Chronicles of Soul's 3x2x2.5

Soul

Pic of my sump, Almost zero space to put anything else .... neatened up the wiring on the left a few days back with a cable tray.

Wah... the skimmate looks good man!

eh, what're those kent marine bottles you have there?

Came home from work first thing i did was open tank cabinet and a smile came on .... SKIMMATE AT LAST! My vodka bottle was filling up with smelly skimmate foam, a little wet maybe gonna try dryer setting. :yeah:

Bro soul, nice unique skimmer from the States .... the shape stands out from the conevntional types. Would u be looking to get a wastes collector for the kopi-O ? N more pics for learning ya... :eyebrow:

U might wanna consider bro playstation's wastes collector ?

Bro soul, nice unique skimmer from the States .... the shape stands out from the conevntional types. Would u be looking to get a wastes collector for the kopi-O ? N more pics for learning ya... :eyebrow:

U might wanna consider bro playstation's wastes collector ?

THANKS! PMed him liao hope can fit in cabinet. No lah dun say learn from me more like sharing info, i'm new to the world of sps keeping. I have yet to stock up on more sps corals, successful or not yet to be seen. We all know equipment only counts for 40% of successful reefing.

i'm using a 3L tupperware water pitcher as a waste collector.. no need to spend too much money on such stuff...

true, i used an empty 1 litre bottle for my beckett for 3 yrs. Still have the bottle lol ... try my luck i guess if its cheap i dont mind. But actually i think the vodka bottle looks cooler than a waste collector yah?

I'm using a waste collector now, and to be very frank with you, besides looking neat and nice, there's no other benefit. Mine comes free with it. Surely will not pay for this.

Actually there is one... it'll automatically stop the skimmer once the waste collector is full. The liquid in the collector will push the ping pong ball higher up.

Once full, it'll block the air flow and skimming stops... however, due to air build-up within the skimmer, it'll tilt/ float up. So technically, it doesn't really help much. Besides, how long does it take to fill up the entire collector?? 1 month??? I can bet you will cannot tahan after 2 weeks!

Actually, a normal vodka bottle will do... it's clear, easier to see... then again, how to do wash the insides of the bottle?? it is dirty and stinko sia!

Alright some pics of the maintank, think u all also sick of the constant pics of equipment liao. I will be slowly phasing out the LPS in my tank and move more towards SPS corals. Last week bot 2 pcs of SPS from a fellow reefer who decommed. Both SPS doing very well despite the fact that several branches broke off during the long journey from Pasir Ris to Woodlands. The redish SPS was bleached behind when i bot it and has since totally recovered its colours. Tips are pink i have not checked what species this belongs to.

post-6513-1204009577.jpg

post-6513-1204009598.jpg

post-6513-1204009615.jpg

post-6513-1204009635.jpg

post-6513-1204009661.jpg

Alright some pics of the maintank, think u all also sick of the constant pics of equipment liao. I will be slowly phasing out the LPS in my tank and move more towards SPS corals. Last week bot 2 pcs of SPS from a fellow reefer who decommed. Both SPS doing very well despite the fact that several branches broke off during the long journey from Pasir Ris to Woodlands. The redish SPS was bleached behind when i bot it and has since totally recovered its colours. Tips are pink i have not checked what species this belongs to.

I want SPS frags!!! (when nitrate level is under control...)

hehehe...

Some updates, added a mangrove/DSB refugium to the setup. Mangroves growing taller n taller ... had to break off some leafs to stop their growth. The area is also where i directed most of my monitor meters n CR PH controller plus AquaMedic light computer.

post-6513-1205729976.jpg

The few SPS colonies i have aquired so far are doing well except an Acro frag i got which has totally turned brown. The rest are having a steady growth at the tips, some browning at the base due to light being unable to reach the area ... cant be helped i guess.

I think getting single frags for sps is better than getting a whole colony since in the wild they grow according to the direction of natural light which may not suit the direction of our light in our tanks due to placement constrants.

post-6513-1205730438.jpg

post-6513-1205730457.jpg