Clowns and Anemones Only

Nitro

Above video is my ocelleris clownfishes. Last week i bought and i seperate them one in my Q.Tank and smaller one in the beta box. Then this week i added them into the main tank at the same time. As soon as i added to the tank, they become together. After 2 days, they found my small anemone and now they are hosting it together as above video.

My question is "are they pair already? So fast?" :blink: (love at first sight?) :pinch: or they just making friends and stay together?

• Replies 232

• 5 weeks later...

Above video is my ocelleris clownfishes. Last week i bought and i seperate them one in my Q.Tank and smaller one in the beta box. Then this week i added them into the main tank at the same time. As soon as i added to the tank, they become together. After 2 days, they found my small anemone and now they are hosting it together as above video.

My question is "are they pair already? So fast?"  :blink: (love at first sight?)  :pinch: or they just making friends and stay together? 

its easier when only 2 fishes pair in a tank. So they can make babies and no enemies threatening. Soon they will become mother and father so will you be the grandfather? LOL. Just joking.

Any eggs? I hope so. very interesting to see eggs.

Just dont use them for your fried noodles.

• 2 months later...
Anyone knows the actual name for the mushroom anemone?

Hi Nitro,

They belongs to the genus Pseudocorynactis, species wise its very difficult to ID.

Pseudocorynactis spp. are like Corynactis but are much larger (to about six inches (15 cm) diameter, and usually not colonial. They also reproduce by fission, but it is unusual to find more than about six clones together as a group. The so-called orange ball anemones that can be observed on coral reefs at night are Pseudocorynactis spp. The column varies in color from cryptic shades of brown to orange, red and magenta. The tips of the tentacles are commonly bright orange, but they can also be white. These tentacle tips are extremely sticky, like flypaper, due to the presence of powerful nematocysts. This fact makes the larger species from the Indo Pacific region unsuitable for aquariums housing fishes, which they readily capture. They also can catch mobile invertebrates such as shrimps and snails, and sometimes "attack" sessile invertebrates growing on adjacent rocks, enveloping them in the gastric cavity through a widely opened mouth. Pseudocorynactis spp. can be fed daily, but only require twice weekly feeding to keep them healthy. If they are not fed frequently enough, they shrink. There is a marked behavioral difference between the common Caribbean and Indo-Pacific species.

The Caribbean species, Pseudocorynactis caribbaeorum mainly opens its tentacles at night, and closes rapidly when it senses light. The Indo-Pacific species remains open both day and night, and is not sensitive to light. The presence of food smells (dissolved amino acids) in the water stimulates either species to open up and extend the tentacles, and the caribbean species can be trained to open in the light by feeding it during daylight hours. The mechanism for its apparent memory is not known.

Source: http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/oct2002/invert.htm

Other Ref:

http://www.poppe-images.com/images/search_...s%20caribbeorum

http://www.edge-of-reef.com/anemoni/ESAPse...ynactisspen.htm

HTH ;)

Got it from GO. Between $100 to $200 :pinch:

tats a nice mushroom anemone. It doesn't come cheap last time, easily costs $500 and above :blink: Maximum price tat I heard before for this species is 2K from a shop called "Sentosa" :sick: ( closed down liao)

As wat Gouldian had mentioned, they had sticky tentacles and would even eat anything tat it traps, such as fishes.

These tentacle tips are extremely sticky, like flypaper, due to the presence of powerful nematocysts. This fact makes the larger species from the Indo Pacific region unsuitable for aquariums housing fishes, which they readily capture. They also can catch mobile invertebrates such as shrimps and snails, and sometimes "attack" sessile invertebrates growing on adjacent rocks, enveloping them in the gastric cavity through a widely opened mouth.

If u realised tat some gobies,anthias or even small tangs starts to disappears ( if u have it in ur tank) then u'll realised who's the culprit :P The anemone will consume the flesh of the fish and starts to throw out those fish bones out from its mouth and soon cluster of fish bones will form up ard the anemone.

Anyway do post pics of the feeding and its a beautiful species to keep <_<

Hi Nitro,

They belongs to the genus Pseudocorynactis, species wise its very difficult to ID.

Pseudocorynactis spp. are like Corynactis but are much larger (to about six inches (15 cm) diameter, and usually not colonial. They also reproduce by fission, but it is unusual to find more than about six clones together as a group. The so-called orange ball anemones that can be observed on coral reefs at night are Pseudocorynactis spp. The column varies in color from cryptic shades of brown to orange, red and magenta. The tips of the tentacles are commonly bright orange, but they can also be white. These tentacle tips are extremely sticky, like flypaper, due to the presence of powerful nematocysts. This fact makes the larger species from the Indo Pacific region unsuitable for aquariums housing fishes, which they readily capture. They also can catch mobile invertebrates such as shrimps and snails, and sometimes "attack" sessile invertebrates growing on adjacent rocks, enveloping them in the gastric cavity through a widely opened mouth. Pseudocorynactis spp. can be fed daily, but only require twice weekly feeding to keep them healthy. If they are not fed frequently enough, they shrink. There is a marked behavioral difference between the common Caribbean and Indo-Pacific species.

The Caribbean species, Pseudocorynactis caribbaeorum mainly opens its tentacles at night, and closes rapidly when it senses light. The Indo-Pacific species remains open both day and night, and is not sensitive to light. The presence of food smells (dissolved amino acids) in the water stimulates either species to open up and extend the tentacles, and the caribbean species can be trained to open in the light by feeding it during daylight hours. The mechanism for its apparent memory is not known.

Source: http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/oct2002/invert.htm

Other Ref:

http://www.poppe-images.com/images/search_...s%20caribbeorum

http://www.edge-of-reef.com/anemoni/ESAPse...ynactisspen.htm

HTH ;)

Yeah in addition to what bro gouldian has said, they do not host clowns and in fact clowns and unwary fish that gets caught by tentacle are its food :o

Woops I realise fishtalk bro has said it :lol: but anyway I have carpet and carpets are known to eat fish but so far have not seen any of my fish lost ;)

his dont look like orange ball anemone to me. orange ball anemone tips are orange while the rest will be translucent.. i heard of one that went as low as 120..

Hi bro,

Orange ball should be Pseudocorynactis caribbaeorum from Caribbeans, there are also Indo Pacific Pseudocorynactis. But I am not able to ID the species of Nitro's specimen.

Care to PM me where you know is selling $120?

HTH ;)

If you do not want a clown and anemones how about clowns and long tentacled corals anemone.Most clownfish species will host in Euphyllia species coral.Trying to get torch for my occelaris since the bubble coral taken up by my Clarkii clown.Clarkii clown will host on anything.Not the drink ah. :P .

Haizz so poor thing to you all anemones are gone except this one.Hey that anemone is the latest shipment from GO.dam i missed it.Break into ur house to get it. :evil::evil: Jokin onli.

girlone.png

To all reefers who responded on the last few entries, thank you for your advice and sharing of info site. very good stuffs, esp those by Gouldian.

Angelfishlover > There's a total of 4 anemones left from all those old pic that you've seen. Aya dun have to break in lah, LCK 110 still got some in one of their tank, those at the outside ones. Good price too :eyebrow: