Dymax wave deflector

dominik

Hi, a warning to those thinking of buying the dymax wave deflector. It dun works :angry: . after installed, it will turn a few rounds then it stop :pinch: .

Buy at your own risk.

Current tank

Past tank

any grains of sand or other small hard bits stuck in the gear system?

Same thing happened to the hydor type and it only worked again after I stripped it and found grains of sand stuck in the plastic gears...

any grains of sand or other small hard bits stuck in the gear system?

Same thing happened to the hydor type and it only worked again after I stripped it and found grains of sand stuck in the plastic gears...

nothing got jam inside. the product is not ready for sale.

Current tank

Past tank

I agreed. Think whoever is responsible of bringing it in shd look into this prob. I've bought two and both are the same... turned a few rounds and then stopped until I've got to use my hand to get it moving again.

Hey not cheap leh, I've bought mine for $10 each.

I agreed. Think whoever is responsible of bringing it in shd look into this prob. I've bought two and both are the same... turned a few rounds and then stopped until I've got to use my hand to get it moving again.

Hey not cheap leh, I've bought mine for $10 each.

nearly bought 1 as it resemble the hydor wave deflector ...

How hard is it to copy a product and make it work? :lol::lol::lol:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

It's the one that is use to attached to any power heads or outlet pipe. It works based on some gears mechanism in it, such that when water passes thru the plastic blades inside, it'll turn some gears which will than rotates the wave deflector. It's kind of easy working principles but guess there isn't much research done on the drawing board so end up produced such quality stuff lor... :wacko:

Anyway thinking abt it, if not much thoughts are given on the drawing board, it also explained why they can sell it between $7-$10. Only thing is it juz won't work after turning a few rounds, waste our money(even if it $10)... :angry:

i think it is from china/ Taiwan

Humble tank :

Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display 

Equipment :

Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1

Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1

CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium

Light : ATI 8x54W

ya singapore brand liao.That is why is so cheap.

girlone.png

Perhaps it would be good if photographs of the internal components can be put up. In that way, all of us may come up with a mod to rectify it.

I don't think it's a gone case- probably can improve on the design.

Just that the gears inside got to be way smaller than that of hydor's.

Good news, good news... I've wrote in to Adec Singapore (Sole Distributor for DYMAX) regarding this deflector's problem. They've replied back and adviced if I've attached the deflector to a 1200l/h power head and if yes and still not working, they'll do a replacement.

So reefers, don't be sad or angry and boycott them juz bcuz of a particular defective product model ^_^

I've already taken the first step to feedback to them and they've responded, so the rest of you who are affected, pls write in personally to high-light your problem too. Pls dun take this as an opportunity to spoil your deflector on purpose and demand a replacement hor! U must first try it on a 1200l/h power head as indicated by the product working spec and see if it work well for an extended period of time ok?

I know some of you might still complain and said things like... "No point replacing a defective one with another defective new one"... BUT my point here is at least the company bothers to look into the feedback regardless of how cheap or expensive is that product.