Setting up 1.5ft cube tank

moi_dar

ya agree with ambystoma82.... getting a sump for ur 1.5ft cube will not help much...soon ur 1.5ft cube will be full..or is it overcrowded now?

can see that you are really into reefing, why dun u sit down and think thru... and bite the bullet to get the biggest tank that your wallet and house could accomodate.... with all the matched equipment, sump, skimmer, FR, chiller, lightings etc etc.... after that you could chiong LFS till you drop.,.....

I also wish... :( but my financial adviser/personal atm doesn't allow such a function to be carried out. Everything from my own "si fang qian" which is much... :unsure: Unless I strike 4D/toto... :angel: can only buy cheapo stuff and slower upgrade lei :erm: .

• Replies 378

did you remove the intake and outlet hoses from the tank before disconnecting the hoses from the cannister side?

since you don't have the control valve to 'lock' when removing the hose from the cannister... you have to remove the intake & outlet hoses from the tank (assumming u off the cannister pump liao) and drain the hose of water, then you remove the hose from the cannister (put the cannister in a tub, as suggested by urself)........

if u remove the cannister hose first (with the intake and outlet hose still in the tank), you will create a free flowing 'tap' from tank to the open end of the hose.......

hope i got your problem right and gave the right solution.........

haha our bro here mean...ur prob is cus by gravity flow...cus e canister place at a lower height than e tank... water flow to lower pressre places..

hehe i was tinkin ask u to find something high enuff place e canister same height as e tank top... lol.... just kiddin... eh... dun try tht orhz... just say say only..

hee...

since u goin to get a new tank,try dun get so much xtra items lyin ard..

u shld picture e probs after gettin ur new tank

measure e flr area..

tell ur hubby its to beautify e hse loh..

surely he will believe tht than @@ing u havin ur current tank setup..

i dare not say fengshui...later he scold u -->u scold me lolx..

did you remove the intake and outlet hoses from the tank before disconnecting the hoses from the cannister side?

Err... Must remove the hose from the tank huh? So troublesome? No wonder I was practically drenched last night. Must try to get my hands on the control valve tomorrow.

Am I correct to say I must place the control valve to this part?

post-69-1168442507.jpg

Anyway, here's my tank after rescaping gazillion times! Still not very eye pleasing... but decided to let my corals rest for a while before my hands itching and rescape it.

Question: Should I place my galaxy there? But worried it might sting my cup on the right.

Was thinking of getting a glam and place it where the galaxy is now.

post-69-1168443122.jpg

since u goin to get a new tank,try dun get so much xtra items lyin ard..

u shld picture e probs after gettin ur new tank

measure e flr area..

tell ur hubby its to beautify e hse loh..

surely he will believe tht than @@ing u havin ur current tank setup..

i dare not say fengshui...later he scold u -->u scold me lolx..

Talk only very easy hor :rolleyes:

eh.. u still using the wooden stand? where is ur new stand?

Still waiting for quotation leh. Not instant one lah. Hopefully can get it before CNY.

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Hubby just came home with a sad news for me. NO big fat bonus this year... think gotta stick to my nano for a while :(

aiyoh.. got bonus very good liao... no big FAT bonus never mind la....

if limited by budget then no choice lor, still to the 1.5ft cube, but just that you have to be xtra hardworking in taking care of it... and since you have intention to upgrade later, dun spend unneccessary things on the cube tank...save up for the big project....

as for the stand, why the quotation took so long? maybe you should look else where......... how abt 2 tier wood stand (kapur)? if keen, you may ask for the contact from ming or me...........

cheers........

Actually, didn't realise my uncle has already started working on it liao. Just told me will cost about $400. Pai sei to tell him don't want it liao and it will be coming in sometime this week. Will take a full pic with the cabinet when it comes in.

Did you make the cabinet with the intention of having a bigger tank in future? or is it specifically for 1.5 ft cube?

n34281892381_7606.jpg

No leh... not place near strong current. Have noticed there was a small gap since first day I brought it home. Any idea how to save it?

i think put at low current area and give it some time to attach back to the rock...

My Xenia seems to be peeling off the rock, any idea why? Need to glue it back? Need to get epoxy? Can get at hardware store? Would uncle know what is epoxy when I ask for it?

Actually Super Glue Gel is easier to apply in this case :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

No lah, got electrocuted cos the water from the cannister shot out when I was trying to remove the hose from it... Haven't got the valve to control the water flow yet. Even with the valve, I don't see why the water won't drip out from the cannister?

Currently I remove the hose from the cannister and the water simply kept flowing out from the hose and wet everything. Almost flood the whole kitchen! Thank God I've moved it out from my living room... if not my laminated flooring would have been gone!

A possible way which I thought might prevent the water from wetting the place was getting a big tube to place under the cannister before I remove the top of the cannister. Then bring the body of the cannister in the tube to the bathroom to clear? Feasible idea?

Little Bull, where are you???? :cry2: How did you do it???? :cry: Must PM her and ask her secret liao? :pirate:

:lol: Hi looking for me :lol:

Sorry, busy at work. by the tie come home already super tired liao. Thus seldom go through the nano update :P

This is how I do it when want to clean the cannister...

1st, turn off the valve (Inlet and outlet)

2nd, switch off the power connection

3rd, remove the valve from the cannister top

4th, open the cover

5th, tada, jod done :yeah: Carry the cannister tub to the bathroom.

Hope it work for you. :peace: