SRC Member Tigger Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 What's the out flow pipe dimensions vs the inflow pipe dimensions? Currenty running overflow too with 1" (x2) to sump and 3/4" (x1) return to main tank. Powered by 1262 also. Yeah, me having bubling sound at sump also from the overflow water. Do share if u got any solution. Me thinking of adding wool floss to cushion the bubbling sound. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 What's the out flow pipe dimensions vs the inflow pipe dimensions? Currenty running overflow too with 1" (x2) to sump and 3/4" (x1) return to main tank. Powered by 1262 also. Yeah, me having bubling sound at sump also from the overflow water. Do share if u got any solution. Me thinking of adding wool floss to cushion the bubbling sound. mine is 2 x 25mm drainage and 1 x 20mm return to main tank....may be about the same as your set up... thats why got bubbling....i think we should have gone with 3 x 25mm as return or use a weaker pump...sigh...i put so much wool to cover the pipes still bubbling... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 try adding up to the max.. just below the outlet where the water from tank flow down. this can minised the sound? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 ammonia is climbing....use the ammonia alert from my old tank to check to levels Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 Wah nice start up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 durso pipe in action....1 inch drop from main tank into overflow compartment Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 can take a picture of the whole overflow compartment? I want to see how the Durso pipe thing works. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 top view... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 see the water flow inside Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 so the water flows from the overflow compartment into the Durso pipe via the pipe that sticks out from the side of the Durso pipe? and the cover is to regulate the air flow or something? dunno. just...asking coz I'll be getting my tank soon. will be good to know the physics of it. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 here is the site to answer all your questions..from the founder himself..hehe http://www.rl180reef.com/pages/standpipe/c...t-standpipe.htm Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 so the water flows from the overflow compartment into the Durso pipe via the pipe that sticks out from the side of the Durso pipe? and the cover is to regulate the air flow or something? dunno. just...asking coz I'll be getting my tank soon. will be good to know the physics of it. (= actually the idea of the durso pipe is to raise the water level before it drains to the sump thus reducing or eliminating the waterfall sound when the water falls through a height of 2 feet or more... but the airhole is to prevent a full siphon if i am not wrong, if the wrong airhole size is used, one problem is solved but another problem is produced, the water level in the overflow chamber will pop up and down and will not be stable...hehe but generally a 3mm airhole should work ok....both my baby durso and papa durso also used 3mm holes Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 I know that site. and everything still seems greek or latin to me. nevermind guess I'll have to ask my friend when I see it for myself tomorrow or some time soon when I go for "tank inspection" hurhur thanks anyways eh any other shots of your tank or not? as in...its condition now as we speak. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 hehe...should be quite simple if u digest it slowly..hehe...anyway your fren or any of us here can help u when your tank comes also... no new pics of the tank as still cycling leh...still the same scaping as the earlier pictures with 2 hills..hahah... the two towers..... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 at least you got two towers to be proud of. I don't even have anything. bleah. tank not even here yet, not even confirmed as I speak. must go down and secure it with my friend tomorrow. kanchiong spider me already went to buy a chiller, two pumps (one for return one for skimmer), and akan dating will be the skimmer and the ATI lights. hurhur. I'd rather get it now and be broke for X'mas than buy presents for X'mas and be broke for fish. its a good excuse, anyways. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 I am Tankless too...... feel so empty inside..... Though i could run away......... but i cant.. i still got ur face.. painted on my heart.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 dun worry...u will have all in due time....and your wallet will lose all in due time...haha same here.. the T5 lights for my sump and a blue/actinic T5 for my main tank has already been done up by me...all DIY also....but since still cycling , no point mount them and risk them getting all wet..lol.. yeah..spend money now so got good excuse to skip all the LVs, SKIIs, whatever your gal wants...LOL... ok..going off soon...back in the night to reply to the thread Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 I am Tankless too...... feel so empty inside..... Though i could run away......... but i cant.. i still got ur face.. painted on my heart.. pray tell its not me on your mind. speaking of which. want to go out for supper sometime this week? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 /me blushes. Exams man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 shit. mine ends tomorrow. when does yours end? really interested in meeting you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 if u look like my avatar. right now is possible too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 3, 2003 Share Posted November 3, 2003 if u look like my avatar. right now is possible too there's always the surgeon's knife to remove some bits and add on some bits. the products can be viewed at Changi Village and Desker Road. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sam_always Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 Hi bro roidan, Why you using metal stand? dont you know eventually it will corrode. how long can your metal stand last? I am going to get a new tank soon. wondering whether getting wooden one or metal one. regards, Kah Wei Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted November 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2003 wow. this treat from fish change to plastic sugery..hahaha.. funny sia.. hehehehee raymend.. take a pic of your slump tank leh??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted November 3, 2003 Author Share Posted November 3, 2003 Hi bro roidan, Why you using metal stand? dont you know eventually it will corrode. how long can your metal stand last? I am going to get a new tank soon. wondering whether getting wooden one or metal one. regards, Kah Wei hehe..no problem with the stand...i coated it with special anti corrosion paint with not 1..not 2...but 4 coats....the stand came matt black..but i doubt the paintwork, so i painted 4 thick coats before the tank finally came.... if u can..go for stainless steel ..strong..but abit too shiny for my liking Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...