Osram Bulb

bwilly

Sorry for interrupting, hope you guys dont mind. But I was looking through the post. From my understanding, all DE MH bulbs has very little or no UV protection at all. The UV protection comes from the tempered glass in the pendant. Only the single ended bulbs with the the outer casing has uv protection. UV can be block out by glass (thats why uv sterilizer is made from quartz and not glass) but due to the heat from the buld, tempered glass is used.

As for your clams, they could be just trying to adjust to the light, a sudden increase in intensity of light needs getting use to. (my corals closed why I installed my MH and only open up after a few days. same with my clams. now they open beri beri big..

When I installed my 10000k SE BLV 250watt, I too find it very yellowish (as I was using a ratio of 3 antinic blue : 1 10000k very blue pl lights before the change), but notice that after a couple of days of breaking in, the color became very white. Plus you are comparing 14000k and 6700k, the 6700k will definitely look yellowish. Just like if you compare a 20000k with a 14000, the 14000k will not look as good. But the 6700k osram bulb cost like 30+ dollars but the 10000k cost 100+ so some people suplement the yellow with antinic blue to make it look white.

I also like blue and am thinking of changine to the 20000k bulbs. Cheers! :lol:

I know, the older batches of DE MH bulbs is not UV coated.

but more n more DE bulbs are. if tempered glass can filter off UV, then its good for me. cause I using the osram, no indication on it, that's its UV coated. The glass uses in my MH, looks like any more tempered glass, so I am afraid of its UV filter ability.

Intensity..? intensity is the same, its only the kelvin, or rather specturm of the light. Bulb use is still 150watt. I supplement a blue PL, but basically no effect.. blue light overwhelm by the yellow liao.

did u not order some MH bulbs under edmund bulk purchase..? I order one 10kk n one 20kk, mix then to produce mixture effect. suppose 10kk is the best, optimum light specturm good for most if not all corals.

dun want my giant clam to get any problem, hard time to find it, n I got feelings for all my LS..

"still miss u, my first tomato.."

The intensity of a new bulb I mean. Cos a new bulb is brighter then their rated lumens but will loose over time. I think 20% in the first couple of months. so when you use a bulb after a year, the new one is a lot brighter then the old one. Also if you change to a different kelvin, they also need to adjust. But I also think that 6500k is too yellow for marin. But I am using that for my planted tank.

I got the bulb myself. much cheaper the outside so that ok. But there is one thing. I have checked with BLV and according to them they dont manufacture anything rated above 14000k so I am really wondering where those BLV 20000K bulbs comes from. BLV only make Colored MH bulbs with no kelvin rating. According to them anything above 14000k cannot be measured. So I really wonder where those so called 20,000K BLV bulbs selling at the LFS come from...... :look:

no lah. both the bulbs are pretty new.

I just got my MH abt 2-3mths back..?

The osram, only test run the MH working,

then I took it off. whereas the 17KK (or

is it 14KK) I use it after since till last nite

where I change back to Osram for fun.

I saw at LFS, damn blue MH.. they tell u

its how many thousands Kelvin u also believe.

cause its really blue. :)