Skimmer

Froggy

After much thought and consideration, i'm in the process of getting a custom tank and cabinet with sump built. Due to limited space in my room and i love mini/nano reef tanks, the display tank is abt 20inch (L) 12" (W) 18" (H), with a slightly smaller lengthed sump abt 18".

I'm kena in a bundle deciding which is a good skimmer to go into that tiny sump. Tunze has the smallest foot print, but i was wondering what else be able to fit in there. I can reduce the size of the sump to put in a external skimmer. No HOBs .All help is very much apreciated. Thank you...

After much thought and consideration, i'm in the process of getting a custom tank and cabinet with sump built. Due to limited space in my room and i love mini/nano reef tanks, the display tank is abt 20inch (L) 12" (W) 18" (H), with a slightly smaller lengthed sump abt 18".

I'm kena in a bundle deciding which is a good skimmer to go into that tiny sump. Tunze has the smallest foot print, but i was wondering what else be able to fit in there. I can reduce the size of the sump to put in a external skimmer. No HOBs .All help is very much apreciated. Thank you...

Hi bro,

Beside Tunze there is also Aqua C Remora which can be used in sump as well and it also have a small footprint.

HTH ;)

Arent the Remora and the MCE300 Hang ons? Currently using a prizm, looking for something of a different design.

Hi bro,

Yes, Remora is indeed a HOB, AquaC in fact have another model called Urchin which is a In-Sump model which resemble Remora just that cannot hang.

I unsure of your reasons for not choosing HOB, thus suggested Remora as it can be used In-Sump as well.

Anyway, good luck on your search for a skimmer that meet your needs. Do update us your eventual choice.

I find HOB skimmers without the tall reaction chambers unable to skim well. Just my opinion.

Pretty limited in selection, due to size of sump. Was thinking grotech or tunze, or even a reef octopus. Anyone has experience with Grotech HEA080/HEA110s or reef octopus DNW 110??

I wouldn't purchase a skimmer base on design. I would purchase a skimmer by ease of use and is practical ( should work very efficiently ). Or in another term, plug and play. Where it comes from is the second option to look for.

Hammy was using a MCE600 for his 2ft, you could ask him how that skimmer performance was. I've seen it at his place before.

I wouldn't purchase a skimmer base on design. I would purchase a skimmer by ease of use and is practical ( should work very efficiently ). Or in another term, plug and play. Where it comes from is the second option to look for.

Hammy was using a MCE600 for his 2ft, you could ask him how that skimmer performance was. I've seen it at his place before.

The MCE 600 is one of the best equipment i have after trying out so many.

from weipro to prizm to biostar flotor to deltec, the MCE 600 give mi the best performance and i can control my nutrient at greater ease.

to add on, i think the MCE 300 should be good for ur tank size and it is quite affordable.

footprint is small and very easy to use ... just that u have to be hardworking in clearing the cup. :)

i believe there are many happy MCE 600 users down here. the initial period where u adjust the height of the collection cup might be a pain in the ###### as u might find it overflow to the overflowing pipe, but this is not a prob after u know roughly what height to set for ur tank.

after the intial period, basically it is really plug and forget. i clean it overall with ezyclean once a year. that is it =)

for mi i rank

1) efficiency

2) quiet

3) ease of use

4) maintainence

to be the factors as i search for my nano skimmer.

good luck in ur search

if the MC 500 can fit ur sump, that is a good choice too =)

from weipro to prizm to biostar flotor to deltec, the MCE 600 give mi the best performance and i can control my nutrient at greater ease.

to add on, i think the MCE 300 should be good for ur tank size and it is quite affordable.

footprint is small and very easy to use ... just that u have to be hardworking in clearing the cup. :)

i believe there are many happy MCE 600 users down here. the initial period where u adjust the height of the collection cup might be a pain in the ###### as u might find it overflow to the overflowing pipe, but this is not a prob after u know roughly what height to set for ur tank.

after the intial period, basically it is really plug and forget. i clean it overall with ezyclean once a year. that is it =)

for mi i rank

1) efficiency

2) quiet

3) ease of use

4) maintainence

good luck in ur search

Pls advise what are the properties that you think better than other skimmers. Does it skim better? Less water and more dirt?

for mi i rank

1) efficiency

2) quiet

3) ease of use

4) maintainence

good luck in ur search

Hi Hammy,

Thanks for sharing your true experience with Weipro, Biostar and Deltec.

