Dispar_Anthias Posted November 21, 2003 Share Posted November 21, 2003 Anemones should have some 'colour' in them.... mostly green or brown, although some come in shades of paler colours. I am not too sure about yours, if its bleached or just pale.. although I suspect it may be bleached. Don't be mistaken, the tips or outer skin can exhibit flourescent colours but we are talking about the body colour of the main stalk or the polyps. Its the photosynthetic zooxanthelae cells in them that gives the colour. When an anemone is stressed (probably heat-related), it may expel the zoozanthelae cells and when it then becomes 'empty'... the body will look pale white or even transparent. Same thing goes for corals who exhibit this same symptoms. Bleached corals and inverts do look nice due to the pale colours but in reality, they are actually in danger. With no more energy coming from the symbiotic photosynethetic algae, the bleached anemone will need supplementary feeding of meaty foods till they colour up back again over time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deman Posted November 21, 2003 Author Share Posted November 21, 2003 This is a white purple anemone not brown or green. many shop selling white anemone. thank all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted November 21, 2003 Share Posted November 21, 2003 this anenome is common in most LFS lar... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member metals99 Posted November 21, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 21, 2003 i dunno lah.. but always i see white anemone too.. i told the shop its bleached.. and they wanna kill me arghh hehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted November 21, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 21, 2003 Heh.. it's got alot of potential, man.. Nice nice... All the best.. Hope ypu'll always like this hobby.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deman Posted November 22, 2003 Author Share Posted November 22, 2003 Thinking to add 1 small blue tank in my 2" tank dun can or not. anyone there please advise? thank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted November 22, 2003 Share Posted November 22, 2003 Fuel! We both said the same thing but I guess I am always the long-winded one! Hehe...I have been drilled by examinations to cut long story short. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted November 22, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 22, 2003 Thinking to add 1 small blue tank in my 2" tank dun can or not.anyone there please advise? thank. IMO...not advisable as 1) they are fast swimmers which need more space... 2) they 'pooh' a lot...wondering if your bioload can take it... 3) they grow bigger too fast too soon... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryan Posted November 23, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 23, 2003 My first tank was just like yours... eheim 2213, air driven protein skimmer, lots of live rocks, white ANEMONE(big mistake for 2ft tanks)... anyway the thing about tanks like ours is discipline. we cannot add too much fish and we cannot keep tangs. i was considering getting a regal tang way before nemo came out. then i figured it would be really stressed in such a small tank which it would outgrow in no time, then the stress related diseases would come in and the other inhabitants will get stressed too..... basically blue tang is no go... also remember that 2ft tanks require weekly water changes... haha thats why i have upgraded to 3'x2'x2' tank with 3'x2'x2' sump... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deman Posted November 23, 2003 Author Share Posted November 23, 2003 thank ryan for advised. can show ur tank picture? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryan Posted November 23, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 23, 2003 tank pic? no more 2 ft though... have 3 ft tank pis but all i have are pics of the tank with sand, water some rocks and MH light! haha... you want to see? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted November 23, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 23, 2003 Hi, Nice set & I also just set up my 2ft tank just three days only & hope it will look as good as yours in 1 month! Keep up the good work!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deman Posted December 6, 2003 Author Share Posted December 6, 2003 Just rearrange of my livestock again. added 3 crown fish, 1 brown anemone & 1 fire fish. my white anemone my crown fish dun like it but my brown one that like it very much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deman Posted December 6, 2003 Author Share Posted December 6, 2003 front view. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deman Posted December 6, 2003 Author Share Posted December 6, 2003 Maroon crown & anemone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rouge_noir Posted December 6, 2003 Share Posted December 6, 2003 The fire fish may jump out of the tank.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...