Cycling unable to compete

Aspire

Hey guys,

I noe I've post this questions before but got onli few replies but still no solution. Here it goes. I've been cycling my 2 ft tank for more than 3 or 4 months (too long already lost count). Previous problem was uncontrollerable nitrate level. Too fustrated with the long period of water changing, I did a 100% water change. NOw everything seem ok.. PH level kinda high (86) but the rest of the parameter is gd and so is the nitrate level. Is there any other way to reduce PH other than water change?

Last week when I intro 2 clowns, they died the very next day. :cry: And this morning when I woke up my turbo snail which has been with me for more than 1 months died too.. :( I really have no idea what is wrong. I've done my water change. Wash my canister filter every week, added powerhead for water circulation, increased my sand bed from 2 to 4 inches.

Due to my tank structure I can do an overflow slump. Please guys.. help me out here.. I have really no idea wat to do next..

:nuke::nuke::nuke:

hi

wat did u use to cycle? LR? market prawn?

perhaps u should leave your canister filter alone. let it run for a month. washing it with tap water kills off the BB.

wat grain size u using for your sand? for grade 0 3-4 inches will probably do well. for bigger grain sizes more may be needed.

no more livestock for the time being. resist the urge to fiddle with yor tank during this period. :D

anyone can offer some help here? 4mths is a really long time to be cycling a 2 feet.

• SRC Member

usually cycling is completed when ammonia and nitrite reaches zero... for nitrate to be zero, DSB and a regularly harvested macro-algae refugium is needed... almost a year it has been since i started my tank and my nitrate is stagnant at 25ppm until now... did u add any medication to the water? any powerheads with steel shafts? u can lower pH by adding the seachem additive.. not sure of the name but im sure there is an additive.. ;)