The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB! (2'x1'x1.5')

johntanjm

• Replies 226

correction, skimmer won't skim like mad. skimmer will still skim at the same rate. it'd be a magic skimmer if the more rubbish you have, the harder it skims. hahahahahha!

more like the collection cup will fill up like mad

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

How many of you guys have actually counted number of types of things living in your tank? i think its quite amazing ah. alone in this pic there are already 15 different types of living organisms not accounting for how many of each there are.

if you add in bister worms, crabs, copepods, coraline algae, green algae, red algae, mysterious monsters (ie mantis shrimp) blah blah blah

its really WOW. hey guys go count and share your results leh.

read more at the

-------------------------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB

post-34-1167062332.jpg

thanks bro. advise very much useful and apprecaited! Mg problem solved and fixed with some special lab grade MgCl. that stuff is super concentrated and kicks ######!

Mg induces coraline growth. The day after i dose and raise Mg, my pipe's coraline increase by almost double.

post-34-1167758304.jpg

I've been taking this time to read alot about Mg and its role in sea water chemistry. For Mg to go into the water, it must be in the form of an ion, so Mg strips will not be of any help. you need to get it in a salt form so it can readily dissolve and ionise into the water for the corals/LS to use.

Secondary school chemistry, mix Mg with HCl (hydrochloric acid) -> MgCl and Hydrogen gas. mix Mg with H2SO4 (sulphuric acid) -> MgSO4 and hydrogen.

These are the 2 most common ways to get a Mg salt. the chloride ion is very very very abundant in nature so dosing MgCl is a safe and effective way of raising Mg. sulphate ion is not so, so i don't suggest using this.

If you want to discuss and find out more about this chemical reaction, PM me

more pix, this rock was BARE if you compare to my earlier pix. now look at the coraline

post-34-1167758656.jpg

All those coralline growth looking very promising... do check your Ca too :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

woah~ coralline algae expert! :D :D :D

eh don't say like that lar. i'm sure alot of other bro.s out there are coraline experts too! whole tank wall encrusted with coraline!

Glad U sorted out yr MG problem. Take a look at my thread. Those rocks do get real purple soon once parameters are in place. I do like coraline algae in moderation but once it gets excessive. Its quite irritating.

i guess i still have alot of room for it lor. my rocks are so bare, some are even white. so a little coraline will help make everything blend together to be one whole scape.

you're right, once some parameters are in place, coraline growth will just take off. learning a new thing all the time!

thanks!

bro see that u have feather starfish.. how is it liao? i got 3 attemp all die off..

hey bro X,

the star's been with me for um... 7 days already. its quite boring lar. just stay there lor. you poke it, then it will change position and stay there again. but its really quite something to look at. very eye catching.

i read its something difficult to keep but you know if you go diving in singapore waters, feather stars are super super abundant!

it stayed the same size as it did when i bought it. no signs of falling tentacles or the hair drop off.

how you know when its dying off?

When most of the tentacles fall off lor... I bought a specimen 3 weeks ago too... looking fine :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

hey i notice there's this black color 'worm' looks somewhat like a leech always crawling up and down the feather's arm's 'spine'. should i use a tweezer to remove it?

yesterday i touch it, then i think it got pissed and started on its round the tank trip. crawl crawl crawl one big round for one whole day then finally decided it still like its original position cos like u said.. good flow of water

3 days to be exact. not very significant from the pictures but if you compare you can see that the area of the coraline has increased and new patches have started.

post-34-1168103013.jpg