kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 16, 2007 Share Posted July 16, 2007 Received a PM to show my mangrove setup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 16, 2007 Author Share Posted July 16, 2007 Another pic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 16, 2007 Author Share Posted July 16, 2007 New leaves growing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 16, 2007 Author Share Posted July 16, 2007 Jus measured my water parameters last nite. No3 <20ppm KH 8 Mg 1500ppm Ca 400ppm Jus changed my Rowa a week ago abt 250g, so assume ok. My setup s a 4x1.5x1.5ft with 2 ftx1ft sump. 6 inch DSB in main tank. Coral labs FR Resun cl650 with external probe fr chill-down Solite 3xAti 54w and a geiusman 50/50 or something (bought fr reefdepot) Its now abt 12 months old tank. Mainly LPS and about 10% SPS. I like to collect the exotic species. Not very active now due to work and family, but still maintain my tank condition as much as I can. ( hopefully it's good enough) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 16, 2007 Author Share Posted July 16, 2007 I have abt 12 pcs of mangroves and 3 small ones. This pic with scallops I buy fr pasir panjang live seafood stall for $4/kg. left 4 only. the rest in my tummy liao.. hehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 16, 2007 Author Share Posted July 16, 2007 Small ones. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member klim Posted July 17, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2007 Hi Bro Kelvin, may I know how you take care of the mangrove? Do you need to wash the leave with fresh water every other day? Pls advise Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
adrianlau Posted July 17, 2007 Share Posted July 17, 2007 Can share where to find the mangroves? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fishtalk1517 Posted July 17, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2007 Can share where to find the mangroves? U can try reach out to Bro Reefzzz...... for the mangroves... I got some in my sump tank too Intending to add more to suppress nitrates Quote A person, himself can be his own Lawyer, but he can never be his own Judge ........ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 17, 2007 Author Share Posted July 17, 2007 I very lazy. Spray water once or twice a week only. Since u mentioned, will be doing it after this post. I got mine from Bro Reefzzz and fr Golden Octopus. Fr my experience, it is not too good the temp fr surrounding is too hot, ie chiller exhaust and placing the lighting too close to the mangroves. I was using a 36w PL 6500k and jus changed to a 15w T8 used for freshwater tank. The leaves grow as they absorbed the nitrates... very useful and cheap. No need for expensive denitrators. I also downgraded fr a HnS 850l in sump needle wheel to a macro venturi. Hope to post some pic of my tank soon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fishtalk1517 Posted July 17, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2007 Hi Bro Kelvin, may I know how you take care of the mangrove? Do you need to wash the leave with fresh water every other day? Pls advise So far, I dun go wash or spray the leaves with fresh water and they still grow well. Guess my nitrates are high will try to post some mangroves pic when free Quote A person, himself can be his own Lawyer, but he can never be his own Judge ........ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted July 17, 2007 Share Posted July 17, 2007 Hehehe currently have mangroves in my tank as well.. but the leaves still haven sprout out.. current takings are: NO3: 15ppm< Ca: 600 MG: 1280 KH:7 temp: 28dc< po4: unknown haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 17, 2007 Author Share Posted July 17, 2007 When the leaves are growing, they are absorbing nutrients. Otherwise, you may want to change the lightings or surrounding temp. The mangroves do perform differently under 20k, 15k 10k or 6500k lights. Also, the heat given off by the lights or nearby chiller exhaust also make a difference. Bro Reefz's lights for his mangroves is abt 1 ft fr the nearest leaf. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fishtalk1517 Posted July 17, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2007 here's my mangrove in the sump growing well, meaning high nitrates Quote A person, himself can be his own Lawyer, but he can never be his own Judge ........ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted July 17, 2007 Share Posted July 17, 2007 Hmm my light source is about 1ft away.. but sadly.. im using yellow light (Reefz pls dun hamtam mi!! I still havent got out to buy the energy-saving white light~~~). and hopefully it wont affect the m.g in anywayz.. but im beginning to see spouts?? or is it jus over-anxious mi... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member johntanjm Posted July 17, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2007 I have heard that mangroves drain your nitrates. is that true? Quote --------------------------------------------- The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB! http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted July 17, 2007 Share Posted July 17, 2007 Yo john still ard? Thought u leaving for overseas posting leow... yea supposedly tats the case la.. but still monitoring lor when the leaves are out then i will measure again Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member johntanjm Posted July 18, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 18, 2007 still lingering around lar. leaving end of the month. using plants for nitrate export has always been my dream but never got down to doing it. maybe in the next tank i will cater for that but would really want to get an idea on its effectiveness Quote --------------------------------------------- The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB! http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted July 18, 2007 Share Posted July 18, 2007 Hehe ya.. hopefully can bring mine down to 0 also. then can revamp the tank leow haha ^^" but i haven test the po4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted July 20, 2007 Author Share Posted July 20, 2007 U need to hav more mangroves to do the job rite. I saw my friend who use about 5 stalks ( abt 1 feet length ) and 10 small ones ( 3 inches) for a 4x2x2 tank. I am using 12 big ones and 3 small ones. So u have to get the rite quantity for your bioload. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted July 21, 2007 Share Posted July 21, 2007 currently i got 6 wrasse in my tank.. and 2 fire gobies only.. running 25 mangroves.. hopefully it helps Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member vagabond Posted July 21, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2007 kelvintan_a1ea - thanks for the update bro. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...