SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 I have gather sufficient suggestion that a Ehiem is better, but i really like to hear from the rest of the non-ehiem user feedback(power/noise/failure etc) especially on the more common ones like ... 1) Weipro 2) Dymax 3) Hailea 4) Resun Liter/Hour vs ur Main Tank Size .. Pls help, my tank coming end of the month .. and i really can't get over why ehiem so X ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golden Tooth Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 Thrown away 2 Dymax pumps used for only 2 mth+. Quote Bevor Sie das Licht sehen, müssen Sie sterben! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 Thrown away 2 Dymax pumps used for only 2 mth+. next time throw across the road to my block .. let me try out ma .. Thks 4 ur f/b anyway .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 Resun 3200l/h seems a bit overrated..... i wldnt recommend u to buy this model becos of its design.... not veri user-friendly in a sense... Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 Resun 3200l/hseems a bit overrated..... i wldnt recommend u to buy this model becos of its design.... not veri user-friendly in a sense... oso considering abt buying Resun king4 4800l/hr at 90W but ... dun know anyone has any opinion/view abt it? abt resun? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 oso considering abt buying Resun king4 4800l/hr at 90W but ... dun know anyone has any opinion/view abt it? abt resun? The main bad thing abt my pump is that the outlet comes b4 the propeller n the outlet is at its 'head' which is detachable... when loose, it affects the pumping rate.... Therefore, as long as the Resun King dun hav such bad design, it shld be ok... but look out for whether there is suitable outlet connectors which can adjust flowrate and which supports connection to pipes cos its original purpose is to act as a fountain pump Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 The main bad thing abt my pump is that the outlet comes b4 the propeller n the outlet is at its 'head' which is detachable... when loose, it affects the pumping rate.... Therefore, as long as the Resun King dun hav such bad design, it shld be ok... but look out for whether there is suitable outlet connectors which can adjust flowrate and which supports connection to pipes cos its original purpose is to act as a fountain pump Thks but ... dun quite understand though .. Basically is it noisy? did u use it submerge? or external? high temp? thks Bro! currently 34bro on the net .. lai leh .. support abit .. share some info pls .. how abt weipro no one using har?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 wats ur tank size? n ur pipe size to sump? 4800L/H may be too much? IMO, ensure there an adjustable adaptor before buying.... Resun also got this SP-9500S 4000L/H max height = 4.5m n has a float switch also.... think shld cost ard but less than $100 http://www.resun.com.cn/image/Sp-9500S.jpg Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 still so quiet ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 wats ur tank size? n ur pipe size to sump?4800L/H may be too much? IMO, ensure there an adjustable adaptor before buying.... Resun also got this SP-9500S 4000L/H max height = 4.5m n has a float switch also.... think shld cost ard but less than $100 http://www.resun.com.cn/image/Sp-9500S.jpg tank beh lai leh .. i think it is 1" (Min) tank is 42inX24inX24in .. Dun noe leh, saw it b4 on net too, but got ppl here is such pump or not? reason for Lookin at Dymax cos wattage lower .. I using the return pump "POWER' to drive up and split to do circulation in tank .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter Joe_P Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Supporter Share Posted November 7, 2003 Try to get your hands on a Resun MD 55, the one thats is a Iwaki lookalike... I jus acquired one from Aquarama..... pressure rated and should be real cool for a reef..... that is if you can get one locally....... one thing though, this baby runs external so do factor that in during your sump design....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted November 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 7, 2003 tank beh lai leh .. i think it is 1" (Min) tank is 42inX24inX24in .. Dun noe leh, saw it b4 on net too, but got ppl here is such pump or not? reason for Lookin at Dymax cos wattage lower .. I using the return pump "POWER' to drive up and split to do circulation in tank .. look for Sicce Suprema.... haven seen it lying ard in singapore... but u may just find it?..... shld cost ard $100 oso but wattage is veri low n reliable n small n quiet too.... Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 8, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 Sicce Suprema.... no strength leh .. Resun MD 55 ... pm me how much U bought? tat y tank not due for delivery till end month becos of couldn't confirm external or internal pump .. (due to sump d) So how fellow SRC bro ... comment pls .. Resun brand OK? Weipro Better? Hailea How? Dymax ... ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hammer99 Posted November 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 Hi, What about CR brand CR-4900 rated at 3800l/hr Anyone using it Is it good, noisy ... etc Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted November 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 i am using cr-4900 but not as return pump. i'm using it to drive my scwd, performance is ok, not noisy but still observing if it can maintain performance under saltwater, just had it for 3 months.... i am using sicce extrema right now for return which is very, very underrated but performance is good, its just that it can't return water back to the main tank as much as my 1200gph overflow box is draining water from the tank.... nicky, can u advise y u say sicce suprema has no strength? ever tried before? coz i just purchased 1, and if that's the case wrong decision again Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 8, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 i lookin for return pump & depending on it to do circulation thus i need more liter/hr rated .. slicce l/h to low .. as for cr I using for circulation too in my current tank though ok, but again cr-4900's l/hr oso low & abit heatup for 24/7 .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted November 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 I'm using Lagauna Utility Pump 5 rated 4750 L/hr at 55watts. Works very well for me! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted November 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 I'm using Lagauna Utility Pump 5 rated 4750 L/hr at 55watts. Works very well for me! how much u got it and where? quite economical for such a high flowrate.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted November 8, 2003 Share Posted November 8, 2003 Thrown away 2 Dymax pumps used for only 2 mth+. Ermm... wat problems... was abt to get... luckily i saw this post first... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted November 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 was also contemplating in buying it when i saw in aquarama... the dymax w 5000lph flowrate/80w was selling at $118...luckily..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted November 8, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2003 me too ... heng har ... but anyone doing shoppin tomorrow can help to locate cheapest/accessible source for Lagauna Utility Pump 5 ??? best if anyone else could confirm the specs .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted November 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2003 Hi, you can get Laguna Utility Pump 5 at Down Town East Superstar Aquarium. You may want to mention my name to either George or Jason and you might be able to get a discount! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nutx Posted November 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2003 I'm using a weipro 5000l/hr and a eheim 1260 2400l/hr. when I tried pumping water from my sump to the main tank, the eheim perform better. The weipro output reduced due to the height pressure. but for creating circulation in the main tank, the weipro is stronger, since it is 5000l/hr.. Hence, need to find the right pump for the right use. Heard that iwaki pump dun reduce its flow rate even for pumping up abt 3-4 ft height! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted November 9, 2003 SRC Supporter Share Posted November 9, 2003 hi guys,wat abt rena pumb? got 1 from aquarama cos abt $107 flowrate only 1700 Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted November 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2003 1700l/h flowrate is too weak for a return pump, i may say..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...