 86 & 83) journey of about an hour back to my house...

Solo77, based on the few replies that I'd read, it seems like to me that you are a very 'walkable' person - unlike Sunny03 as you'd mentioned... Ha!! Ha!! For me, I also don't mind some walking but it must be meaningful & fruitful... IMO, this is part of the knowledge accquisition phase in anything one does...

Maybe will ask you more on the issue of how to acclimatise the livestock & introduce to the tank upon reaching home with them & also what you meant by 'seasoning' them to the tank's water??? Till then, cheers & hope to 'see' from you soon... :thanks:

i am not as crazy as him.. now farm is like his 2nd home...... but it is good to have these kind of people around to keep this industry and forum alive.

Maybe we can nominate him as the best new comer award.

From where did you all get the info that I am having pox... Haha... Not many marine frens know about it.. Haha...

Bro beetle, i try to list out the price for the fishes I recommend but not all are accurate cos haven been buying fishes for sometime liao...

Eviota and Trimma goby @ $6 ~ $12

Yasha goby @ $18 ~ $25

Yellow nose goby @ $8 ~ $12

Blue-stripe pipefish @ $6 ~ $8

Blue neon goby @ $35

Yellow neon goby @ $25

Red-head goby @ $35 ~ $40

Gressingeri goby @ $60 ~ $120

Worm goby @ $25

Hectori goby @ $8 ~ $12

Rainfordi goby @ $8 ~ $12

Red spotted shrimp @ $8 ~ $16

Yellow arrow shrimp @ $8 ~ $16

Emperor shrimp @ $8 ~ $12

Anemone shrimp @ $6 ~ $8

Sexy shrimp @ 3 for $10

Eviota and Trimma goby @ $6 ~ $12

Yasha goby @ $18 ~ $25

Yellow nose goby @ $8 ~ $12

Blue-stripe pipefish @ $6 ~ $8

Blue neon goby @ $35

Yellow neon goby @ $25

Red-head goby @ $35 ~ $40

Gressingeri goby @ $60 ~ $120

Worm goby @ $25

Hectori goby @ $8 ~ $12

Rainfordi goby @ $8 ~ $12

Red spotted shrimp @ $8 ~ $16

Yellow arrow shrimp @ $8 ~ $16

Emperor shrimp @ $8 ~ $12

Anemone shrimp @ $6 ~ $8

Sexy shrimp @ 3 for $10

Hi Terryz, thanks for the price guides... Hmm... looks like most of your livestocks carry a rather high price tag... [Or maybe I'm still a greenhorn in this hobby, so does not intend to spend too much on expensive livestocks first...] But thanks a lot anywayz for the advises!!! :rolleyes: