MbmC's 24" x 20" x 20"

MbmC

ABout the stand yes i say stop and change but abt JM i dun agree.They are the sponsors around here and u say it very loudly over here.My goodness try and shout in their shop.Hmm the saturday all i noe the tank is on the floor.

But i'm telling the true, They did try to earn extra money and they are not honest. I believe what they say because I was a beginer two years ago, but now I think I'm a successful marnie fish keeper. jm is the one who told me reefmax salt is a better brand than Redsea, Tropicalmarine. if now they told me this I know they try to cheating people.They told me after mix salt with water can put liverock directly(then my tank very smelling after 2 days) They are also the one tell me buy their quick start system can put in fish after one week. I used the quick start system so I know how good it is.(Better test No2 oftenly in 2 weeks time) Will the lao jiao believe? In jm if the fish cannt last longer , they sell at a very low price. so dont buy. Anyway ,i just want beginner know more about JM. Of course businessman should earn money, but please dont cheat beginer.

• Replies 165

Any kind of smart business should be open to honest customer feedback and improve on their customer service as the basis of continued business based on customer happiness and goodwill.

Short-term business gains based on shortchanging customers always lose out in the end.... trust me.... I still get pissed off when I think about a certain LFS who shortchanged me a spoilt pump that was clearly under warranty many years ago. -_-

Ok. I have to put this very tactfully. I don't want to offend anyone as I have a long long way to go in this hobby, and I still need guidance. But I think I'm going to call BS on this one. I'm not affiliated to JM and neither do I feel the need to stand up for them, but I think if you're gonna make claims online, you need to be able to back yourself up.

Jireh Quick Start

Look at this link. Click on it and you'll be brought to the first post by JM advertising the quick start system. That was April 6 2007. Bro CMF claims he bought the system 2 years ago, at the latest that would be January 2006, or 15 months before the first post. And besides the patent date for the system is Feb 2007.

I'll believe what I choose to...

Julian

Hey Bro, last sat i went to jm i saw your tank on the floor, I'm so sorry to say that you are another beginner that cheated by jm. They are very bad merchant who always cheat beginner so that then can earn so much money.The system is $188, think twice you will know how can a plastic box with a pharm worth $188? that is ho they cheat people.I was also a beginner two year ago so i bought that system because i believe that the system was as good as the boss told me. after a week i known that was not possible set up a tank use that system. I fell i was so stupid to believe them.

She must told you that first day you mix salt with water then put in liverock, if you do that after 3 days you will know how smelling is your tank, she also say her salt is the best ask people to buy the 'ABC". I can tell you that all that kind of "yao fen" she import from Thailand and repack themself then sell to us ,you can go to internet check there is no "reefmax" such brand!Last time she ask me to buy the ph tester instead of no2, no3, she say once your ph is ok then everything will be ok. after one week i must test no2 before put in any fish, but she say no need, you know why she say so? because the ph tester worth 75 dollars,while the no2 tester is only $15.

mY SUGGESTIONS to you is take out the two bloody system because the back glass cant take it ,there is about 20litre water inside the system. make hole on you tank and add a sub tank below that will be best.

buy 2 seio 620 enough for your tank to make current flow, because now no flow in your tank.and dont use the reefmax salt , because the reefmax salt no2 is very high.

Do not trust them anymore study your self from forum is a doog way to improve because we are fish lover not fish killer that only want to earn money.

Haha, dont give up bro! I was just like how are you feeling now before, after a few years you will be a lao jiao bird. My another suggestion is take out the sand. your tank can put in small fish 10-20 and some Lps no problem, but sps cannot.

Why not take out the two system, take out the rock, water, then ask people to divide your tank as front and behind.Behind divide into four part. 1water in 2 put in a skimmer(you can buy a small and slim one about $35, 3 put the things as you put inside the jreh system 4 parm water out. This is also a very popular design. jireh' system put the skimer at first is totally wrong. jireh's skimer very noisy.

I did consider the option of partitioning off the tank at the back. And for that I was quoted $350.00 at another LFS for 6mm glass for a tank with the same dimensions. 6mm thick glass for a tank 20" high. I think I'm luckier I didn't go with that option coz 6mm would probably have burst.

I'm not quite sure what u mean when u say having the skimmer at first is totally wrong? Could I clarify that point? I thought all skimmers go into the first chamber of any sump tank?

sorry for the upper caps... at least i got some important attention of yours... 200kg on that stand is extremely dangerous, not only the water, but might harm someone when it topples, please do something about it..

anyway, i suppose you stay in the west thats why you go to JM?

there is ML which is a great great LFS with one of the most knowledgable reefer around..

i have no complaints about them (JM), and they have pretty good species of fishes that feed and stay alive,, pretty good set up, i must say.

Just that i look goondo goodo (stupid stupid) and they always try to outsmart me with some simple information and prices of stuff..

not that i am very lao jiao, but have read and practised enough to know what they are saying, trying to say, and trying not to say...

just have to be careful and try to read more will get you into better positions in time to come..

also. why not the skimmer in the first compartment.. well, it can work for or against, as there are plenty of detritus in the first compartment, some like to have a first course of filtration which is the filter wool.. then to the skimmer. some even practise direct to skimmer if the flowrate is well balance, not right or wrong, just different belief, but just to add, having some wool will help keep the skimmer slightly cleaner (heavy detritus whatever they are will tend to stay at the bottom of the skimmer and foaming doesn't lift them) ..

my 2 cents..

custom made a 2 ft cube tank at glass maker with gd US silicon n abt 8mm glass with back partition only cost u abt $200+ at glass maker...

initially i wanted to make one on my own but found e same another reefer selling .e same thing....

i neber took pics of my tank but e setup is really simple 1st stage a black course wool filter,then NW octopus skimmer then hydor return pump... only invest in e skimmer heng e footprint can go into e back of my tank..

what u can do now mayb u can consider a in tank skimmer like prizm.. got some other brands also but i cant remb e name...

seriously speaking dun wait on e buying e new stand or cabinet part...

custom made a 2 ft cube tank at glass maker with gd US silicon n abt 8mm glass with back partition only cost u abt $200+ at glass maker...

initially i wanted to make one on my own but found e same another reefer selling .e same thing....

i neber took pics of my tank but e setup is really simple 1st stage a black course wool filter,then NW octopus skimmer then hydor return pump... only invest in e skimmer heng e footprint can go into e back of my tank..

what u can do now mayb u can consider a in tank skimmer like prizm.. got some other brands also but i cant remb e name...

seriously speaking dun wait on e buying e new stand or cabinet part...

Yes sir! I definitely keep that i mind... :thanks:

So that's what I meant as well. I got my tank at an ok price. But another rather famous LFS quoted me $350 for the same thing with thinner glass. So who was really out to cheat people? But hey, this thread isn't about the merits of LFS. This is about my tank :D

Ok. I have to put this very tactfully. I don't want to offend anyone as I have a long long way to go in this hobby, and I still need guidance. But I think I'm going to call BS on this one. I'm not affiliated to JM and neither do I feel the need to stand up for them, but I think if you're gonna make claims online, you need to be able to back yourself up.

Jireh Quick Start

Look at this link. Click on it and you'll be brought to the first post by JM advertising the quick start system. That was April 6 2007. Bro CMF claims he bought the system 2 years ago, at the latest that would be January 2006, or 15 months before the first post. And besides the patent date for the system is Feb 2007.

I'll believe what I choose to...

Julian

You are right.Maybe this is a plan of sabotage or some multinickers.Or some other owners of LFS.two years ago i'll take it as 2005 since it is still early in the year.And about the thing i still say it is quite cheap without sump.BTW did u transfer the stuffs???JM stuff all healthy what.Went there kept on updating their stocks.Even their coral i got now expand.I am not at any side but for the justice of this shop,dun try sabo other people's business if u dun wan other people to sabo u.

girlone.png

Haha...not stressed lah. I've been doing loads of reading, and trying to assimilate all the knowledge. Learning is like that right? Sometimes you learn useful things, other times you learn things that you try and put away somewhere else.

Important thing is to know what things are useful and what isn't. Initially when I decided to start a marine tank, it was the colours in the reef that attracted me. Now, as I go deeper and deeper into this, I'm more and more enthralled by the science of it all. Because of my work, I have to deal with biology a lot. And being solely responsible for the homeostasis within a tank environment is enpowering. :D

:eyebrow:

Haha...not stressed lah. I've been doing loads of reading, and trying to assimilate all the knowledge. Learning is like that right? Sometimes you learn useful things, other times you learn things that you try and put away somewhere else.

Important thing is to know what things are useful and what isn't. Initially when I decided to start a marine tank, it was the colours in the reef that attracted me. Now, as I go deeper and deeper into this, I'm more and more enthralled by the science of it all. Because of my work, I have to deal with biology a lot. And being solely responsible for the homeostasis within a tank environment is enpowering. :D

:eyebrow:

Same.I love chemistry.BTW any FTS yet???

girlone.png

Same.I love chemistry.BTW any FTS yet???

Dude, my tank only 1 week old! Have been watching my parameters.

Temp, pH, Salinity all stable

Ammonia <0.25 last 3 days

Nitrite 0

Nitrate 5ppm

I'm gonna try and add some LS soon. Will still watch the parameters carefully. Have been adding the necessary additives, and will do the necessary water changes.

I seem to be developing some of that brown algae in the tank. Nitrate only 5ppm, so I'm thinking it might be the fact that the tank gets natural light through the day, and my tank lighting is on at night. So the amount of light the tank gets is actually quite a lot.

Nitrite 0

Nitrate 5ppm

I'm gonna try and add some LS soon. Will still watch the parameters carefully. Have been adding the necessary additives, and will do the necessary water changes.

I seem to be developing some of that brown algae in the tank. Nitrate only 5ppm, so I'm thinking it might be the fact that the tank gets natural light through the day, and my tank lighting is on at night. So the amount of light the tank gets is actually quite a lot.

it is a little strange that your readings have no nitrite with ammonia and nitrate, anyway, check that your testers are working.

i would advise you to run a FR aggressively at the start to counter the phosphate from the rocks, and i hope you are using a DI unit for your salt mix.

which is critical as local tap water has little quantities in nitrate and phosphate..

Nitrite 0

Nitrate 5ppm

Well i want to see if u have made any updates on rocks or equipments.I was thinking of having the quickstart cause my tank is placed on a lower level of the stand.And algae is floating on top of the water.Hmm what kind of salt u use???

girlone.png

it is a little strange that your readings have no nitrite with ammonia and nitrate, anyway, check that your testers are working.

i would advise you to run a FR aggressively at the start to counter the phosphate from the rocks, and i hope you are using a DI unit for your salt mix.

which is critical as local tap water has little quantities in nitrate and phosphate..

About that ammonia readings. <0.25 is the lowest the Salifert test kits go. You can verify that with anyone using the Salifert test kits. So in all honesty, I think my tank has little or no ammonia. I checked with the guys at Reef Depot. They also confirm this anomaly.

I just ran a PO4 test (Salifert), and readings are 0...i was surprised too :D I'm using All-zorb from JM...

Well i want to see if u have made any updates on rocks or equipments.I was thinking of having the quickstart cause my tank is placed on a lower level of the stand.And algae is floating on top of the water.Hmm what kind of salt u use???

The only piece of equipment I've added is the Tunze 6025. And I just changed the airstones in one of the quickstart skimmers as the bubbles did not look as fine as the other one. Looking much much better now. I used JM's reefmax salt. Despite claims that Reefmax does not exist as a brand, it can be found as a sponsor in a US forum. Good or not, I cannot comment, as this is the first product I'm trying.

I might be crucified here for doing this. I just added the following LS to the tank this morning.

1 silverstreak anthia (female)

1 sandsifter starfish

1 small zoa frag

1 small mushroom frag (3 polyps)

At time of posting I just ran water tests again

Temp 27.1

pH 8.4

SG 1.024

NH4 < 0.25

NO2 0ppm

NO3 5ppm

Ca 410

PO4 0ppm

dKH 9.6

Anthia has come out of hiding and is feeding ferociously now. It seems to like swimming against the current in the flow created by the Tunze.

Mushrooms have opened up and extending, mouths are open. Zoas have fully extended.

Have placed the zoas in a moderate flow area at the top tank level, while the mushrooms are at mid-tank level in a low flow slipstream area. Starfish has managed to bury itself in the sand and all I can see are 2 legs.

I'll post a few pictures in a few days.

By the way, if you are thinking of using the quickstart, and seriously, despite reservations of senior reefers, it seems to have served my purpose thus far. I know it will limit the possibilities in my tank in the future, but for now, I'm happy with the way the 2 units are working.

But there is one thing I'm not too happy about. The pumps provided with the system are 400l/hour pumps. Now that's al the flow I have in my tank, so that adds up to 800l/hour. My tank is a 140l tank, which means I only have 5.7 water changes per hour. Now that's below than the recommended 6-10 times per hour for a reef tank. And that's not considering the resistance within the tubes.

Which means I'm on the lookout for pumps with a small enough footprint and give me at least 8 water changes an hour. That'll workout to at least 600l/hour per pump.

Any bros out there can recommend pumps with a footprint of 3"x2" and can meet my requirements? Of course, the more powerful the pump the better :eyebrow:

About that ammonia readings. <0.25 is the lowest the Salifert test kits go. You can verify that with anyone using the Salifert test kits. So in all honesty, I think my tank has little or no ammonia. I checked with the guys at Reef Depot. They also confirm this anomaly.

I just ran a PO4 test (Salifert), and readings are 0...i was surprised too :D I'm using All-zorb from JM...

no, i think you got me wrong, bro.

i mean there should be some nitrite, if i'm not wrong, in the cycling stage.. or is it you've done cycling?

since got livestock liao then don't bother my kay-poh.. :upsidedown:

no, i think you got me wrong, bro.

i mean there should be some nitrite, if i'm not wrong, in the cycling stage.. or is it you've done cycling?

since got livestock liao then don't bother my kay-poh.. :upsidedown:

Actually I did understand you. You were wondering how come I have ammonia but no nitrite, and yet I have nitrate (NO3) correct? It seems as if my ANN cycle skipped the centre N stage!

But that raises two points!

1. Salifert test kits cannot show 0 ammonia. Only a range of <0.25. So my tank could have 0 ammonia and I wouldn't have a clue.

2. I suspect my tank is done cycling. Despite the short period of time, the live sand, live rocks, and addition of nitrifying bacteria might have helped to kickstart the process.

But having said that, the tank is still new, so I still have to be careful with adding LS!

The anthia is doing well, eating pellets and Henry's fishfood. I'm worried I'll be overzealous with the feeding and end up overfeeding.

The mushroom is opening well, largest polyp about 3" now, with 3 other smaller polyps about 1-2" and one small baby polyp. Only problem is signs of bleaching at the small polyp that is closest to the light and receiving direct light.

Zoas are extending well, and flouresceing very nicely. No complains there.

Only problem is the starfish! Disengaged the tip of one leg, I think I might have injured it while placing a rock on top of the sand without knowing it was right underneath!

My first mushroom! Under blue lighting and full lighting at the sand bed

DSC_0163.jpg

DSC_0164.jpg

This is day 4 of livestock and all is looking good.

Had a short spike of ammonia, but now NH3 and NO2 all 0. NO3 at 5ppm still. I'm still having a blooming algae problem. Gonna add turbo snails, maybe an algae blenny.

Hey there,

I am using Reefmax too.. so far so good.. it's been 4 months since we started on our little tank and although we had 2 casulaties in the 1st week, right now it's doing fine. I had upgraded the lights I had from JM to T5 lights (reefdepot) which definitely made the corals stand out allot better.

We didn't get the stand from JM but we bought a long cabinet from Vhive that doubled up as storage space for all the stuff as well as other barang barang we were throwing around our dining room! Of course if we upgrade to a bigger tank, we'd definitely get a customised stand to withstand the weight.

how much of the reefmax Part A to F do you put into your tank? Every alternate day, I put aprox 1/4 of the spoon for the Calcium/Mg/trace and Bicarbonate and just do a quick squirt of the iodine and strotonium into the tank (aprox 60-70L). To control the nitrate level, fellow reefers here have advised me to use AZ NO3. I just started using AZ NO3 from Sunday and I can PM you if the stuff works bringing down my nitrate level as all other parameters are within acceptable range.

To control Algae, I have a Tomini Tang which JM recommended to help eat the algae.. and I remember the first week we had him, he was having a feast eating up everything in sight. =P And best part.. this tang is "corner-trained"... as in he poops in a specific corner and not all over the tank. So it's VERY Easy for us to clear his poop!

We have the same skimmer I think.. uses wooden blocks below right? How long does your blocks last? I realise that mine last only about 2 weeks before I have to change it already otherwise the skimmer is just not skimming at all.

:) Desi

Cheers, ;)

Desi

Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding...

The only piece of equipment I've added is the Tunze 6025. And I just changed the airstones in one of the quickstart skimmers as the bubbles did not look as fine as the other one. Looking much much better now. I used JM's reefmax salt. Despite claims that Reefmax does not exist as a brand, it can be found as a sponsor in a US forum. Good or not, I cannot comment, as this is the first product I'm trying.

I might be crucified here for doing this. I just added the following LS to the tank this morning.

1 silverstreak anthia (female)

1 sandsifter starfish

1 small zoa frag

1 small mushroom frag (3 polyps)

At time of posting I just ran water tests again

Temp 27.1

pH 8.4

SG 1.024

NH4 < 0.25

NO2 0ppm

NO3 5ppm

Ca 410

PO4 0ppm

dKH 9.6

Anthia has come out of hiding and is feeding ferociously now. It seems to like swimming against the current in the flow created by the Tunze.

Mushrooms have opened up and extending, mouths are open. Zoas have fully extended.

Have placed the zoas in a moderate flow area at the top tank level, while the mushrooms are at mid-tank level in a low flow slipstream area. Starfish has managed to bury itself in the sand and all I can see are 2 legs.

I'll post a few pictures in a few days.

Ya but i forgot the name of the name of the forum.Reef something.

Actually I did understand you. You were wondering how come I have ammonia but no nitrite, and yet I have nitrate (NO3) correct? It seems as if my ANN cycle skipped the centre N stage!

But that raises two points!

1. Salifert test kits cannot show 0 ammonia. Only a range of <0.25. So my tank could have 0 ammonia and I wouldn't have a clue.

2. I suspect my tank is done cycling. Despite the short period of time, the live sand, live rocks, and addition of nitrifying bacteria might have helped to kickstart the process.

But having said that, the tank is still new, so I still have to be careful with adding LS!

The anthia is doing well, eating pellets and Henry's fishfood. I'm worried I'll be overzealous with the feeding and end up overfeeding.

The mushroom is opening well, largest polyp about 3" now, with 3 other smaller polyps about 1-2" and one small baby polyp. Only problem is signs of bleaching at the small polyp that is closest to the light and receiving direct light.

Zoas are extending well, and flouresceing very nicely. No complains there.

Only problem is the starfish! Disengaged the tip of one leg, I think I might have injured it while placing a rock on top of the sand without knowing it was right underneath!

Well my tank also skip the nitrite onli show a small presence then gone withing a week.

My first fish! Hungry little bugger...

DSC_0162.jpg

Wah u very daring ah.Put anthias in ur new tank.I haven even own an anthias.Scared later die.

girlone.png

Hey there,

I am using Reefmax too.. so far so good.. it's been 4 months since we started on our little tank and although we had 2 casulaties in the 1st week, right now it's doing fine. I had upgraded the lights I had from JM to T5 lights (reefdepot) which definitely made the corals stand out allot better.

We didn't get the stand from JM but we bought a long cabinet from Vhive that doubled up as storage space for all the stuff as well as other barang barang we were throwing around our dining room! Of course if we upgrade to a bigger tank, we'd definitely get a customised stand to withstand the weight.

how much of the reefmax Part A to F do you put into your tank? Every alternate day, I put aprox 1/4 of the spoon for the Calcium/Mg/trace and Bicarbonate and just do a quick squirt of the iodine and strotonium into the tank (aprox 60-70L). To control the nitrate level, fellow reefers here have advised me to use AZ NO3. I just started using AZ NO3 from Sunday and I can PM you if the stuff works bringing down my nitrate level as all other parameters are within acceptable range.

To control Algae, I have a Tomini Tang which JM recommended to help eat the algae.. and I remember the first week we had him, he was having a feast eating up everything in sight. =P And best part.. this tang is "corner-trained"... as in he poops in a specific corner and not all over the tank. So it's VERY Easy for us to clear his poop!

We have the same skimmer I think.. uses wooden blocks below right? How long does your blocks last? I realise that mine last only about 2 weeks before I have to change it already otherwise the skimmer is just not skimming at all.

:) Desi

Yeah, just 2 of the simple JM skimmers with the airstones. Mine are working very well. But I watch closely the bubble size and skimming levels, changed one set of airstones as I wasn't happy with the bubbles produced. Now much better.

I will probably does every other day as well, with half scoop of the additives. I'm not so keen to use AZ-NO3, seems like some people here had problems with fish dying after an overdose. Just take care not to give too much!

For the algae problem, I've added quite a number of critters :D scarlet hermit crabs, turbo snails, and recently an algae bleeny (my favourite guy right now)...