Fine particles in Main Tank

burnerj

Hey guys,

I have a question. I notice that recently my main tank have alot alot of fine particles floating around. Too many till can see it flying around but still the clarity of the water remains clear...

Notice that my sally light foot crab is picing up things deep in the LRs and drawing out alot of particles...

1) Could it be the sally light foot??

2) Could it be anything disastarous ???

Please advise...

Thanks you

1154750779_a95e183733_o.gif

--Tank--

3.8ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft - 12mm(Main) Ñ„ 3ft x 2ft x 2ft - 8mm (Sump)

--Equipments--

Chiller - 3/4hp Pacific Coo Ñ„ FR - Resun FR Ñ„ Skimmer - ATI Bubble Master 250 - Reef Maniac 30" Beckeet Ñ„ Filter - Schuran Trickle filter Ñ„ Controllers - Aquatronica Advance Controller System

--Pumps--

Return Pump - Rio 24 HF Ñ„ Beckeet Pump - Resun MD55 Ñ„ Equipment Pump - Aquabee 3000 Ñ„ Wavemaker - Tunze 6060, 2 x Seio 1500

Hey guys,

I have a question. I notice that recently my main tank have alot alot of fine particles floating around. Too many till can see it flying around but still the clarity of the water remains clear...

Notice that my sally light foot crab is picing up things deep in the LRs and drawing out alot of particles...

1) Could it be the sally light foot??

2) Could it be anything disastarous ???

Please advise...

Thanks you

not to sure if its the same as my tank-micro bubbles?

if its not micro bubbles (my previous tank experience) i used ozoniser for my 4fts fowlr and the water turn out crystal clear.

but im sure given sufficient time it will clear off.

Thanks of all the advise ... but i notice that it's not the returm pump that's causing it.... the particles is only within the main tank

1154750779_a95e183733_o.gif

--Tank--

3.8ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft - 12mm(Main) Ñ„ 3ft x 2ft x 2ft - 8mm (Sump)

--Equipments--

Chiller - 3/4hp Pacific Coo Ñ„ FR - Resun FR Ñ„ Skimmer - ATI Bubble Master 250 - Reef Maniac 30" Beckeet Ñ„ Filter - Schuran Trickle filter Ñ„ Controllers - Aquatronica Advance Controller System

--Pumps--

Return Pump - Rio 24 HF Ñ„ Beckeet Pump - Resun MD55 Ñ„ Equipment Pump - Aquabee 3000 Ñ„ Wavemaker - Tunze 6060, 2 x Seio 1500

Hmm Marine Snow???Planktonic stuffs that is.

girlone.png

I also got the same problem leh.... Damn sian... How to more effectively remove these particles? I've already got 4 layers of sponge in the sump. Doesn't seem to remove the particles well enough. Any particular brand of sponge that should be used? :erm:

It is not a matter of how many layers.... it is the "finest" that counts... I have got 2 feet depth of filter floss at overflow... does that means better? Nope, it only capture the particles that is bigger than my filter floss size.

Dusting is minimise thru' the wave motion in your tank. Pay good attention to how to obtain a good flow is the key. Place your wavemaker in the places where some kind of uplifting movement is obtained to carry the dust upward and trap by filter floss or skimmer cup. ;)

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

So mine is a 4 x 1.5 x 2. Which wave maker should i get? Some ask me to get Seio 820. Some ask me to get Tunze. I'm confused. So which one would be more ideal??

Ask yourself what kind of livestock u intend to keep. If u don't know, read up more threads in the forum should gain some knowledge of different corals requirement.....

get those fine filter wool. It will need to replace very soon as these particles will choke up very fast. When I started the tank, I have to replace every week because new LR outer layers are still soft. Now every month need to replace once. When there is a flow, your LR will sure to give up some of its particles. More flow, more particles.

I can't really comprehen your saying of "More flow, more particles"... Do u mean when a pump aimed at the sandbed? That's why I advise to pay good attention how each wavewaker and pump head should be directed to obtain a slightly uplifting movement to carry the particles and food around the tank and yet still obtain some flow at the bottom level.

A tip on stacking filter floss is that I put a small egg crate in between each layers to prevent overflowing. Also, please do take note that a finer filter floss has greater danger of overflowing. Please do your own judgement as in how to achieve else I will be quoted as guilty... :lol:

I can't really comprehen your saying of "More flow, more particles"... Do u mean when a pump aimed at the sandbed? That's why I advise to pay good attention how each wavewaker and pump head should be directed to obtain a slightly uplifting movement to carry the particles and food around the tank and yet still obtain some flow at the bottom level.

A tip on stacking filter floss is that I put a small egg crate in between each layers to prevent overflowing. Also, please do take note that a finer filter floss has greater danger of overflowing. Please do your own judgement as in how to achieve else I will be quoted as guilty... :lol:

aiming lr. Lr also made of molecules. Flow is friction. Friction will lift up molecules very slowly. This theory and practically had been proven in science.

Aiya... pls lah... we r no scientist here leh.... this kind of reaction is soooooo slow that I do not think the fine particles refer here come from there...

Aiya... pls lah... LOL, U think its little? Aiya... pls lah..., If you try a bare tank, then you will know why after few months your bottom is so dirty with LR sand and some are floating. LR particles varies in sizes and weight. I found out the best way to reduce these particles is by reducing the flow.