A new beginning

wilsontantw

if the corals all seem to be opening more, i would leave it as it is.... since your tunzes provides quite abit of flow already... save the electricity and just enjoy the corals =)

nice tank btw, would love to see more pics. take w/ a proper camera pls!! =)

i'll be observing the flow for a few more days.

thanks for your compliment... actually proper camera is one thing... the man behind it is another!

Hi Wilson,

Saw the video of your tank just now... looks good! Hope to see it in person soon.

With regards, to your return, if I were you I will sell the AB5000 and get another lower flow pump. Reasons:

1) 2 return pump is better than 1

2) I don't really think that your 1260 is able to push that much water into your main tank after going into your chiller, at most, I estimate it will be around 1200l to 1500l

3) Sudden drop in current will always encourage corals to respond but if your are not getting sufficient water into the sump to be filtered, it may not be good in a long run

Cheers, ;)

eh, honestly, still way to more to go... buying the corals is just the beginning... to see it sustain and grow is the real challenge. :)

btw, whenever you free, i'll be happy for you to drop by and give some comments... but honestly, nothing that you've not seen before. haha

to be frank with you... your suggestion is exactly what i have on my mind.

eh, honestly, still way to more to go... buying the corals is just the beginning... to see it sustain and grow is the real challenge. :)

btw, whenever you free, i'll be happy for you to drop by and give some comments... but honestly, nothing that you've not seen before. haha

to be frank with you... your suggestion is exactly what i have on my mind.

Sustaining our beloved livestocks is a never ending journey, that's why it will be good if we can take this walk together. ;)

Let' work on a date soon.

All the best!

Sustaining our beloved livestocks is a never ending journey, that's why it will be good if we can take this walk together. ;)

Let' work on a date soon.

All the best!

Nice! well said bro.

I should be good this Tues/Wed.

Mon = start of week blues... usually just wanna KO early

Thurs = got drinks session with some kakis (who totally thinks reefing is a waste of time and money).

Fri = CO and baby day

let me know via sms?

Sat afternoon also can, after that we can drop by pasir ris?

Some update after last weekend's LFSing.

1x sand dollar - forgot to take pix before putting into the tank - darn!

1x sally light foot crab - (darn, should have bought more) again, forgot to take pix... cannot find it today...

green mushroom rock - luminous green.... nice... but the rock doesn't look nice, so i remove most of the polyps, and try to let them stick on coral chips.

1 x Atlantic Blue Tang... colouring up nicely and feeding henry's food (not pellet yet) - still training and hopefully my Purple and Kole Tang will welcome him... (really wish they'll not fight).

and finally bought 2 true percs... out of which... 1 didn't make it!!!! So sad...

This is the one that survived...

(Now am left with 2 choices - either sell it or buy another one and hopefully they'll pair up)

post-13920-1237220876.jpg

Will there be anyone keen on a 'widowed' 2-bars true perc?? haha.

Btw: does anyone know if there's a name for such 2-bar clown fish???

Some update after last weekend's LFSing.

1x sand dollar - forgot to take pix before putting into the tank - darn!

1x sally light foot crab - (darn, should have bought more) again, forgot to take pix... cannot find it today...

green mushroom rock - luminous green.... nice... but the rock doesn't look nice, so i remove most of the polyps, and try to let them stick on coral chips.

1 x Atlantic Blue Tang... colouring up nicely and feeding henry's food (not pellet yet) - still training and hopefully my Purple and Kole Tang will welcome him... (really wish they'll not fight).

and finally bought 2 true percs... out of which... 1 didn't make it!!!! So sad...

This is the one that survived...

(Now am left with 2 choices - either sell it or buy another one and hopefully they'll pair up)

post-13920-1237220876.jpg

Will there be anyone keen on a 'widowed' 2-bars true perc?? haha.

Btw: does anyone know if there's a name for such 2-bar clown fish???

nice buy! and yes a 2-bar clownfish is called a 2-bar clownfish (: or a 3-1bar..ok lame. hey u should get another perc! they are quite easy to pair up. one will just be the female. maybe a little fighting here and there but it should work out...if not, just separate lor (: i going CF again tomorrow

AHAHAHAHA HAPPYYYY. cant buy anything though. see see only. maybe 1 or 2 inverts (: sally light footed crab is good. saw many smallish sized ones/

nice buy! and yes a 2-bar clownfish is called a 2-bar clownfish (: or a 3-1bar..ok lame. hey u should get another perc! they are quite easy to pair up. one will just be the female. maybe a little fighting here and there but it should work out...if not, just separate lor (: i going CF again tomorrow

AHAHAHAHA HAPPYYYY. cant buy anything though. see see only. maybe 1 or 2 inverts (: sally light footed crab is good. saw many smallish sized ones/

lucky you... always get to go shopping during weekdays.

yeah.. they've got lotsa fire shrimps too.. if u can, take a look at their zoas tank... i think there are some decent ones there (but without actinic lighting, you just gotta try ur luck).

lucky you... always get to go shopping during weekdays.

yeah.. they've got lotsa fire shrimps too.. if u can, take a look at their zoas tank... i think there are some decent ones there (but without actinic lighting, you just gotta try ur luck).

now sch hols wat. must milk every opportunity to go. anyway tmr going with some friends. dun think i will be getting anything la. no mood to buy livestock nowadays. shit something wrong with me. when sch start it hink weekend oso no time.

unless the livestock happen to be feather worms...

now sch hols wat. must milk every opportunity to go. anyway tmr going with some friends. dun think i will be getting anything la. no mood to buy livestock nowadays. shit something wrong with me. when sch start it hink weekend oso no time.

unless the livestock happen to be feather worms...

then i'm sure you will enjoy your trip to coral farm!

i almost bought some on sunday.

u found e mush pic u wanted to show me ??

Oh gosh bro... i forgot to take a pic (cannot find the old one)...

I'll take it tomorrow (now lights off liao).

Now that you mentioned ah... the dots do seemed a little purplish...

lolx e same species cannot vary too far bahz..

yeah... guess what! sometimes searching for things... dun need to go tooooo far (i was finding for last year's pix)

But after your message, i decided to hunt for this year's one and some weird folder name, and found it!

Tada...

post-13920-1237227071.jpg

There're 2 polyps... (one facing the front, another is at the back - out of sight)

yeah... guess what! sometimes searching for things... dun need to go tooooo far (i was finding for last year's pix)

But after your message, i decided to hunt for this year's one and some weird folder name, and found it!

Tada...

post-13920-1237227071.jpg

There're 2 polyps... (one facing the front, another is at the back - out of sight)

wow they do look similar.. when did u buy it..

btw y ur mushroom pink only 1 poylp by its own?

e rest r rearrange?

mushies, some new, some are colourful...

post-13920-1238430198.jpg

post-13920-1238430450.jpg

I think the blue spotted ones should be able to frag when i have time...

post-13920-1238430534.jpg

The pink ones should be good for frags too! Just need some time to get the hands wet.

post-13920-1238430661.jpg

Maroon with blue dots (just spotted a new small piece on the same rock)

post-13920-1238430775.jpg

Mixture of new and old mushies. Some new zoas on the top right hand side.

Some new palys in the foreground, and zoas at the back.

post-13920-1238430946.jpg

Pink zoas, bought quite some time ago...

There're plans to start fragging in the next few weeks...

post-13920-1238430978.jpg

Same pix, top left corner are some new ones as well...

(May have some spare frags to let go... PM if you're interested)...

Alrighty... thats all for today...

Some new palys in the foreground, and zoas at the back.

post-13920-1238430946.jpg

Pink zoas, bought quite some time ago...

There're plans to start fragging in the next few weeks...

post-13920-1238430978.jpg

Same pix, top left corner are some new ones as well...

Alrighty... thats all for today...

Time to vist your wonderful creation soon. ;)

i'll be travelling to HK on Thurs liao lor... hehe... hopefully can be as lucky as bro markie to find some nice zoas.

how does next week sounds?

thursdays are usually good.

FTS PLEASEEEEEEE. wa ur cloves stunning. mine growing new polyps but soo slowly. time to get more colonies..

wah! you wanna buy somemore... lately u've been getting a lot of very very nice zoas and mushies wor... (do you sense some envy here?) hahahaa...

quite lucky with the cloves... there's a lot of baby ones growing everywhere around the rock. i even plucked out some bigger ones to plant them elsewhere in the tank.

FTS... hmm... didnt take wor... coz the whole tank very messy now.

Wow Wilson, I always assume that I've seen or commented on your tank thread before, but turns out I was wrong haha. Interesting read, and very nice tank!

Me.. Me... Me.....? :rolleyes: