My New Tank Journey

dragonwings

I am setting up my new exciting tank in my bedroom after a long debate with my mom. Finally the tank specs i order

3 ft by 2 ft by 2 ft glass tank, japan and braces

cabinet with wood furnish

sump 3 ft (3 compartment)

My equipment ready

light- metal halide 150watts MH Fixture BLV 150watts 14k

chiller- artica

skimmer- currently i have dymax (should i use deltec? cost a bomb. pls comment)

fludizer reactor

pump 1200/L, is it too big? what will happen if i use? will the sump flood?

media

Others

sand and coral chips ready

special sand frm Azoo, can keep pH 8.4 for whole year? (dad gave to me) is it true? pls comment

Ok will post again on Thursday when the tank comes

:blink:

Episode #1: Getting the equipment and stuff ready

Ok lets see some of my stuff for the coming tank tomo.

1. Media: I am using the No 1 media, using the four types. Chitosan porus, anti bacterial silver, calcium magnesium, infrared porus. They claim the give the beneficial bacteria grow with nutrients

media.jpg

2. Sand: I use the normal No 3 sands as a base, I soak it for overnight to clean those sands

sandssoak.jpg

3. Azoo pH 8.4 sands: I hrd from the wonder from my supplier that this sands can help to maintain pH 8.4 for 1 year. Dont

know real or not? Try it lor. But cost a buck for me

specialbed.jpg

4. Main Pump: I use the aquabee, quite big 5000L per hour, not sure my flow box can handle or not?

mainpump.jpg

5. Skimmer cannot play play. I use deltec AP600

skimmer.jpg

6. Fluidized Reactor: I bought the cheap one lor, little 2 fishes for phosphate remover

fluidizerreactor.jpg

7. Water to be cold, I use chiller artica

chiller.jpg

8. Salts I use the Redsea cos of its gd quality. No residue left

salts.jpg

Ok. Thats all. Now waiting for the tank tomo. Update u all guys!

White Tiger

i got a feeling your chiller is unable to cool down your tank esp with mh being used..

Same feeling too, this is artica nano, yours is 3x2x2, no more a nano, water volume is much more..

and mh is a heater, together with main pump is worst..

one question, is that a aquabee 5000? don look like one to me...

Same feeling too, this is artica nano, yours is 3x2x2, no more a nano, water volume is much more..

and mh is a heater, together with main pump is worst..

one question, is that a aquabee 5000? don look like one to me...

Oh ya is true, may not be coolling enough

The tank is under air con room for the night. Hope it can cool a bit...

Dude i suggest u better do more homework b4 stepping into this hobby or spend more money on equipment which u dont understand whats it rated for or its purpose. Dont mind me saying, unless u keep ur aircon on 24hrs theres no way that nano chiller is gonna chill down ur tank down to keep corals healthy and alive. Even if it did it would probably be running nonstop end of the mth electricity bill comes u aint going to be happy. Dont mind me being so direct k its for your own good and for the marine life's good. Ask for advice b4 u buy. The deltec skimmer is a good choice though ...

Heres a useful link to help u choose the right chiller > http://www.jbjlighting.com/prod_chiller_size.asp

And if u dont know how much water is in your tank look all the way down in the forum page u will see a banner link to a tank volume calculator.

Dude i suggest u better do more homework b4 stepping into this hobby or spend more money on equipment which u dont understand whats it rated for or its purpose. Dont mind me saying, unless u keep ur aircon on 24hrs theres no way that nano chiller is gonna chill down ur tank down to keep corals healthy and alive. Even if it did it would probably be running nonstop end of the mth electricity bill comes u aint going to be happy. Dont mind me being so direct k its for your own good and for the marine life's good. Ask for advice b4 u buy. The deltec skimmer is a good choice though ...

Heres a useful link to help u choose the right chiller > http://www.jbjlighting.com/prod_chiller_size.asp

And if u dont know how much water is in your tank look all the way down in the forum page u will see a banner link to a tank volume calculator.

Dear Bro,

Thank you so much for your advise

By the way homework I think i have enough as I graduate frm a Master in Marine Biology from Australlia Uni of Melbourne : )

I have spent 5 years in marine keeping at have been sucessful pass down from my dad, so this hobbies is our family life

And of course I will not so stupid me to on the aircon for 24 hrs. Only at night I on cos I need to sleep.

Thanks for your kind intention, your adivse are gd for those newbies out there.

Rgds

thanks for all your suggestion, I am not here to show my expertise in what ever area but to learn from each other skills and knowledge. I am still learning as I go along. Different ppl have diff ways of accepting message and I hope that those kind soul wanna to post in this thread to have a more softer and humble tone as this is also a public forum.

As for the concerns;

1. Aquabee= that photo is not my main pump it is my spare pump from dymax. I cnt took the photo from the sump so i took my spare as a pic. sorry for those who mis read my words

2. Chiller= ya i know its small, i already place an order. this one is frm my workplace, i took as a pic only.

I intend to put more pics later on and hope not to have such unpleasant tones from some ppl but constructuve suggestion and advices.

pls wanna to learn from one another.

thank you

if you are not using those equipments, why take the pics? it will just mislead others.. you dont put a picture there for the sake of putting pictures, do you? if cant take the picture of it, just state it, most of us will know how it look like..

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

hahaha... sound great from your coming set up and experiences. hope to hear from you more. i remember when i only used 2xfans for my 3x2x2 tank with sps and lps many years back... i switch on my air-con at night (i place my tank in my room) and then used the fans for the day time to maintain the temp between 26 - 28.5 with 1x250W MH + 2xT5 39w. in fact, one of my good friend is still using his room air-con and fan with 1x250W HM for his 2ft sps set-up ^_^

great! more pictures from your set-up ya ;)

age.png

Dear Bro,

By the way homework I think i have enough as I graduate frm a Master in Marine Biology from Australlia Uni of Melbourne : )

I have spent 5 years in marine keeping at have been sucessful pass down from my dad, so this hobbies is our family life

And of course I will not so stupid me to on the aircon for 24 hrs. Only at night I on cos I need to sleep.

Rgds

WAH !!! very good la of wat u have achieved n very interesting indeed :)

was wondering can learn something frm u abt Marine Biology :paiseh:

Dear Bro,

Rgds

:ooh: Marine Biology from Australlia Uni of Melbourne :ooh: newbies like me must learn this .. hope you can share your knowledge and advise in future... :paiseh::peace:

Actually i took marine biology as my master project for my interest in marine life, not really at the beignning of reef keeping. Is my dad who influence me fish keeping as he keep gourami till now.

Just to share with you all, i research for my master project with NTU and UOM using marine sponges to as a bio filter to break down organic waste subst and examine the distingeration of the sponge cells and regeneration of its cells upon different chemicals waste esp copper compounds which are common with industrial wastes. Indeed, the are self regeneration upon chemical stress....

Rgds reef keeping, my prof says, just let them be in ocean. Dnt let them trap in your home. Opps, u know those ang mo very environment lovers.... hehehe

ok posting it soon for the updates

thanks for all your suggestion, I am not here to show my expertise in what ever area but to learn from each other skills and knowledge. I am still learning as I go along. Different ppl have diff ways of accepting message and I hope that those kind soul wanna to post in this thread to have a more softer and humble tone as this is also a public forum.

As for the concerns;

1. Aquabee= that photo is not my main pump it is my spare pump from dymax. I cnt took the photo from the sump so i took my spare as a pic. sorry for those who mis read my words

2. Chiller= ya i know its small, i already place an order. this one is frm my workplace, i took as a pic only.

I intend to put more pics later on and hope not to have such unpleasant tones from some ppl but constructuve suggestion and advices.

thank you

As for the concerns;

thank you

Hi WhiteTiger, (i write with good intentions)

Is your deltec from your office as well? Seems like both your deltec and chiller pictures have similar lighting conditions and background/floor tiles with skirting tiles.

No no, i'm not scrutinising, just that i'm in the line that requires me to be exceptionally observant with colours and details.

You're not alone in 'learning' here, everyone else is. We share and learn.

In case written words mislead, do not misinterpret my intentions, im sure a lot of us really wish to learn from one who is educated in marine biology, it's an institutionalised knowledge... whereas most of us are just self-learn from online/books/forums (or better still, thru mistakes, aka experience).

You mentioned in your first post that your tank is coming on Thursday and will be sharing with us pix?

Q: You know what they say about trying to read tonality from written words (email/sms/forum)?

A: It's what you want to interpret at the time you read.

cheers...

Hi WhiteTiger, (i write with good intentions)

Is your deltec from your office as well? Seems like both your deltec and chiller pictures have similar lighting conditions and background/floor tiles with skirting tiles.

No no, i'm not scrutinising, just that i'm in the line that requires me to be exceptionally observant with colours and details.

You're not alone in 'learning' here, everyone else is. We share and learn.

In case written words mislead, do not misinterpret my intentions, im sure a lot of us really wish to learn from one who is educated in marine biology, it's an institutionalised knowledge... whereas most of us are just self-learn from online/books/forums (or better still, thru mistakes, aka experience).

You mentioned in your first post that your tank is coming on Thursday and will be sharing with us pix?

Q: You know what they say about trying to read tonality from written words (email/sms/forum)?

A: It's what you want to interpret at the time you read.

cheers...

Dear Bro,

Thanks for your kind intention I undertsand all of this liao. Enough lor... ok?

lets forget what happen previously, I just wanna share my tank only

pls pls... cannot tahan this stress....

hahahaha

i will post the pics soon, i kinda busy due to my Lord death resurrection on Sunday....

Rgds

Looking good... just curious... why do you need to put your filter media into several different baskets? Is the middle section of your sump meant for a refugium?

A tank of this size is considered big in a normal HDB room. I can never find such space in mine. Does your tank run very quietly at night? I dun think I'd be able to sleep with the slightest splash sounds, but that's just me. ^_^

Looking good... just curious... why do you need to put your filter media into several different baskets? Is the middle section of your sump meant for a refugium?

A tank of this size is considered big in a normal HDB room. I can never find such space in mine. Does your tank run very quietly at night? I dun think I'd be able to sleep with the slightest splash sounds, but that's just me. ^_^

cos i wanna the water flow to flow right through the stages, cos the media i bought are meant for different stages as what they claim.

medium section, refugium? no, i just put some coral chips.... substrate to grow bacteria

haha i dnt live in a normal hdb flat?.... yes it run quietly. notice i put these white bag to reduce water sound... the first night is terrible! i cnt sleep too... hahahahaha

Rgds

cos i wanna the water flow to flow right through the stages, cos the media i bought are meant for different stages as what they claim.

medium section, refugium? no, i just put some coral chips.... substrate to grow bacteria

haha i dnt live in a normal hdb flat?.... yes it run quietly. notice i put these white bag to reduce water sound... the first night is terrible! i cnt sleep too... hahahahaha

Rgds

dude, just my 2 cents.. the white bag may reduce sound, it will also trap debri... over time, you'll experience major blockage -> flooding.