Teco Micro Chiller

[P]owder Blue

Just checking whether any reefers using one too? I have use this chiller for almost 1 year now for my 2 footer. I dun know whether I want to put the blame on the recent hot weather, but it seems the chiller cannot maintain on my desired temperature at 26 degrees anymore... always hitting the 28 degrees mark recently. :cry2:

any advice? Currently my chiller is running on a flow of 600 litres/hr. My 2 footer is running on 2 x 36 watts PL, one eheim canister, one eden 214 powerhead & one resun internal power filter...

Garan, if I am not wrong (pls correct me if I do), my chiller is running 1/10 only. My chiller is not running on refrigerant gas, thus is it possible to send it for servicing? If so, how do I go about doing that? (i.e where to send to). :):thanks:

Clownfish, if say this chiller really gone case liao, is the RA200 suitable for my tank? Will it be a overkill? :thanks:

Hi powder blue, sorry to make you misunderstood that i am using the same type of chiller, i am using the other type, it just that i suggest to sent your chiller for svc not only for the gas but there lots of other factor will bring down the performent of your chiller ie, colling fan stiff in rotation, air intake filter choke etc, i am not a expert, so i sent to those that svc air-con to check it for me (svc my house air con contractor). hope it can help. Sorry.

garan, dun apologise! :lol: you have provide me valuable information - now at least I know the aircon contractor can also do the job. Before hand I am still wondering where to send it for servicing. Will try to get it fixed, or else my fishes will lodge a complaint for the heat :P:lol:

If the problem still persist, most likely I will opt for an upgrade. Any model to recommend? Thanks once again! :thanks:

No problem, as long the info help would be great, we are in the same big family. if you had budget control (like me) i will recom you the resun chiller family, although the comment is that it bit noisy, but it still serve the funtion well, the thread on resun chiller: http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=5991

On the other hand, one of the sponser for SRC- reef relief chiiler had a very high comment from the members, the thread: http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...&hl=reef+relief

Hope it help you out.

Powder, I believe the Teco Micro is a thermoelectric chiller and does not use refrigerent. Not sure if the A/C man can help. You might want to check with the distributor here in SG. You may also contact the manufacturer directly for feedback/ideas on what to do or how to troubleshoot.

Have you added any new pumps/powerheads/lights lately that would cause the temp increase?

Personally, for my 2ft (2x1.5x1.5), I'm using the Teco TW4 (RA240). For cooling, IMO, the more powerful the better... although the TW2 would have probably sufficed for my tank. I got mine 2nd hand from a fellow reefer... so far so good.

Thanks Garan & Danano!! :lol::thanks:

I will probably go for an upgrade. Most likely will choose the same Teco series, coz I am sleeping just beside my current chiller! :lol: Will not want a too noisy chiller to disturb my sleep. :snore:

One last question, is the RA/CA 200 compatible also? My tank dimension is 24X14X16 inches. :)

owder Blue,Nov 16 2003, 11:16 PM] Thanks Garan & Danano!! :lol::thanks:

I will probably go for an upgrade. Most likely will choose the same Teco series, coz I am sleeping just beside my current chiller! :lol: Will not want a too noisy chiller to disturb my sleep. :snore:

One last question, is the RA/CA 200 compatible also? My tank dimension is 24X14X16 inches. :)

my RA200 is working fine on my 3ft, dun worry ;)

anyways, i dun tink ur chiller is gone case lah.... maybe can find out whether there's any ways to service it.... maybe from the LFS u bought from?

u may also wan to try playin ard with ur flowrates cos mine seems to work more efficiently when i use a slower rate :)

Most likely will choose the same Teco series, coz I am sleeping just beside my current chiller!  Will not want a too noisy chiller to disturb my sleep. 

[P]owder Blue,

Sorry to disappoint you, the noise level of the compressor model of any brand will be higher than the Teco Micro. :D

I guess you have to up-grade your chiller. Playing around with a slower flow rate is unlikely to yield any positive result. Your local air-con service man will not able to service it either. :nc: Maybe I could service it, but it might not be worth the cost. :heh:

The closest to solving the problem is go back to Aquatechnic to get the tec-plate in the chiller changed. Also, the exchanger in the chiller might have clogged up and may need to be changed. So the costs......