The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB! (2'x1'x1.5')

johntanjm

So after the previous thread of that community tank and people adopting fishies, the tank's gone on its way from a leaking skimmer to diatom booms, magnesium problems and finally I'm glad to say that its up and its ready! It's all happening at http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

So reefers this blog is for everyone. Let me know what pix you like me to post, how i can improve this blog and keep your comments coming. I've benefited alot from the critical remarks, cautions as well as encouraging comments from alot of you bros. so thanks!

post-34-1166201079.jpg

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

• Replies 226

Wow finally a pix of you tank :yeah:

Ok... for a start... may I suggest adding a backdrop to your background :)

More pix :bow:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

And a side view, as usual bros will always ask about tank spex

Lighting: 150W MH 20,000K 5pm-1230am (7.5hrs)

Water Flow:

Eheim 2227 wet/dry - 1050 L/H

Eheim 2224 - 750 L/H

Prizm - 600L/H

Skimmer: Prizm

Bio Filter:

Eheim substrat pro (inside 2227)

biohome white (inside 2224)

Chemical Filter:

Chemipure (inside 2224)

Chiller:

Teco RA200

pH: 8.0

dKH: 10-12

NO2: 0

NO3: 12.5-25mg/L

MG: 1020

CA: 500

Salinity: 1.022

Temp: 26.9-27.1

post-34-1166202117.jpg

Wow finally a pix of you tank :yeah:

Ok... for a start... may I suggest adding a backdrop to your background :)

More pix :bow:

you know I wish i posted pix earlier! I was discussing this exact same thing on another thread lar! I really wish i had put a background but the way things are at the back, really cannot change already :( sadly

and here's another view of the tank with a slightly different angle from the previous pic

-----------------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB

post-34-1166202310.jpg

Quite true :cry:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Actually I kinda pity the clowns Mr. and Ms. Mo. They seem quite restless without an anemone so much so that they're taking the hammer as their surrogate host.

If anemone don't move around it'd be perfect but like you all said, if it crawl around then kena suck into the filter. that's it man, i'll cry cleaning it up.

hahahaha!

woah bro your pipings ...... power. lol maybe u can get those foam or plastic back drops. those put in tank. i think most of them are used in planted tanks but i guess it will look better than exposed pipings and tubes. i think it will take up 1 or 2 inches of space though

The pipings is just crazy lar. 2 canisters and hence 4 pipes, 2 out 2 return and plus one more breather pipe for the wet/dry. so total 5.

you just gave me a very good idea. so all i need to do is to buy a thin foam board, paste black, loosen those suction cups on the outside, and slot the board in and fasten the suction pipe holders again onto the board? you think that would work?

Very clear water :rolleyes:

l think a blue or black background paper wld really be better than seeing those pipings and prizm exposed.

And maybe later a few bigger LRs as l saw many small pieces of LR stacked together?? Not sure if the current ones are secured to each other to prevent......??

add a surface skimmer to the canister intake might be useful

Last time I use one for the planted tank it make alot of gurgling noise. I have one overflow inlet with me now but now this marine tank inside got limited space lar. extend one extra bar inside also difficult cos of the rockscape. enough to give me space to clean the glass but not enough for more equipment.

but the overflow inlet has both over and under flow so end of the day, still need sponge to protect = more space taken up. haiz. One day when i'm there, I will make one tank like yours!

hmm....

put sponges at the opening of the pipe?

if there is enough light and water flow is ok. i dont think the anemone would move around right?

hey bro, after you suggested anemone, i went to see anemone today. Got some damm cute ones lar, I was so tempted to buy!

anemone usually stay lar, but when they move ah, they won't ask you if it's ok to move and ask u where u want to them to move. they just anyhow go. headache eh. haha!

The pipings is just crazy lar. 2 canisters and hence 4 pipes, 2 out 2 return and plus one more breather pipe for the wet/dry. so total 5.

you just gave me a very good idea. so all i need to do is to buy a thin foam board, paste black, loosen those suction cups on the outside, and slot the board in and fasten the suction pipe holders again onto the board? you think that would work?

i think u should get those plastic ones. i dunno watz it called but u can get it at popular or any store that sells stationery. they come in big sheets. there are "strips" of plastic in the middle to support the other 2 panels. they look like something i have drawn below. pardon me for my bad drawing skills. these kinda boards are a little tricky to cut though.

i wont reco foam. i dun knoe wat kinda foam u are planning to use but the ones i have worked, when u move any moveable part little pieces of foam will fall. can be quite irritating. however if u really want to use foam, i the best one would be blue foam (dun knoe watz its actual name but it comes in blue) its pretty dense. chances of it breaking up i alot lower than the normal white ones u see. btw the suction cups will diffinately not stick to the foam. not sure about the plastic though

hope this helps

post-34-1166288102.jpg

bro big ben! yes yes! I know what you're talking about. hahahaha! i also don't know how u call that. hahahaha!

as bro yvonneysl suggested, we all know how useful overflows can be, so this was my response to implement it when designing the filtration.

In my opinion, it is not all that effective but it does make a difference.

bro ben, don't worry, i also not very good at drawing

post-34-1166288708.jpg

ya .. overflow system is the best lar ... but my tank is almost 6 years old man ... i tried DIYing an overflow ones but failed terribly. now using 2 pumps to pump water into and out of the sump. yes i knoe its risky and all but i do have some measures taken so no flood will happen

try using a tunze overflow or those acrylic overflow boxes? they're engineered such that the siphon is able to recover itself. i use MH then always got the bugs die on the water surface. damm irritating

my previous tank design was DIY internal overflow partition. I took all precautions so that it was logically impossible for the siphon to break. it never broke down since i put it into operation, but adjusting the water level was a bit of a challenge.

So after the previous thread of that community tank and people adopting fishies, the tank's gone on its way from a leaking skimmer to diatom booms, magnesium problems and finally I'm glad to say that its up and its ready! It's all happening at http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

So reefers this blog is for everyone. Let me know what pix you like me to post, how i can improve this blog and keep your comments coming. I've benefited alot from the critical remarks, cautions as well as encouraging comments from alot of you bros. so thanks!

Whoa bro, u have very nice pinky LR in your tank... :D

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

thanks bro reefzzz. those rocks were from another reefer. she was clearing her tank and let me picked all the coraline encrusted ones. I'm seeing coraline bits appearing on the other rocks as well as on the glass. Hopefully all the rocks will get nice and pinky too

bro ... my inlet smiliar to yours... i tried the sponge method.. works for a while ... but i the gurgling sound can back in minutes.. sounding worse ! the the gurgle was faster and more irritating.. think the only method is to put a right angle elbow and face it downward .. and i can do that coz my inlet pipe is huge and would suck it the fish ..