How do we select a healthy snail?

Volitan

from what i know, pick the ones that are stuck on the glass and not lying on the sandbed... this shows that the snail has strength to hold itself up.. makes sense but sounds stupid when i think abt it... :lol::lol::lol:

What I read is that the reasons many turbo snails cannot survive in tanks is because it is very very difficult to acclimize them.

Read that they take a super super long time and process to acclimize.

If someone has advice on keeping them I would really like to know too cause I've had very little success with turbo snails too.. :erm:

i just throw the snails i buy into the tank! :unsure::unsure: but all of them survived... :erm: hmmm i tried this and it works.. to pull a snail off anything, suddenly jerk it off, don't tug at it slowly or softly... it would tend to stink harder on whatever surface its on then if u pull any harder, u might injure the bugger. just pull hard the 1st time and it would come off easily... ;)

from what i know, pick the ones that are stuck on the glass and not lying on the sandbed... this shows that the snail has strength to hold itself up.. makes sense but sounds stupid when i think abt it... :lol::lol::lol:

Why sound stupid? I oso use this "concept" as a guide to choose. Maybe when I 1st bot, the snail still healthy, then health detoriated due to failure to acclimitise. :sick::sick:

What I read is that the reasons many turbo snails cannot survive in tanks is because it is very very difficult to acclimize them.

Read that they take a super super long time and process to acclimize.

If someone has advice on keeping them I would really like to know too cause I've had very little success with turbo snails too.. :erm:

snails should be hardy. take note of other LS in the tank. got hermit crab bo..?

btw, your avatar.. is it a lady..? tik I saw some..

i just throw the snails i buy into the tank! :unsure::unsure: but all of them survived... :erm: hmmm i tried this and it works.. to pull a snail off anything, suddenly jerk it off, don't tug at it slowly or softly... it would tend to stink harder on whatever surface its on then if u pull any harder, u might injure the bugger. just pull hard the 1st time and it would come off easily... ;)

Wah, pull hard the 1st time... I got try once, but very scary, cos the snail like want to drop off from the shell. :( So dare not try anymore.

no thats the shadow of her finger buaya.. eh i mean bwilly... :rolleyes:

thats a guy? either he is damn fat or..... :blink: what is the world coming to...

No no that's not a guy... It's a female necromancer (necromancess?) from Dungeons and Dragons.. another hobby of mine.. :lol:

But yeah.. about turbo snails.. goodness, I didn't know that they were supposed to be hardy..

Could they be dyin cause of the reef lobster in my tank (been keeping him for a year plus now) cause I just found out that those guys can actually hunt fish when they're big.. Hmmz..

Then I guess next time I get them I'll place them inside my other tank with the corals and lion fish.. :rolleyes:

Sikali....u eat sashimi........ :eyebrow:

errrr... yea fresh from your tank :lol:

it may seem like it's gonna drop of lah but it actually won't unless u yank at it really hard... :eyebrow:

No nid to rip the snail off the glasss..just slide it along the glass all the way to the top and it will come off.

I've had a turbo snail for 3 years already...rather immortal if u ask me.. B)

I bought some live rocks on Monday... and on Tuesday, I realised that a snail came together with the rock... he peeks out only at night. Interesting? Anyone can ID him? He blends in very well with the rock. Will he be harmful to my corals and fishes when I put them in? I am currently in the cycling process.

After u've bought the snails..try exposing them out of water for 10-15min to allow them in releasing salty fluid .. then stick them on the water line of ur tank.. ive tried this method and works..

other reasons why ur snails would die could be either ur calcium is too low or ur nirate is too high

I bought some live rocks on Monday... and on Tuesday, I realised that a snail came together with the rock... he peeks out only at night. Interesting? Anyone can ID him? He blends in very well with the rock. Will he be harmful to my corals and fishes when I put them in? I am currently in the cycling process.

Hmm... hitchhikers... I also have them, but they never seem to grow. Wonder if I am seeing the same snail, or different ones. <_<

After u've bought the snails..try exposing them out of water for 10-15min to allow them in releasing salty fluid .. then stick them on the water line of ur tank.. ive tried this method and works..

other reasons why ur snails would die could be either ur calcium is too low or ur nirate is too high

U mean snails can survive outside water?

ok ok I will try your method, man.. hope it works.. erm.. but could the reef lobter also be huntin them down n killin them?

Woohoo!! Turbo snails here I come!!

Oh.. and regarding hitckhiker snail.. Neh they ain't a bother at all.. in fact they're quite beneficial lah.. I just love them..

I dun think ANY marine aquatic snails are harmful to the tank... Hope I;m right, though.. :pinch:

I just came back from CF and bought 3 snails. According to the fellow there, if we pull the snail too hard, the shell might come off. He then proceed to teach mi how to pick one up with ease. He then twist the shell and the snail relased from the glass easliy. No need to use strenght at all.

(This is how the fellow from CF show mi one.. i try it at home when i put my snail in too... it detached at ease. HOWEVER!!!!!!! if ur snail die while trying the above .... PLS dun come and ask mi to buy u a snail back kkk... HEHEHE!!! :D:D:D

JL

I just came back from CF and bought 3 snails. According to the fellow there, if we pull the snail too hard, the shell might come off. He then proceed to teach mi how to pick one up with ease. He then twist the shell and the snail relased from the glass easliy. No need to use strenght at all.

(This is how the fellow from CF show mi one.. i try it at home when i put my snail in too... it detached at ease. HOWEVER!!!!!!! if ur snail die while trying the above .... PLS dun come and ask mi to buy u a snail back kkk... HEHEHE!!! :D:D:D

JL

What type of snails did you buy? What type available @ CF? I dun quite like the look of turbo snails. :D Any other recommendations? :thanks::thanks:

JL

Ya, you are right, just twist and tune the snail 360. They will sure to drop off.