A new beginning

wilsontantw

Eh. How you know I bought them???

I didn't tell anyone. Hmmm... Did I??

No pix yet. Lazy to take out the camera. Not feeling too good today leh.

Plus, all pipeorgans not opening. Dunno why. Something feels wrong.

And the leopard wrasse is creating havoc by stirring sand up.

I'm planning to trap and sell it. Yes, even though it's been with me for over 2 years and survived the near calamity.

It's disturbing the school. Irritating.

Now. How to catch the leopard wrasse??? Oh no!

Btw, headsup... I'll be letting go a few LPS shortly. First up, some rhizos (Japanese sun), will be selling about 3 of them. Will just keep 2.

Rainbow coloured echinata(thinking) and blood red chalice (thinking also).

Eh. How you know I bought them???

I didn't tell anyone. Hmmm... Did I??

Now. How to catch the leopard wrasse??? Oh no!

you obvious did tell someone.. haha.......

I caught my yellow wrasse using a plastic box in open water... he is too greedy for food... haha ...

but mine is easier cause my tank is not as deep as yours.

maybe you want to take note where he digs into the sand at night.

then get a box/ net and scoop up the whole lot.

very difficult to trap sand wrasses bro. especially leopards. if yours is greedy enough, a standard betta box works well.

here's a very good trick but there's very low chance of working in a sandbed set up.

If someone for some reason put a sand wrasse in a barebottom and wants to remove it, put a tray of sand in a plastic container and the wrasse will sleep in that tray. observe and wait for the wrasse to dive into the tray of sand and remove it at night.

In a sandbed tank, trapping them using the tray method is more difficult but not impossible. I've tried doing it by placing a black acrylic sheet on the sandbed so that the wrasse cannot see the sand and won't attempt to dive in it. then using a large tray of sand, put it on the sheet and the wrasse will sleep in the tray of sand at night. can't put a single large acrylic sheet on your sand? improvise. cut it up .

remove it and ta da.

Thanks lemon and Jacky. I think I just snooked myself by not keeping the leopard aside after the rescape.

Sigh. I know this leopard wrasse is greedy. May just try with a trap.

hoping to do it this weekend. I know it's home, but it's below one of the foundation LR. So removing it will mean rescape (which is a vulgar word to me now)

you obvious did tell someone.. haha.......

I caught my yellow wrasse using a plastic box in open water... he is too greedy for food... haha ...

but mine is easier cause my tank is not as deep as yours.

maybe you want to take note where he digs into the sand at night.

then get a box/ net and scoop up the whole lot.

this jacky guy is damn scary.

he even knows i am going to reborn when i havent left house.

he shall be called prophet jacky.. no longer president

Brown SPS > Kinder Surprise

White SPS = Kinder Surprise after expiry date

Assumption killed the dinosaurs, they didnt have test kits.

Thanks lemon and Jacky. I think I just snooked myself by not keeping the leopard aside after the rescape.

Sigh. I know this leopard wrasse is greedy. May just try with a trap.

hoping to do it this weekend. I know it's home, but it's below one of the foundation LR. So removing it will mean rescape (which is a vulgar word to me now)

hey wilson, you can also try the circular wire mesh trap

place it inside, off the pump and dump some food inside....... :)

yesterday's purchases

i only have a very weak digicam. this is the best i can do.

post-17012-12762746746781_thumb.jpg

quite close to real colour

post-17012-12762746846814_thumb.jpg

colour a bit darker in real life

wonder if i got pro camera like you guys how it will be like lol.

pics taken just after they were placed in... now the polyps are more extended

sluurrrrrppppp!!!!!! SWEE!

purple millie?? damn nice hor.

eh, i also bought some secret stash tonight... but too late to take pix. Share with you tomorrow when the lights are on.

btw: you saw my fs thread?? am releasing more LPS... woo hoo.. going to stock more SPS liao. time to measure Calcium (oppps).

i held back on a lot of fishes today.

they all look so nice :<

well MEXICO could have helped me on that!

thanks vtec bro... sorry cant help you with the wrasse man.

anyway, i'll be testing parameters tmrw... But just realised i didnt buy a new kH test kit. Anyway, if i have some time, gotta go buy new one tomorrow.

Mossrope: i got a few milli earlier too, one of them could be a sunset (small frag though). Got a total of 4 pieces. :)

this is a very good link.

if you do not fall asleep reading it that is.

Calcium, KH, Mag

with it u get a lot of things covered.

but i realised trace seems very important(for sps) which i do not really use.

Very good read indeed. Nope I'm not asleep yet, but half way thru I almost did. I forgot to tell u I flunked biology.

Will read it tmrw morning when the contractor fix up the new fans. :)

fans again? how many fans you get in a room.

cause my chiller down i am freezing myself for my sps.

i pretty much hate air con but ironically when the chiller is up i will need the air con again ><

yesterday's purchases

Are these the one that i saw you get? Nice! oh the sps i told you about. Its dead long gone. So long kinder surprise

fans again? how many fans you get in a room.

cause my chiller down i am freezing myself for my sps.

i pretty much hate air con but ironically when the chiller is up i will need the air con again ><

precisely! AGAIN! the contractor cou;dn't finish last Sat lah.

I'm installing 5, one in each room + living and dining. i also dunno why im installing in bedrooms when there's airon also...

how can anyone hate aircon?? it's my 'invention' of the century!

anyway, i cannot liao, gotta go kooning le... talk to you guys tmrw...

Are these the one that i saw you get? Nice! oh the sps i told you about. Its dead long gone. So long kinder surprise

yeah those were. and :< :< :< @ expired kinder surprise. my chiller dont go up fast enough i will be the expired kinder surprise.

precisely! AGAIN! the contractor cou;dn't finish last Sat lah.

I'm installing 5, one in each room + living and dining. i also dunno why im installing in bedrooms when there's airon also...

how can anyone hate aircon?? it's my 'invention' of the century!

anyway, i cannot liao, gotta go kooning le... talk to you guys tmrw...

i dont know man.. too army trained maybe.

yesterday's purchases

nice catch bro.....

find one day I try capturing your SPS on my camera :)

Live reporting from Iwarna. Still have nice zoas and red mushies. Blue mushies. Lots flame angels, true percs. Have nice softies too.

did u get anything wilson?

the stocks must be very lousy (or im really in a rush) if i leave LFS empty handed bro.

haha.

alot of things to buy, but i only got 2 LS.

1) Flame Angel

2) soft coral, orange/red with gradually coloured blue stem. purple polyps

3) NSW

4) Magic top up water

5) test kit (KH)

the zoas and mushies are really nice, but i have space limitations now... i wanted to buy a true perc (the female died recently after being attacked repeatedly by the leopard wrasse). but i guess, until i sort out the leopard, no point buying a new one.

so today, will be operation kill the leopard!

the stocks must be very lousy (or im really in a rush) if i leave LFS empty handed bro.

haha.

alot of things to buy, but i only got 2 LS.

1) Flame Angel

2) soft coral, orange/red with gradually coloured blue stem. purple polyps

3) NSW

4) Magic top up water

5) test kit (KH)

the zoas and mushies are really nice, but i have space limitations now... i wanted to buy a true perc (the female died recently after being attacked repeatedly by the leopard wrasse). but i guess, until i sort out the leopard, no point buying a new one.

so today, will be operation kill the leopard!

I am sure you heard of some incidents this week where reefers bought nsw and there seems to be some remnants oil residue in them still causing skimmer to malfunction and loss of livestock.

Irwana's water might be ok though. just a heads up for you.

Hey wilson, my splendid suffers from such pms bouts too. V. peaceful and fun to watch fish, but every now and then, will get pms and start a fight with fishes it deems to be bulliable. So far, that includes my flame wrasse, male and female lyretails. Nothing as serious as chasing and the occasional nipping though. Hope you sort out the leopard soon!

yeah... kinda heard abt the skimmer not 'working'... went over to iwarna earlier and realised that they changed the water container. I believe should be okie lah.

took 1 jerry can for water change, keeping fingers crossed.

pix of new stuff coming up shortly.