jasongo11 Posted August 27, 2007 Share Posted August 27, 2007 Please help to ID the spawing in my nano tank. This happened twice recently and i dunno whats causing it. It seems to be like a bag of eggs. Many many small white particles floating together. There are only 2 clown fishes, 1 damsel, 1 boxer, 1 fireshrimp, 1 pistol shrimp, 2 snails in my tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasongo11 Posted August 27, 2007 Author Share Posted August 27, 2007 another pic.. pls help to resize.. thx Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasongo11 Posted August 27, 2007 Author Share Posted August 27, 2007 resized Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 27, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 27, 2007 looks very interesting.... that does not seems like the clown fish egg.... ur oversize pic reveals lots of tiny bb worm look alike..... You may want to investigate further from there.... BTW, do your fish eat them? PS: Or the "lines" are actually the carmera exposure thingy? Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasongo11 Posted August 27, 2007 Author Share Posted August 27, 2007 ya.. i think there are some bb worms in my tank too... the fishes dun eat the "eggs" only the boxer seems to be feasting on them.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 27, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 27, 2007 If that's the case, whatever it is, you have no worries 'cos there is something to balance the situation.... Hm... wonder what kind of worms is that. Able to take a amplified pic of 1 worm? Maybe with that more people can contribute..... Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted August 27, 2007 Share Posted August 27, 2007 I've have seen my banded shrimp release shrimp fry before.... and looking at the 'burst' coming out from it.... looks like it! Can you siphon out/stop water circulation to see if the tiny dots are shrimp-like in shape/movement? That is, before the fish finish eating them! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 27, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 27, 2007 Uh? all shrimp are single.... like that also can? somemore from pic, did not reveal any syptom. I think the pic likely captured when the greedy boxer stay there for a feast..... But, I do not rule out the possibility 'cos afterall we did not see the real thing apart from a few pics..... Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasongo11 Posted August 27, 2007 Author Share Posted August 27, 2007 i just removed all the "eggs"... very slimy... like egg yolk... lots of it... at least got 1/3 of a can of coke... just small dots of white particles... dun look like shrimps leh... haha... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted August 27, 2007 Share Posted August 27, 2007 interesting... what's the opposite of 'eggs'? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted August 27, 2007 Share Posted August 27, 2007 Pregnant shrimp wills carry a green pouch underbody... which turns whiter as the eggs mature and hatch... into tiny shrimp. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasongo11 Posted August 27, 2007 Author Share Posted August 27, 2007 nope.. dun think is from my boxer... didnt notice the green substance under its belly for the past few days/week.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ah-lim Posted August 27, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 27, 2007 interesting... what's the opposite of 'eggs'? lol lol lol. I still think its the snails. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 28, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 28, 2007 lol lol lol. I still think its the snails. Highly unlikely 'cos snail eggs do not "spray" like that. They will lay the egg on rocks and corals..... since we don't see any corals and all shrimps are single, I suspect it's some kind of worms spawing thing. Whether it's good or bad worms, we do not know..... Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishyfish Posted August 28, 2007 Share Posted August 28, 2007 Probably some reef crabs did it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member big_ben102000 Posted August 28, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 28, 2007 this might sound alittle stupid .. but could it be some small shellfish hiding in those rocks ? i think shell shell spray their eggs out like that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted August 28, 2007 Share Posted August 28, 2007 Snails do release sperm clouds but its in very thin milky-like puffs... not with little 'bits' like what you see here.... hmmm... the mystery deepens... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ah-lim Posted August 28, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 28, 2007 Highly unlikely 'cos snail eggs do not "spray" like that. They will lay the egg on rocks and corals..... since we don't see any corals and all shrimps are single, I suspect it's some kind of worms spawing thing. Whether it's good or bad worms, we do not know..... BB worm spawn. Jason, u are doom, haha. Nxt time take live rocks frm me lah. Time to introduce, B worm killer.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 28, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 28, 2007 BB worm spawn. Jason, u are doom, haha. Nxt time take live rocks frm me lah. Time to introduce, B worm killer.... It could be beneficial worm.... and ur solution is just kill kill kill... Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jasongo11 Posted August 28, 2007 Author Share Posted August 28, 2007 hmm... i have removed the substance from my tank already... dunno what is producing this substance, however, the amount produced is way too much to be produced by any of the livestock... (by volume comparision) this is the 2nd time that i see this substance, i suspect it might be something within my live rocks that is able to produce such huge amount of jelly like substance. i do not have any corals btw... anyway i will keep a close watch on my tank to find out the mystery... thx Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 29, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 29, 2007 If your curious enough, setup a temp tank with sponge filter juz to see.... Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted August 29, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted August 29, 2007 Hm... FOLWR tank.... U think your filteration cannot handle the situation? It's live free meal u know..... Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...