What Corals can I keep

Put in bottles of ice into the tank until it cools down to 26-28 degrees!!!!!!!!!

Not actually as I put in one or two bottles in it cools down to 26.7 degrees or so.

you could use fans but it ain't gonna be cheap

ice bottles. while an effective way to lower temperature quickly, the quick reduction in temperature actually causes more stress to the fish than you may think.

imagine this scenario.

you are in an air conditioned room and the temperature of the thermostat is at 22deg celcius. you feel the effects of it, and you go increase it to 24deg celcius. ten minutes later, you feel that its too hot, and you lower it down again. you have the ability to regulate your body temperature by how the surrounding affects you because of a phenomenon in your body called homeostasis. your hypothalamus actually controls whether you lose heat or gain heat, depending on the surroundings.

fish also have that luxury. homeostasis occurs except at a scale whereby if magnified to human proportions, may kill a fully grown adult if repeated a number of times. long of the short is that...it'll kill you and the fish ultimately if you keep doing that.

by the way, repeated increasing and reduction of the thermostat in an air conditioned room will not only spoil the compressor, but also make you fall sick too as your body has to deal with the change of temperature every now and then. (=

What Corals can I keep for a 2Ft tank without Chiller at room temperature..peak at 30 or 31

I asked this before , but I can't remember and can't find the thread.

most corals cannot thrive at 30deg. its too hot for them to tahan. I think the peak temperature of corals is either 28deg or 26deg. no kidding. (=

just to let you know, spiderone

I do not find the method of adding ice bottles into the tank to cool the temp. very bad. in fact, the temp. will not drop as readily as you think but instead it will slowly drop in a matter of hours and remain there for around two hours before i add the ice again. :peace::yeah:

Actually i agree with spider, used to use ice bottle to cool my tank, the temperature fluctuate very easily.....

I am going to get a small fridge ( donno if its those for drinks one ) from a bank as free gift...

Any ideas how to use it to chill my water...?? I heard put air pump in fridge and pump cool air in water :))

But then again .....those fans might be better..

actually i felt the new fans at Aquar Rama were cooll..Heard there are similar versions at Sim lim tower??

Bro

forget about using ice. It doesn't work and its too troublesome. Trust me.

Use fans. Now that you got the auto top up from me, you should use as strong fans as you can. Just buy a cheap small home fan and blow at the whole tank (aim at surface). Don't bother with those small SIM LIM SQUARE fans. You can afford the speeded up evaporation rate. But be prepared and get a big pail for the freshwater.

As for corals, unless you can maintain your temp at below 28, you will find most corals hard to keep (keep dying every few weeks or months).

However some hardy temp resistant (30 to 31 degree) corals are :

1) All kinds of Mushrooms

2) All kinds of Ricordias

3) Thats all

I believe if you use the fan method you can maintain at below 29 constantly. In which case most corals can be kept (restricted to light demands of course).

Your fridge can be converted into a chiller. Since its basically a compressor and chilling coil. Look at DIY (constructing a chiller) posted by Alvy. However it will need some knowledge and $$$.

Actually buying fan is cheap and convenient leh :D ....compared to putting ice bottles inside the tank.... u juz place the fan ontop of the aquarium can liao and nothing else to worry about..... :rolleyes: ...

u wan to get cheap fan rite??? what is ur bugget??? below??$50? $40? $30? $20??

i noe of a place where they sell a fan for juz $23/-...... so u might consider going there to get one for urself.. keke :yeah:

PS.. the place is near lavender... it is juz near to the bustop... bus number 13 goes there... it is a planted tank ###### freshwater shop... u go there take alook lor... hoho :eyeblur:

PS.. the place is near lavender... it is juz near to the bustop... bus number 13 goes there... it is a planted tank ###### freshwater shop... u go there take alook lor... hoho

Are u referring to Nat**e aquarium?

I got my fan from there too last time... it cost me $30...

did the price dropped?