Been wanting to get myself a MCE just to gauge its performace against the Biostar for quite some time but just couldn't find the time to do so.

Thanks ;)

Gouldian, you should have seen the MCE600 when it was performing in Hammy's tank. I wouldn't doubt it's capability after seeing it for myself. If I could setup a 2ft without sump, the MCE600 will be my workhorse. Can forget about the AquaC Remora and Urchin. Read alot of complaint at RC.

Hi BFG,

Remora is not so bad lah, just that after the introduction of needlewheel it simply loose out in terms of performance.

In fact, if you remember 2/3 years ago most of us and even the American were singing praises to Aqua C and Jason Kim. :lol:

I am really tempted to really get it to do my little experiment, will be looking camping at pasar malam for good offers liao.

The MCE300/600 are hang on external skimmers, dont think it can hang on the sump with the cabinet. Hmmm... I wonder MC500, will fit sitting inside the sump and ease of removal for cleaning..

Will these skimmers be over-rated for my tank, 100L total volume. Worried cant sustain foaming as over sized.. I plan to keep, 4 small fish and some LPS only.

Hi Bro,

I have tried Tunze 9015 and find its performance quite decent. Which Tunze model your considering for this set-up?

Hi BFG,

Remora is not so bad lah, just that after the introduction of needlewheel it simply loose out in terms of performance.

In fact, if you remember 2/3 years ago most of us and even the American were singing praises to Aqua C and Jason Kim. :lol:

I am really tempted to really get it to do my little experiment, will be looking camping at pasar malam for good offers liao.

Yup, I remembered, even bought a Urchin but never use. Now using Deltec APF600, the Urchin too small for my present setup. Oh well, if a nano project comes along at least I have a spare skimmer to use.

Spoken to the ppl at AM, apparently Tunze is changing the pump design for their DOC skimmers. Estimated arrival late Oct. or Nov.

The more i do research on skimmers, the more confussed i am.. So many models, difference in opinions and off course the $$$ Vs performance.

Further more, my experience with weipro and red sea prizm kinda un-nerved me. i'm worried if i spend 400-600 on a skimmer and i cant get it to skim properly/well, either thru tuning or the product, money is wasted. :(:cry2:

How abt ya can pop by some reefers and see their skimmer in action.

Thus, can decide the model easier?

The MCE300/600 are hang on external skimmers, dont think it can hang on the sump with the cabinet. Hmmm... I wonder MC500, will fit sitting inside the sump and ease of removal for cleaning..

Will these skimmers be over-rated for my tank, 100L total volume. Worried cant sustain foaming as over sized.. I plan to keep, 4 small fish and some LPS only.

I believe the Deltec hangons can also be used in the sump.

Check out http://www.theaquariumsolution.com/taxonom...m/14,15/%21feed

I am using the MCE600 as a hangon for my 3 feet for a few years now. Fully satisfied with it. ;) Cheers.

Spoken to the ppl at AM, apparently Tunze is changing the pump design for their DOC skimmers. Estimated arrival late Oct. or Nov.

The more i do research on skimmers, the more confussed i am.. So many models, difference in opinions and off course the $$$ Vs performance.

Hi Froggy,

I can understand your frustrations. Different people have different opinions of what works for them. That's why you will see some reefers buying skimmers after skimmer to get a first hand experience on the skimmer that will work for them.

For me, I am contented with my H&S insump skimmer but am constantly looking out for a good buy in Pasar Malam to test out other skimmers.

My advise is similar to Ah-lim, visit reefers who have the skimmer you intend to buy and judge the performance yourself.

HTH ;)