Sps & Florida Ric Tank

acidjazz

I have accepted the fact that sps can't thrive in my 6 footer tank which is dominated by fishes. Therefore, i might be planning to get a separate 2 footer cube when i have the time to set up.

Here's a list of the equipments:

Cabinet: White in colour, 3ft length x 2ft breath x3ft height

Main tank: 2x2x2 ft cube with side overflow box

Sump tank: 2x1.8x2ft

Return pimp: Eheim 1262

Chiller pump: Aquabee 2000

Skimmer pump: Aquabee 2000 or Aquabee 3000

Lighting: DE Lumenarc 250 watt Metal Halide

Skimmer: Deltec 851

Calcium reactor: Reef Maniacs RCR 624

Chiller: Hailea HC-150A

Wavemaker: Tunze 6060 x2

Additional : Ph monitor

What do you guys think?

• Replies 90

It will be a bare bottom tank. . with minimal fishes. Max 5 fishes, all must be less than 2.5 inches. Entire system will be dominated by Sps and Florida Ricordia.

Due to the size, the margin of error will be greatly increased. Therefore i will be relying on monitors/controllers to counter check on the paremeters of the tank.

So far it's just ideas and lots of ideas, if the plan do succeed, it will be a real slow progress.

• Sponsor

wah bro, u got a deep pocket leh....i wish i was born with a silver spoon too

as for a 3ft height, it will not be wise as u will have difficulty in maintaining in future. The MH will also not be able to penetrate and u will need atleast a 400watts. The best height will be either 2, 2.25 or 2.5ft

And also, a 2ft width is not a good choice. I feel marine tank should have a min 2.5ft width.....

if you have the space, a 3x3x2 will be nice. For SPS, it best to invest on a tunze controller rather than the 2x6060.

A TS24 will be nice... :D

my 2 cents

I find that the sump tank hight is too high. 16" or 18" should do a good job, easier to maintain.

For the skimmer feeding pump use the aquabee 1000 should be enough. Unless u tee off to other equipment.

For wavemaker i agree with Dr. Evil use the TS 24. ;)

And use a Ph controller. :lol:

wah bro, u got a deep pocket leh....i wish i was born with a silver spoon too

as for a 3ft height, it will not be wise as u will have difficulty in maintaining in future. The MH will also not be able to penetrate and u will need atleast a 400watts. The best height will be either 2, 2.25 or 2.5ft

And also, a 2ft width is not a good choice. I feel marine tank should have a min 2.5ft width.....

if you have the space, a 3x3x2 will be nice. For SPS, it best to invest on a tunze controller rather than the 2x6060.

A TS24 will be nice... :D

my 2 cents

bro, you are born with golden spoon!!! :lol:

I always wanted a cube tank. . . 2ft cube seems compact and easier to maintain. If i dun have the 6 footer in my house now, i will definately go build a 3x3x2.25 ft tank. Unfortunately most of my money is inside the 6ft tank now, doing a 3 footer cube wld greatly strain my resources.

The Lumenarc wld be build inside the cabinet, directly above the sps. . i forsee sld be sufficent.

Maintaining two tanks need lots of mollas. . . . . :P You know any loanshark? :lol:

I find that the sump tank hight is too high. 16" or 18" should do a good job, easier to maintain.

For the skimmer feeding pump use the aquabee 1000 should be enough. Unless u tee off to other equipment.

For wavemaker i agree with Dr. Evil use the TS 24. ;)

And use a Ph controller. :lol:

The Deltec851 wld be either inside the cabinet or behind the tank, distance quite far, minimum need Aquabee 2000. Besides from what i read, the more water going thru the skimmer,means more water is treated in that given time, thus efficency increased.

get aquatronica to replace all equipments,will be easier that way. :fear:

I know a computer system will be better for the tank, unfortunately its slightly costly. Need to get other more impt equipments first. . . :)

I will go for 2.5 by 2.5 by 2.5 with coast to coast over flow, 400W Metal Halide & Aquabee 5000 as main return. :eyeblur:

bro, i need investors already. . need to sell car sell house to feed the hobby. .

I check with the tank maker, as long as you cut the glass 1inch more than the subsequent ft, it will be count as the entire ft. Example: a tank with the dimensions 2.5x2.5x2.25 ft wld cost as much as a 3x3x3 ft tank.

Now i understand why many reefers along the way switched from small tanks to big tanks and then back to small tanks. Its challenging to maintain a smaller tank, since it requires more precise measurements.

bro, i need investors already. . need to sell car sell house to feed the hobby. .

Another possible way to save cost and maintenance is to link the new tank to the existing sump. The central sump can use the exisitng skimmer, chiller, filter, etc...to be share among the 2 tanks. The paremeters of the tank is more stable due to larger volume of water also.

The problem is that my current tank nutrients level is very high. It will not be good for the sps tank. Anyway how's ur big project coming along? Its always exciting to see new set ups growing. . its like watching a child grow up. .

What do you guys think of this??!!!

post-34-1161935157.jpg

By using this. . you will save a lot of space in the sump tank for other purposes. Anyway i found this picture in reefcentral, thought its quite innovative, perhaps tank makers can look into this concept. . .

post-34-1161935463.jpg

go for low iron glass for ur main tank! it will cost abit more but all worth it IMHO.

i hv my regret :(

bro, what is low iron glass?

Since you are planning a new setup, why not use gravity feed and also, it will save u a pump.

juz a suggestion.

You mean use gravity feed for the skimmer?

Might be possible to tee off the downflow for calcium reactor.

bro, what is low iron glass?

Bro, u can take a look at hammy's tank. His tank's glass are low in iron and the clarity is there..

gravity feed to Deltec skimmer by bro skimmer is a good idea.... a pump less, save some electricity and most imptly, less a wire running around :D:D

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

Bro, u can take a look at hammy's tank. His tank's glass are low in iron and the clarity is there..

gravity feed to Deltec skimmer by bro skimmer is a good idea.... a pump less, save some electricity and most imptly, less a wire running around :D:D

Oic. . . actually the clearest is acrylic tank. But i am afraid of scratches. .

Its still ideas and more ideas. . . lots of ideas flowing in but not cash. .

Good idea. Must DIY liao. Any used sock to sponser me? LOL

Really a good design.

Those tanks in RC are very inspirational and creative. . might be able to steal some ideas from there. . . bascially the filter works like a coffee bag. . traps all the dirt and washable. . and space-saving. .

dude, i have almost the same sizing tank as u as well as cabinate and from ground to tank , its 5feet off.and my i have troble considering my return pump as it is 3 feet head lost, and will yr ehiem 1262 be under drive? i do have 2 holes for my rturn...