need help

KaEN

last sunday i just bought 2 x blue damsel.

i had introduced both fish together into the tank and today when i was feeding them, i noticed something.

1 of the damsel became very territorial which i think caused the other damsel to be stressed. it doesnt take any food and also had became lighter in colour. moreover, it was been chased around whenever the other damsel sees it.

i tried to remove the more aggressive damsel but it's to small and quick, cant even reach it before it hide into the holes of the rock.

i was thinking of removing the poor fish but i do not have a spare tank....

can someone pls advise

all damsel became very territorial and aggressive ....can try giving it too others.....

not really like wat u say lah. I hv 3 blue damsel seems to be ok wif the tank mates leh. 3 clowns, 1 yellow tang, 1 brown tang, 2 blue tang. 1 domino damsel. tank is 2 ft & above.

thanks for all the advise.

i tink i wont be adding anymore fish due to my small tank, 1 maroon, 2 blue damsel 2 hermit crab and 2 cleaner shrimp should be enough for my 2 feet tank.

the nite before yesterday, i finally caught hold of the aggressive damsel and isolate it for 1 day. today morning i put it back and now both can get along quite well, i think shouldn't be a problem :P

like what Dispar_anthias said, my blue damsel is the Blue Devil species......hopefully they dun really transform into a devil

once again, thanks everyone. Have a nice day

lets talk about my wonderful experience i got this super small 5 cent coin size 3 stripe damsel.. i was thinking aiyah so small cannot bully other fish. when i bought other fish wah it was damn agressive

then then.. i got so pissed off and i could not catch it. used traps whatever. i removed all the rocks( just for the damsel) and finally caught it! i hung it in the aquarium isolated.

then then.. one day i went home.. my dad told me your fish jump back into the tank.. i was like shocked! so pissed off i removed all the rocks again, and i caught it, put it into another tank.. phew~.... now its in my refugium.. haha..

therefore, i do not recommend anyone to get damsel for whatever reason. if u are using it to cycle ur tank, dont use it, use an achilles tang, it introduces lots of ammonia when its dead in ur tank. :)

wan,Nov 7 2003, 09:41 AM] therefore, i do not recommend anyone to get damsel for whatever reason. if u are using it to cycle ur tank, dont use it, use an achilles tang, it introduces lots of ammonia when its dead in ur tank. :)

wah. expensive way of cycling. I'll settle for market prawns anyday. at least I buy maybe 2kg, put one into the tank and eat the rest. :P

wan,Nov 7 2003, 09:41 AM]

therefore, i do not recommend anyone to get damsel for whatever reason. if u are using it to cycle ur tank, dont use it, use an achilles tang, it introduces lots of ammonia when its dead in ur tank. :)

Haa haa haa... LMAO

Alternatively, you can add a lot more damsel into your tank. They will have a hell of a time bullying each other. :)

Wow.. I think the less aggressive damsel already set it's territory in your tank so your other damsel choose not to disturb it...

Other than that dunno why it would become tame leh..

Erm.. and about damsels, yeah you can actually make them more harmless by having a whole school of damsels in your tank so they'll establish a pecking order among themselves (sort of like a school of tiger barb or yellow tang) and will have fun bullying themselves and hopefully ignore other fish..

And with regards to moving rocks, neh.. what you can do is actually to loan a lionfish.. yep yep.. I assure you after a few days max the damsel will mysteriously 'disappear'.. :devil:

I am trying to catch my stripe damsel now for the past two days and have no success......I am now thinking of putting in a yellow tail so that they can go attack each other. :blink:

My stripe damsel does not attack my other fishes but today when I put ina pair of chromis, it chase after them....but now ok already ...... :blink: