Cheap T5 Light set at Aquarama

reef2

yap look like normal FL even after a close up look at the pic! and output doesn't seem any difference frm normal FL lights... the actinic is producing a similar brightness as my $10 FL actinic for my fish only. dun think it's worthy but the ARCADIA LUMINAIRE should be much better!

actually, not many has used it....so give it a chance and see how the 2FT softies will turn out...bottom line...you pay for that price. That's wat you get..... ;) , pay $200pluas plus for ATI, of course you get solid reflector and brighter lights....

I think it would be gd enough for those who wans to start and try reefing...serious coral keeping...I wont compromise anything ....I'll use MHand chiller. :lol:

Was told that LFS shop price should be more than at Aquarama....Not sure if it's true since some LFS will discount from recommended retail. Anyway, being kiasu, bought one there and then! :lol:

Intelligent people talk about ideas......

Average people talk about things......

Small people talk about other people......

IMO, i don't think the dymax T5s is anywhere as bright as ATI.

Anyway to relate an incident, i didn't know the light set that dymax was displaying was T5. So i just look under the casing to take a look at the light tube (and i even manage to see the imprints which stated it was T5). Anyone who has actually look at the T5s by ATI will know that its almost impossible to look at the tube without getting blurry eyes.

:blink:

T5 is only the trade designation for the diameter of the tube - 5/8 inch or 16 mm. T8 is 8/8 inch or 25 mm, T12 is 12/8 inch etc

Definately not the same brightness - it's only 20W - but it is T5.

Intelligent people talk about ideas......

Average people talk about things......

Small people talk about other people......

Hi reef2,

My Dymax stop working ...both tubes out.

Just called Adec at 67527577. They will pick it up at my place and replace a new one... they said it must be shipment problem.

Hi, mine too, one of the white tube was out too, just call this afternoon, they say they will be here tomorrow to replace the tube. i bought 2 set for my 3 ft tank and i interchange them to the same light togather.

<_<

I think it is enough for softies.....definitely not for clams and sps lah....

if not satisfied ...can add a single MH to it...keke......... :evil:

Wow T5 tube with no eballast.....better go for PL.

Take a GOOD LOOK of the light... not worth getting it.. IMO.. :thanks:

They do come with eballast and its located below the reflector. My also spoilt 2 days ago and i perform a 'surgery' on the Dymax, dound tat the eballast spoilt. Managed to diy and changed it to a 36-40W eballast. Now can get ATI T5 and install into the casing. :yeah:

I hope you have bought the eballast for T5 and not just the common type for FL.

T5 eballast is longer, and the width is abt 1 inch or less only. The normal type can light up, but maynot be able to fully brighten up the ATI tube which is higher watss..

hi jd_n, how you perform the operation, can you just briefly example on how you do it, i am really interested in doing it also. i bought 2 set from them, but on them down, they say will come and replace it, but till today, they did not turn up yet, they say will be coming on monday, that wait and see. :thanks: