reducing temperature

tjlee

Dear all

have a problem with temp control for one of build in tank.

temp conatantly at 29+ even with pl light (one blue one white). currently running

one fan when lights on. May i have some suggestion on how to reduce one or two degree? no palce to install chiller.

currently keeping some small fishes. all fishes are doing well, thinking of putting some leather coral...possible?

thanks and happt CNY :D

Your fan may not be strong enough. I'm running a 3ft x 1.5ft with 4 T5 HO tubes on at night from 6-11pm, and with 2 blue tubes on for even longer. My temp has not exceeded 28 degrees. If you're using an AC fan, I think it's not strong enough. The DC fans like the Jebo ones are probably better. I'm using a fan that's like a minature of those air curtains that you get when you enter a shopping centre. It's been reliable, but I've not been able to find another supplier for it.

Yep, get a bigger fan, make sure it is a DC fan (ie, wire does not need to go through a "black box", don't know what you call that). Also those 2 or 3 small computer fans in a row also don't do that well.

My 4 ft tank is cooled by a Sunon fan ($18-20) 24 hrs and temp is below 29C.

Hi adrian, how long have your fan been running 24/7 to date? I have a previous one (same as yours) which I ran for 24/7 for about 7 months and it suddenly 'explode' in the middle of the night. My family was awoke by a sudden bright flash and 'pop' sound from the living room and I realised the fan was gone.

Wow! That must be scary, to have fireworks in the house. Mine only been running for 4 mth +.

Maybe these fans need a cooling fan for themselves :lol: . Or run 2 fans alternately (with timer). After hearing your experience, I'm now considering replacing the fan every 6 mths, like how we replace the filter carbon.

Thanks for all the sharing :D:thanks:

May be i should change the fan..current one is those square one from taiwan (DC type).... is rusty already :cry:

those DC fan don't need adapter.

wah bro noob, it must be real shock to you :evil: fan on fire???

yesterday went to some shops in pasir ris fish farm, they said those 4 in one type not very good leh....may be should get two of those bigger fan.....but the water will evaporate very fsat right?? is it normal to loss 1L of water every day? currently i need to top up about 1L per day.

happy CNY to all of you and to all our fishes and corals :D

fans should be angled at around 45deg of the water surface and you should make sure that all the water surface is being rippled by the wind. fans can be very very effective but evap rate must be closely monitored.

so downside = either top up with DI water or get auto top up

try to avoid entirely submerged equipment. because of all the heat generated will be dissipated into the water. whereas partially submerged equipment such as the eheim universal pump, heat can be dissipated to the surrounding air instead. but then again, things like wave makers are unavoidable.

for all that trouble and hassle, why don't u just grab a second hand chiller from one of the bro.s here? CL280 go for as low as $150? I seen that before.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

Hi adrian, how long have your fan been running 24/7 to date? I have a previous one (same as yours) which I ran for 24/7 for about 7 months and it suddenly 'explode' in the middle of the night. My family was awoke by a sudden bright flash and 'pop' sound from the living room and I realised the fan was gone.

Think it's time for me to change my Sunon fan to a new one after hearing Bro Noob experience. Scary!

It has been very effective to bring down my tank temp by 1-2 degrees and i only on it when the lights are on. l kept both LPS and softies and all doing ok.

But evaporation is like :sick:

fans should be angled at around 45deg of the water surface and you should make sure that all the water surface is being rippled by the wind. fans can be very very effective but evap rate must be closely monitored.

so downside = either top up with DI water or get auto top up

try to avoid entirely submerged equipment. because of all the heat generated will be dissipated into the water. whereas partially submerged equipment such as the eheim universal pump, heat can be dissipated to the surrounding air instead. but then again, things like wave makers are unavoidable.

for all that trouble and hassle, why don't u just grab a second hand chiller from one of the bro.s here? CL280 go for as low as $150? I seen that before.

No need so ex lah.. I sold my CL 300 for only $60.

Try looking at arofanatics.com. There are usually some affordable chiller around $100.

So sad that i cannot install chiller as it is a build in tank. no way to run piping.

currently try to on the hall fan, the temp will go down to about 28+ but fluctuate between 28 to 30......only go down to 27 if i on aircorn :D

the fishes are doing ok....eat like pig :yeah: leathers look ok, even open flower :D

if still cannot find a long term solution then just have to keep fishes only...so sad

So sad that i cannot install chiller as it is a build in tank. no way to run piping.

currently try to on the hall fan, the temp will go down to about 28+ but fluctuate between 28 to 30......only go down to 27 if i on aircorn :D

the fishes are doing ok....eat like pig :yeah: leathers look ok, even open flower :D

if still cannot find a long term solution then just have to keep fishes only...so sad

bro can lar .. if u have a air con unit in your living room, one it 24/7 :lol: your electrical bill will hit the sky though