Roidan's 4ft tank

roidan

no lah..not angry lah...peace

just that which feature of the matured tank will make the powder happier....if it is low nitrates...i think 10ppm not say very high but not say very low also..i remembered my old 2ft maintained at 5ppm though....

but if say need those algae on rocks to be considered mature...also have some sprouts of algae growing leh..the rest of the fishes got peck the rocks here and there but they eat the food i gave them too...just that the powder tee kee...sigh.

so i also duno which feature of a mature tank will make the powder happier :(

• Replies 650

Stability comes in terms of water condition(salinity, PH, Nitrates being one of them), temperature, feeding, moving of rock works and even lighting regime. All these may contribute some stress to the fish and inhabitants of the tank. At least this is what I gathered. Any old birds, feel free to correct me.

Not angry then good. :peace:

of all the parameters mentioned...i try to keep to my old tank parameters...i wonder how the new fishes will adapt but at least the old stuff will not get too much stress....

i think all quite constant except PH, last time i use 24 hour refugium lighting...now using 12 hour...but even in the old 24 hour, the powder wasn't in it also mah...so not as though it experience the conditions of the old tank and then come to the new tank it cannot tahan...

dunno lah...the rest that came over from the old tank seem quite happy...maybe it's just the powder who already sick and not eating before i got it and no matter what i do, it also dun want to eat...

not angry definitely, just that a beautiful specimen die on me...very sian, du lan, helpless, disappointed

tank update:

pruned my macroalgae today..found clumps of string like green algae...very fine strings...but green colour...like a gal's long hair ...it's not as thick as spagetti algae....wonder what species it is...

tested nitrates today...seems like between 5 to 10ppm...closer to 5's colour actually...

u really good, I hate testing nitrates..

the most siong as calcium one.. :(

yeah..calcium is the most ley chey...this nitrate quite ok lah...just put powder 1 swirl abit and put powder 2 and then swirl abit...then compare colour liao..one of the easier procedures liao lor....

the tetra nitrate more problematic...got 3 solutions and 1 powder...LOL.....salifert better..more accurate and simpler procedures....tetra one is put 5ml tank water...then 14 drops of solution 1....then swirl..then 7 drops of solution 2...then swirl...then put one spoon of powder...then shake....then 7 drops of solution 3...FAINT ah

PH, nitrite n ammonia IMO is more easy..

how come your nitrate so easy one..??

simei brand?

I can't recall my nitrate test kit wat brand liao.. but like your salifert like dat. supposely all the same kind mah..

unless u get the expensive test slip one.

i using 2 kits for nitrate to double check in case one go haywire..lol

salifert nitrate...the one with 2 powders...easy to test..

tetra nitrate..the one with 3 solutions and 1 powder...lol

but the salifert one is more accurate to the small resolutions...

it can colour code from 0ppm, 2ppm, 5ppm, 10ppm....all the way to 100ppm...

whereas the tetra only 0, 12.5, 25, 50.....

so i highly recommend the salifert one...

Forgot something, otherwise, your tank looks great and I like the clams.

hehe...yeah..

those are my precious..and my gf loves to *scare* them by waving her hands above them......some have been with me for over a year...some are new addition...

anyway, how's the UV that i sold you? is you right? hope i did not get it wrong...

Update:

Did a water change yesterday....nitrate level today is about 5ppm...

Anyway, today woke up and tot i saw many microbubbles in the main tank...upon closer look...the microbubbles were swimming :blink:

i think they are white pods...each about 1mm or less...swimming in the main tank water column...thosands of them....i wonder where they came from...think to get a mandarin i guess.... :)

• Sponsor
hi all:

i may put up this 4foot tank for sale....just the tank setup alone..without corals and livestock.....just the bare tank and sump and cabinet face...

interested please PM me :)

time to consolidate my attention and finance ;)

hi bro,

i think u will make it in "SRC guiness record" for the shortess tank upgrade time......@ 1mth...

i think, nobody will upgrade that fast......... :lol: