Anemone Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 hi all which filter do u think is better? the Eheim 2213 or the Atman 3335? jon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 wah you so kan chiong for what. post here and make a poll on it as well. hehz. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted November 10, 2003 Author Share Posted November 10, 2003 wahahahaha paiseh lah~ just wanna try out poling also. nv do b4 mah, very suaku. jon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aspire Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 I'm using Atman. Personally, I dun think it's that powerful. it doesn't seem to remove much dirt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted November 10, 2003 Author Share Posted November 10, 2003 wat do u think of the flowrate? less than Eheim? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aspire Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 hmm.. I haven check out Eheim. From my experience, Atman has very low flowrate. Juz my 2 cent worth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted November 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 10, 2003 eheim 2213 suxs lar. i m using it..and i hate it alot... use a sump..better than anythin else! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 eheim 2213 suxs lar.i m using it..and i hate it alot... use a sump..better than anythin else! why does it suck? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 eheim 2213 suxs lar.i m using it..and i hate it alot... use a sump..better than anythin else! why does it suck? mind telling me/us? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 a thousand apologies for the repeated postings. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aspire Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 Low flowrate.. Doesn't suck out any dirt. Hard time to get up running. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 Low flowrate.. Doesn't suck out any dirt. Hard time to get up running. I thought dirt is not sucked out but filtered out instead by passing water through a set of filters? be it mechanical or biological. hmm. =\ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aspire Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 Yup.. it's is by filtering thru passing water.. Problem is the flow rate is so low that sometime I see dirt juz go right pass it and it doesn't flow into the filter.. can u imagine how low the flow rate is.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted November 10, 2003 Author Share Posted November 10, 2003 damn.... u mean the 2213 or the atman? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted November 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 10, 2003 imo, both sucks... the trouble of maintaining and cleaning it... plus the level of effectivity as compared to sump... bro, y not just get a sump? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted November 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 10, 2003 both sucks.. best to use a slump tank.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 sump tank you mean. its not fair to canister filters to label them as "sucky" or "lousy" they are very good for reducing NH4 and NO2. anything to NO3 however, is impossible as the aeration of the water through the filter media prevents it. therefore a canister filter also has its strengths. for everything there is always pros and cons. the con of a sump for example, is the purchasing of a return pump, piping, the sheer size of it. many hobbyist will have to factor in things like that as well. of course in this case, the pros of the sump tank will always outweigh the pros of a canister filter. but it depends on a case by case basis. certain people will not be able to afford the space for a sump tank, nor have the budget to set up one. a short term solution will be to use a canister filter for the filtration purposes first. just my two cents worth. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted November 10, 2003 Author Share Posted November 10, 2003 true. no space for me. i currently have a 3 feet FW. the marine tank is below. i love the FW too much to let it go. so using a canister will not be effective against nitrates? but i think some amount of nitrate will not be too damaging to my softie tank. do u think so? i only have polyps, n some mushies. intend to remove the leathers tho. make the water stinky. will the nitrate level increase to a level that is lethal to me softies if i use a canister? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 10, 2003 Share Posted November 10, 2003 hmm I doubt canisters possess the ability to convert NO2 to NO3 for the very basic reason that the bacteria required for NO2 to NO3 conversion is anaerobic, meaning that they work in oxygen deprieved environments. a place with water gushing senselessly like a canister water is sure to be oxygenated water, therefore such anaerobic bacteria will not thrive there at all. as for corals and SPS. urh. not too sure on that but I read for corals, nitrate must be kept as low as possible. zero the best. this one, I'm no expert....so you gotta wait for help to come in the form of more experienced reefers. just my two cents. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asfur Posted November 12, 2003 Share Posted November 12, 2003 Frankly speaking, yes the sump is the best way although it will act as a nitrate factory, or else you can combine the sump with refugium or DSBs. But if you still insist to use the canister filter, i strongly suggest you to use oly eheim product (don't mean to promote that product, but this product will last so many years comparing with any competitor brand especially new comers), i still have eheim canister that i bought about 8 years ago for my marine tanks, and it work well. But offcourse you must regularly do a water changes 25-50 % every months. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...