The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB! (2'x1'x1.5')

johntanjm

neon goby eh? ok ok will check it out man. angels are not too bad also what. very nice mah. sun corals nice is nice, but tedious hardwork man. need to target feed and the feeding dirties the water

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

• Replies 226

bro see that u have feather starfish.. how is it liao? i got 3 attemp all die off..

feather starfish gonna up the lorry. hahahha its true man. hard to keep

but i dont know what is the thing affecting it leh. can't be water quality. the only thing that's bad is nitrates considerably high.

Significant coraline growth. Compare with page 7. Those pics were dated 7 Jan 2007. this is slightly less then a month later

post-34-1170519981.jpg

get some turbo snails to clear up the algea lor.. its works well

one thing i dont like about turbo snails is that they will leave tracks all over the place as they eat the algae. i think those magnetic scrubber will be better.

great tank u got there and u must have been paying alot of attention daily too :)

maybe can consider getting snails to clear the algae. sorry to hear about the feather seastar.. poor thing :( read u use henry's food, it should be able to feed on that. maybe can try to flood your tank like some bros mentioned. i do that also, during the feeding tank maybe flooded and blurry but covers whole tank where all inverts get the food.

for me bobian cuz got many inverts in diff hidden places so flooding and letting the flow get around solve my problem of whether any invert got missed out :lol: i only target feed my brittle stars and big hermit as they will grab the meaty bits and makan excitedly. nice moment to watch :P

Yeah my Feather Seastar is not doing well too :(

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Yeah my Feather Seastar is not doing well too

yeah man.. what's with the feather star. mine was like the bright red star in the tank. now the tentacles shorten alot, drop off bit by bit. now and then isee the legs.

maybe can try to flood your tank like some bros mentioned. i do that also, during the feeding tank maybe flooded and blurry but covers whole tank where all inverts get the food.

wah that's quite extravagent on the food. usually i target feed everything with a syringe. My tank so small redi, if i flood, nurtient will hike like nobody's business. some how i think prizm is good, but not good enough. bubbles not fine enough to skim that well. just saw one bro sell a biostar floto. slow on step, if not i surely buy that to change.

bro X, and bro bigben. all things will leave trail one lar. even bristle tooth also will leave funny markings on the algae patch on the glass tank. ahahahhaha.

hey i need to reduce nitrates quite urgently before it gets beyond control. tempted with the vodka method man. any comments?

and another shot. higher resolution pictures can be found at

-------------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB

post-34-1172068645.jpg

and one last random shot. made a rather interesting video clip of the tank. its night footage, can see the bugs scrambling on the sand bed. its all at

so far updates..i'm trying out pura nitralock again after reading the website's full instruction. Ich is still around, but garlic seems to be helping to keep it at bay.

hope you guys like the pix

post-34-1172068776.jpg

wow really nice sunnies.. can let me noe if intend to sell off any frags?

attempting to construct a sunny tower B)

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

bro andy, how to construct a sun tower man? are u gonna epoxy small sun frags to a long branch of tonga? the green/black sun is a branching species thats why got that shape. as for orange and yellow, they seem to be the encrusting kind of coral. green suns i think i was super super lucky to find them so cannot sell ah. as for the orange ones, they're pretty common eh. GO has very very healthy specimens.

bro warner.. i heard before that black suns are actually green. but so dark green until they're black. i don't know how true it is. I'm hoping to find one black sun with shocking pink tentacles!

and another shot. higher resolution pictures can be found at

very nice and clear picture u have there and the sunnies is the center attraction ya . well done on the sunnies since some reefer even have problem to make them bloom :) very good buy indeed .

does the sunnies take up a lot of ur tank space ?

i've already built sort of like tower using LRs on one side of my tank. so far only glued 3 orange suns to it. best will be a mixture of sunnies.

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef