Powder blue Tang Experiment!

zipp86

This experiment I started today is from a series of failures with the powder blue tang. So far, all my past experiences, 3 so far, led to ich attack on my powder and eventually death. Based on my good experience with Dr. Basslers Biofish and New life spectrum food and also zoecon from kent, i am going to attempt keeping this guy again but in a slightly different way.

Day 1, bought from Ah bengs for $18. A 3 inch specimen. Healthy, and no obvious signs of disease. Good news, started eating today!! fed him already with New life spectrum and biofish pellets eriched ith zoecon. :) He doesnt appear to be too stressed by the enclosure too :) Things are looking good:) hope it will stay that way. sorry for blur pic, using hp camera..

post-54-1195729804.jpg

This experiment I started today is from a series of failures with the powder blue tang. So far, all my past experiences, 3 so far, led to ich attack on my powder and eventually death. Based on my good experience with Dr. Basslers Biofish and New life spectrum food and also zoecon from kent, i am going to attempt keeping this guy again but in a slightly different way.

Day 1, bought from Ah bengs for $18. A 3 inch specimen. Healthy, and no obvious signs of disease. Good news, started eating today!! fed him already with New life spectrum and biofish pellets eriched ith zoecon. :) He doesnt appear to be too stressed by the enclosure too :) Things are looking good:) hope it will stay that way. sorry for blur pic, using hp camera..

jia you !! All the best.

I presume ya nv QT it?

yup, never QT, my QT now the water is quite jia lat, and im too lazy too change.. hehe.. call me the lazy reefer:)

once got any sign of whitespot i will remove the fella liaoz.. my other fishes are immune to whitespot, that day 1 new fish kena den died but everyone else still fat and happy.. new fish died cuz didnt eat... but anyway, all the best to my fishy now!!! now he starts to eat like pig.. hohoho.. i will feed it nth but the best:)

This experiment is to prove how food can be a viable factor in preventing ich:)

hmmmm... i dunno cuz i still keeping it in the betta box...

actualy new life spectrum got very good reputation. Go see their website.. if you think its biased, check out wetwebmedia, one of the best marine fishkeeping FAQ around and they support New Life Spectrm alot.. The owner kept his tank for 7 years liao, only feeding new life spectrum, all his fishes fat and healthy~!!

reefers dun use new life spectrum cuz its pretty $$$ and not so well known in SG yet.. try it, it works:)

hmmmm... i dunno cuz i still keeping it in the betta box...

actualy new life spectrum got very good reputation. Go see their website.. if you think its biased, check out wetwebmedia, one of the best marine fishkeeping FAQ around and they support New Life Spectrm alot.. The owner kept his tank for 7 years liao, only feeding new life spectrum, all his fishes fat and healthy~!!

reefers dun use new life spectrum cuz its pretty $$$ and not so well known in SG yet.. try it, it works:)

Read that one before.Now i noe why New Life Spectrum foods is expensive.

girlone.png

hi, project PBT is.......... not successful, like i predicted, he contacted whitespots, so now i place in QT. seems for sensative fishes like PBT, good diet is not enought, QT is still very impt.. thanks all for viewing!!:)

I still maitain that the pellets are really good, superb quality,worth every cent:)

showing no sign of stress

This is true especially when the Cryptocaryon irritans is free-swimming or better known as theront stage.

contacted whitespots

Now the Cryptocaryon irritans is in theronts stage whereby the need to find a host within 24 hours or they would die and unfortunately, your PBT has these parasite attached to its skin and gills.

Carrying out Hyposalinity treatment is the best and effective way of eradicating Cryptocaryon irritans in my opinion/experience.

just my exprience with tangs. have kept several tangs while i am in this hobby, i realise that if you aclimatize your tang properly, the chances of it getting white spot is alot lower ( take 1 hour ) i have a blue tang, powder blue and gold rim tang from the first day of introduction until now, no signs of white spot.