Best water for Nano Tank

Hello all,

I have a question about the best sources of water for a marine tank.

• What type of water is best? Artificial or natural sea water?
  • If I use artificial, which is more cost effective and chemically safest - R.O. water or using a water purifier with tap water? Does anyone know of good suppliers of R.O./purifiers?
  • If I use natural, who supplies the safest and (hopefully) most economical water?

This is the scenario so far...

I just started a new marine tank. It's 2ft with the jireh marine starter kit and about 5kg of live rocks (some pieces from my smaller tank which is 4 months old and started the reef madness...). My filter has Reefmax All-zorb and biorings. It is supplemented with bacteria tablet things, trace elements, magnesium, strotium, iodine, calcium and carbonate. My tank's average temperature with a fan is 29-28 degrees. My ammonia is at 0ppm, nitrites at 0ppm, nitrates at 0-5ppm pH at 8.0.

In my tank I have:

Fish and inverts:

-2 false percula

-2 green wrasse

-1 yellow wrase

-1 blue tang

-2 blue-legged hermits

-1 turbo snail

-1 small anemone

-1 big anemone (which is hiding...)

-1 blue star

-1 red star

-1 corcea clam

Corals:

-1 moon coral

-7 polyps of mushrooms

However, despite the bloody expensive media, bloody expensive supplements and bloody expensive salt (why is everything marine so bloody expensive ;-;?), I noticed that I still have diatoms on my sand bed... also, my mother's beloved blue tang just hit the dirt yesterday after 48 hours in my tank and the other tang has developed what I think is marine ich - white spots on body. I really don't want to lose any more livestock because they are also bloody expensive >_< I must have been mad to start this wonderful hobby lol.

I have a strong suspicion that it's my water. Before I head off to buy more (bloody) expensive equiptment, I think I need to seek advice from the veterans here.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Do a simple 20% water change - use distilled water - buy from NTUC/Sheng Siong - those 1litre-2litre type and then mix salt. and then replace in the tank.

This should be the cheapest and easiest way.

Tangs will normally have ich - there is not much you can do - I don't really like to put in medication. The other way is to dip food into garlic juice and then feed the fishes - garlic will counteract the ich.

Good luck.

Well, update on tank...

Both green wrasses died and I haven't seen the yellow one for days. I'm frustrated and perplexed. My Ammonia, nitrites still read 0 while my nitrates read 5ppm. My pH is still 8.0 AND YET!!! Carnage. Sushi on a grand scale -__-.

Strangely, my inverts seem to be doing okay...

I'll just do the cheap water from NTUC thing... After all, changing 6 litres a week... It should be okay right? For a 62l/16gallon tank?

Hi Bro,

Based on your write-up, i assume your tank has been properly cycled. For inverts, they are rather hardy except for certain shrimps and hermit crabs where you need to acclimatise them slowly before releasing it in the tank. For fishes, health and acclimatisation are important. If you have seen the past posting, there are many cases where fishes eating well and died in weeks time. Once fishes acclimatised to the tank and start eating, it will help to boost their immunity by adding garlic guard in your feeding. For me, the UV and ozone do help in improving the water and fight white spot....but once your tank is stable....it might not be required. Nevertheless, i still using them and it really help in speeding up to stablise the tank. It might not be water but the stress level of the fishes. For your yellow wrasse, it is likely hidden underneath the sandbed which mean it might be stress and she still refuse to come out, it might starve to die....your rock scape got plenty of hidding place? Hope my limited knowledge help but pls use this as reference cos me not experience enough to give professional advice. Thanks.

Well, update on tank...

Both green wrasses died and I haven't seen the yellow one for days. I'm frustrated and perplexed. My Ammonia, nitrites still read 0 while my nitrates read 5ppm. My pH is still 8.0 AND YET!!! Carnage. Sushi on a grand scale -__-.

Strangely, my inverts seem to be doing okay...

I'll just do the cheap water from NTUC thing... After all, changing 6 litres a week... It should be okay right? For a 62l/16gallon tank?

Hi Bro,

Based on your write-up, i assume your tank has been properly cycled. For inverts, they are rather hardy except for certain shrimps and hermit crabs where you need to acclimatise them slowly before releasing it in the tank. For fishes, health and acclimatisation are important. If you have seen the past posting, there are many cases where fishes eating well and died in weeks time. Once fishes acclimatised to the tank and start eating, it will help to boost their immunity by adding garlic guard in your feeding. For me, the UV and ozone do help in improving the water and fight white spot....but once your tank is stable....it might not be required. Nevertheless, i still using them and it really help in speeding up to stablise the tank. It might not be water but the stress level of the fishes. For your yellow wrasse, it is likely hidden underneath the sandbed which mean it might be stress and she still refuse to come out, it might starve to die....your rock scape got plenty of hidding place? Hope my limited knowledge help but pls use this as reference cos me not experience enough to give professional advice. Thanks.

bro u run ur UV 24hrs? What brand r u using?

coral life

bro u run ur UV 24hrs? What brand r u using?

Bro, so far i run it continuously. Some ppl will run occasionally but think kena comment like does the bacteria go on break? Lol.....meaning bacteria will keep multiply....so got to on it continuously....nevertheless, once your water and tank are stable and self cycling.....think dont have to run it any more....i am thinking to stop cos my sump is small....

sighz...thinking of upgrading when my flat comes but too many factor to consider....sometime really wonder why am i spending and giving headache to myself but when i see the fishes and corals growing...i am happy....sighz...one of my cleaner shrimp got murdered by my newly purchased fairy wrasse.....heartpain...from 1 inche size and it grown to around 3 inche...sob sob sob....hopefully my other shrimps learn from here...another murder,....i am going to put the wrasse to prison....

do u run d UV continuously or occasionally?

Bro, so far i run it continuously. Some ppl will run occasionally but think kena comment like does the bacteria go on break? Lol.....meaning bacteria will keep multiply....so got to on it continuously....nevertheless, once your water and tank are stable and self cycling.....think dont have to run it any more....i am thinking to stop cos my sump is small....

sighz...thinking of upgrading when my flat comes but too many factor to consider....sometime really wonder why am i spending and giving headache to myself but when i see the fishes and corals growing...i am happy....sighz...one of my cleaner shrimp got murdered by my newly purchased fairy wrasse.....heartpain...from 1 inche size and it grown to around 3 inche...sob sob sob....hopefully my other shrimps learn from here...another murder,....i am going to put the wrasse to prison....

haha bro it's lidat one la. we're all hooked liao.hmmm looks like i will get myself a UV too. is 18w sufficient for a 4x2x2?

ya.....we must form syndicate for sharing and buying.....this might reduce demand and bring down price but hopefully dont pull down supply also.....if not kena backfire effect. i am using 2X2X2 and using 18 W(i think - the mid-range one). Maybe for faster effect, you want to try the 36W. ....hehehe....remember to tell me the effect becos i might be upgrading to 422. Just to check, for your 422, did you custom-made it or buy from decomm or up/dwn grader? Quite a number of sellers selling 422....seems good deal....

also considering 322.....but got advice to go 422.....headache again...sob sob....

haha bro it's lidat one la. we're all hooked liao.hmmm looks like i will get myself a UV too. is 18w sufficient for a 4x2x2?

ya.....we must form syndicate for sharing and buying.....this might reduce demand and bring down price but hopefully dont pull down supply also.....if not kena backfire effect. i am using 2X2X2 and using 18 W(i think - the mid-range one). Maybe for faster effect, you want to try the 36W. ....hehehe....remember to tell me the effect becos i might be upgrading to 422. Just to check, for your 422, did you custom-made it or buy from decomm or up/dwn grader? Quite a number of sellers selling 422....seems good deal....

also considering 322.....but got advice to go 422.....headache again...sob sob....

wow 36w seemed a little overkill leh, and not to mention the power consumption. 18w should be gd enough liao la.d 4x2x2 i got from another bro in AF. Price wise definitely much cheaper but the setback is must accept what it is lor.aiyoh go for at least 4x2x2 la, if not later regret again...hehe

When u buy, i think there is a table for reference. You should have make your decision fast as i think someone, Kelstorm if not wrong, was selling but think reserved leh.

haha....want me to join your 422 club huh.....lol

wow 36w seemed a little overkill leh, and not to mention the power consumption. 18w should be gd enough liao la.d 4x2x2 i got from another bro in AF. Price wise definitely much cheaper but the setback is must accept what it is lor.aiyoh go for at least 4x2x2 la, if not later regret again...hehe

When u buy, i think there is a table for reference. You should have make your decision fast as i think someone, Kelstorm if not wrong, was selling but think reserved leh.

haha....want me to join your 422 club huh.....lol

for uv i would prefer to get a new one as u nvr know how's d condition of the tube. better to pay a bit more just in case. ya la come join me la, 4x2x2 swee la :lol:

that is why i will buy from established seller. Before i buy anything, will try to see his beckground....wahahaha.....realised a lot of stories when chatting with these sellers....lol.....

4 2 2 ....all along was thinking 3 2 2 ....maybe i will buy 4d and whichever strike, i will go for the tank....lol.....

for uv i would prefer to get a new one as u nvr know how's d condition of the tube. better to pay a bit more just in case. ya la come join me la, 4x2x2 swee la :lol: