Hi I am new here

• Replies 63

For those staying in Woodlands, there was a shop in Blk 818, not sure if its still there, haven't been there for abt 2yrs.... good if you need some basic stuff like frozen food and salt. Yishun also has one, walkable from Nrth Pt, somewhere around the HDB office but fish not exactly the healthiest.

Now hands itchy again, thinking of starting a 2ft tank, probably have to write paper to get approval from my 'minister'...

Today I also just setup 3ft tank too man it really back breaking and transfering LS to new tank. I think next week will start to go farm again :P

Tank Spec :

Display tank : 48" x 24" x 18."'(H)

Sump tank : 25" x 23" x 18"(H)

Return pump : Reef Octopus 8000

Wave Maker : Vortech MP10Wes

Lighting : DIY LED (Cree led) 60 bulb

Chiller : helia 55hs

Skimmer : BM Curve 7

Controller : Reef Angel

I spend about 8 hours to transfer setup and clean up not back breaking la cause cant feel my back liao :D But I first time see my sun coral all come out from the day I bought it. Think it like big tank lol. See pic below.

P1030642.jpg

P1030641.jpg

So I was thinking shall I add sand? feel like adding grade 0 sand

Hehe can next time gather we chong farm lol. Today I setup 3ft tank liao hehe add CR now let the water cycle. Hey kthc I now got my 3ft going to let go my 2ft tank with sump want? hehe cheap cheap la :D

Thanks but not in a hurry, seeing if the itch will go away again. Probably getting one with a cabinet anyway.

Have fun with your tank :D

Any nice bro stay woodland can lend me house my Suncoral , cup coral and 2 little mushroom? Cause my chiller cant support 3ft now water temp at 29 so asking for little help until I got a bigger chiller cause now no $$$$ must wait next month :cry2: :cry2:

You can put in my tank first if you do not mind as I set temp at 27 - 28 now.

Tank Spec :

oh where u stay anyway? the sun coral a bit ahrd if u dont know how to feed it, I alway take out then put in a small tank feed with plankton and some brine shrimp. The cup coral more easy but can feed it the same way just that it only open with light the sun coral different it open with little light :D

I stay at Woodlands Ave 4. The way I feed my sun is I give mysis or Henry's food. I did not take out as I do not want to expose to air.

Tank Spec :

Must thanks to her, In fact 1/3 of my LS is was her idea specially sun coral. I do maintain she enjoy beauty. I think whatever hobby we are interest it will be best if it bring joy to whole family.

Second to new_new comments. You can go a long way with family support. My wife and kids love this hobby too. Of cos I am the one maintaining it.

Hi Alberted

If space is not a concern, you should keep your 2ft as quarantine tank. Quarantine your new fishes and corals will carry you a long way in reefing. It will also cost less in the long run. Introducing a new fish into your display may bring oin dieases that can cost you a bomb to recover. Just my 2 cents.

2 Dargonet

Hi I am relatively new to marine too, I am staying opposite Institute of Mental Health in Hougang :) Anyway, I would like to point out that since your's a new tank the 2 Dragonet might not survive in the long run. And 2 feet plus sump (assuming both are mature) can only support one Mandarin. I so far lost one because it finished all the Pods faster then I expected and didn't move it to another tank before it died, so keep an eye out for them.

...I am staying opposite Institute of Mental Health in Hougang :)...

*Gasps* :blink: <== the usual reaction from people :upsidedown:

Have you been inside the compound? It probably has the largest area compared to other hospitals. Very peaceful setting, with many trees providing good shade. Its not like what most people think, that it is "risky" to go in there. I play basketball there sometimes.

Btw, how do you know if my setup is suitable for keeping dragonets? Mine is just a 1.5 Ft nano IOS. I've always wanted to keep one, but have not read much about them yet. Care to share more?

Hi I am relatively new to marine too, I am staying opposite Institute of Mental Health in Hougang :) Anyway, I would like to point out that since your's a new tank the 2 Dragonet might not survive in the long run. And 2 feet plus sump (assuming both are mature) can only support one Mandarin. I so far lost one because it finished all the Pods faster then I expected and didn't move it to another tank before it died, so keep an eye out for them.

i do agree to this statements. dragaonet is nice and colourful to keep. but bear in mind that thru running your water to a much stable or latter period might have a higher chances of survival. They feed on pods only and frm past exp, I dun see them feed on brine shrimp , mysis etc etc etc.....

so think twice before getting one. I do have one in my tank and shy fellow where always moving during the night time (off the light) u can notice that they feed on small particles among rocks. Do assume that all these are pods.... as from chances of survival, not too sure...hopefully, can survive lah! :D

hope these helps! :D

Now your sun coral open very wide bigger than my now

Tank Spec :

Hi Bro,

1st time in this forum....I have been to jalan kayu Aquamarin (beside the prata stall) and fall in love with the display tank. I have wanted to get 1 myself and put in my room... I would like to seek some advice from all of you here....

The tank Im looking at is 2 ft tank...complete set with skimmer and lighting cost about $1118... not sure I can get a cheaper 1 somewhere... as this is a ex hobby will really have to start of well...

jasmine

Hi Bro,

1st time in this forum....I have been to jalan kayu Aquamarin (beside the prata stall) and fall in love with the display tank. I have wanted to get 1 myself and put in my room... I would like to seek some advice from all of you here....

The tank Im looking at is 2 ft tank...complete set with skimmer and lighting cost about $1118... not sure I can get a cheaper 1 somewhere... as this is a ex hobby will really have to start of well...

jasmine

U can try jebo nano tank with stand for a start, with lighting, skimmer u had to buy. tank & stand @ $199. saw there is a promotion in aqua star @ yishun.

If you don't mind, can go to OTF at pasir ris farm. Think they are selling Baoyu nano at discounted price. cheapest is like $128 but need to confirm. There is another swift pte ltd at pasir ris, think equiment with LS = below 1 k.

If you can afford, buy off the shelve will save you lots of time. Customise may not be cheap but you will definitely get the sense of accomplishment and satisfaction after completing everything. Here got lots of good bros and sisters, can sell you cheap things or give FOC. Hence it can certainly help to save and make customisation cheaper but then, it is definitely time consuming. Welcome to the club.

U can try jebo nano tank with stand for a start, with lighting, skimmer u had to buy. tank & stand @ $199. saw there is a promotion in aqua star @ yishun.

Hi Bro,

jasmine

hi jasmine, welcome welcome! :D

in fact, that tank you looking is RSM tank. Well, its a dream tank for me! The advantages on this setup is good for beginners, why? its a complete system with the necessities in it! Except that you got to buy a chiller if you wanna keep corals.

But as for you, I would recommend you to read more on what's the requirements for a reef tank OR fish only tank. Both have it challenges and the beauty side of it! There are tons of thread on new setup tank, cycling etc etc etc...you can even view other members' tank and their concepts and designs. And also, how much you going to set aside for the start up & monthly budget for shopping!! Not going shopping centre and shop hor...shop for fishes and corals! :P

don't rush onto it, explored and asked yourself whether you have the time for this hobby! Read read, understand understand more...rush onto it...i can assure you that spend more $$$$$$$ and time! Plan it, you shall have control and spend less $$... :D

Ok, hope that helps...any problems, can post a thread here...here are tons of COLOUR WOLVES to assist U! :D:P