Phos Guard

dodo

Phosguard will be better to specifically target phosphate. As always, it is not the long term solution.

:D:lol:

If dodo bird had been so kiasu, it would not be extinct now! Sorry, no offense. Not funny, meh?

I just bought Phosguard yesterday before reading this thread - at RM35 I think slightly cheaper than S'pore. The LFS recommended it. Will put in HOB this Saturday.

U r right, dodo, I checked out that 1L costs RM89. How much would postage cost if ordered from US?

BTW, can anyone tell me where do I put the phosguard in a HOB or canister. Does it matter in terms of performance? I use bio-rings and foam in my HOB.

Use phosguard in a mesh bag. Put it in an area of sufficient water flow. When it turns yellow, it is saturated and must be disposed.

As for Polyfilter pads, yes, I use them too. But I don't regenerate them. I dispose of them when they turn dark brown/blackish.

Seachem Phosguard is also available in 4 litre buckets for RRP S$135.

wat's RRP? :blink: anyway...as i mentioned b4...s'pore selling seachem products quite ex leh :angry: jus look at the phosguard...AT says selling at S$135...the place i usually buy from cost US$31.49 :) if we take US$31.49 multiply by 1.8...u will get ard S$60...almost half px...bro, u can save it for more corals and maybe buy a better equipment

U r right, dodo, I checked out that 1L costs RM89. How much would postage cost if ordered from US?

u fr malaysia...i assumed :P postage wise...they have three diff ways of of shipping to you.

1.By Courier(ie Fedex)1-2 days-very ex...cost usually US$80+++ for light items lar...if you order those light items like, brush,ammonia sensor replacement etc...u know those items are almost weightless...but if you order items with abit of weight, like phosguard, carbon etc...be prepared to pay US$100+++ jus for the postage charges alone

2.By fast post 4-5 days-ard US$80+++

3.By surface(sea freight) 6-8 weeks-the most economical way...jus an indication, recently i bot 1x4L of phosguard,1x4L of carbon,1x18oz of Kent Marine Phytoplankton,1x16oz Kent Marine Iodine,6x polyfilter,1x500gm PH buffer...total postage charges cost slightly more than US$50 only

RRP-recommended retail price

dodo- but if u include the freight charges to your US$31 -assuming just the phosguard (weighing 1kg of freight),won't it come to the same.

If u can get it from Europe or canada(big al's online)- freight is cheaper.

just checked petmart yest. & purigen cost $26 for 150g. scrap that though off my list!.

RRP-recommended retail price

dodo- but if u include the freight charges to your US$31 -assuming just the phosguard (weighing 1kg of freight),won't it come to the same.

If u can get it from Europe or canada(big al's online)- freight is cheaper.

just checked petmart yest. & purigen cost $26 for 150g. scrap that though off my list!.

ok...thks for highlighting to me wat's RRP :P

assuming if i buy phosguard alone...US$31 for the 4L...plus freight of maybe US$25...total cost = US$56...multiply by 1.8...total cost in S$ will be ard 100 bucks...still save $30...I thk $30 can buy a very nice open brain coral liao :) but min order from US must be US$50 then they will ship out from there :(;)

now...could u tell me wat's big al's online?a website whereby we can order on line?

Dodo, i haven't tried big al's(its a giant aquatic store), it has a site for US & canada(canada same rate as SG). search for Big AL

But those that i have tried will even ship a US$2.99 item to me,as long as i pay freight which is something like US$24. i'm trying a new guy now(using paypal payment) so see if everything turns out fine. Still waiting for my SCWD Squid wave maker.

boxfish- seen it around $26 & $27. so i guess its normal, hmm for that price in that tiny little bottle i'm going instead with an extra 30kg No.1 sand for a more permanent solution.