DIY Chiller?

BlueTerror

I came across this idea and schematics for cooling method that does not cause the level of evaporation that fans do. I believe i saw it at nano-reef.com

What this guy propose doing is, pump in and out the water thru a tube that goes through this pool of tap water that is cooled by several fans, thus lowering the temperature of the water. How effective can this be through the tube is unknown....

Questions is has anyone done this before?

I fur using plastic tubing forget it, u might as well blow the fans directly into your tank. Plastic does not transfer heat easily. It is good only for nano tanks of ten gallons or smaller where space to out fans directly is limited or high evaporation rate is not desired.

forget about the tubing thing... to cool the water in the tubing effectively you need a very very very long tube.... next is to maintain enough pressure to send enough water in and out of the tube...

IMO, the best way if using the fan cool method yet reducing evaporation rate of saltwater main tank ....which is damn ugly and consume alot of space is to get a thin plastic bag.. as big a surface area as your sump can afford... pour fresh water into the bag... and blast whatever fans you can gather into the plastic bag.... that can actually work... but it takes up so much space and so unsightly that I laff at myself and threw that away`!!! In addition, it reduces the capacity of saltwater in the sump.... but temp will only reach the wet bulb temp only la... ie 27~28

my 2 cents worth

tt's as good as throwing ice into the water rite??

i have this crazy idea:

getting a titanium heat exchanger(coil) of suitable capacity and connecting it to a split system compressor unit. seal the titanium coil into a pvc box and run water through the box!!of coz we need to have a temp cntroller...

the titanium heat exhcnager cost ard SGD340 for 1/2 to 1 hp (unless someone has a lobang), the temp controller cost ard SGD 100 and a 2nd hand 9000btu 1-split system cost as low as SGD 150 - 200..so all in all a 1 hp 9000btu chiller cost 700+!!!

anyone got lobang for cheaper titanium heat exchanger?

the iceprobe can only cool a 2ft tank the most. and only 2oC the most so i dun recommend.

if the ice probe can only cool 2 degrees, might as well use ac fans.

In M'sia, if u buy order drinking water (RO, distilled, whatever) regularly, u will get a water dispenser (hot and cold) for free. My friend suggest using the dispenser as a cooler, just need to DIY the water passage n flow.

Downside is, i think the temp can't be controlled - might be too cold.

The cheapest chiller (dun know brand) here fit for 2-3ft tank is about RM1,500.

The IceProbe® Thermoelectric Water Cooling Device

* Efficient converts electricity directly into cooling

* Reliable the fan is the only moving part

* Easy to Install one hole, one nut

* Safe low voltage operation

* Environmentally Friendly no gasses or chemicals

The IceProbe is the ideal cooling solution for small aquariums (up to 55G or less). This quiet, reliable, and efficient chiller uses advanced thermoelectric technology to directly covert electricity into cooling power.

With its threaded probe, nylon nut, and silicon washer, the IceProbe, can be easily bulkheaded through a 1.25" hole into siphon overflows, prefilters, sumps, or even directly into acrylic aquariums.

A single IceProbe can cool 10 gallons of water 6-8F below ambient air temperature in a standard aquarium. Multiple IceProbes can be used in a single aquarium to achieve higher temperature differentials.

The IceProbe provides continuous chilling power. A separate temperature controller must be used to turn the the device on or off at predetermined temperatures.

Weighing in at only 2 pounds, the IceProbe® is powered by a separate 12 volt d.c. power supply and draws less than 50 watts.

iceprobe.gificeprobe2.gif

Works by Peltier effect.

Iceprobe will be great even if it reduces only 2 degrees . .cos won't cause much evaporation like the fan. Could it be found in Singapore ?

Would be interested to get one if i can find it to try it out.

I was at the farm at Lor Halus weeks back...

been to a FW retail and saw the Iceprobe on sale.....

Can't remember which one though...

Can check it out..... :lol: