SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 24, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2006 hi bros since no one wants my snowflake can i release it in sg water or it is too toxic?cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member searching4dan Posted October 24, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2006 even LFS dun wans it??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 24, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2006 not sure but give Ah heng from AM he also won take care of it one.unless when i go there everyday i feed him loh.sobsss. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted October 24, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2006 moray eels are commonly found in local waters. It shd hv no prob surviving... Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 24, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2006 ok thanks so should be okay right?no received pm for adoption waiting his reply cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 hi bros since no one wants my snowflake can i release it in sg water or it is too toxic?cheers can post pic of eel? BTW what does it eats? I think you should give it back to the LFS instead of releasing it back to the sea. I think that it is not repsonsible as we should check out the feeding habits or at less find out how to take carr of the fish before buying it. 2 cents worth Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 like all morays, snowflake shd feed on livefood ... in the sea they feed on small fishes n mysids shrimps ... in aquarium can even be trained to feed on prawn meat or pellets... Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 sorry to correct you abit, they are more of shrimp and crab feeder in the wild. and opportunist fish feeder. so their primary diet is invertebrates while secondary is fish Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 yeah bro wei sheng, u r probably rite... anyway the eel shd hv no prob in the seas provided u release it where the food is available ... bro clown , u can pm me for places to release it where it'll be very happy Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 how big is it? maybe you can place it in my tank.. but then, i need time to clear fish. haha, still thinking of a snowflake eel or a golden dwarf moray Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 25, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 it is about 45cm in length would your take him?if not i will pm bro dazza. thanks a lot bro dazza for your help Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 yo bro wei sheng... take it man... wud be interesting addition to yr tank Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 25, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 ya pls he really need a new home bec i am keeping sugar cane,######,cleaners in my tank.now eel in iso tanks pls take him Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member searching4dan Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 u sure alot of moray eels in local waters?? p.hantu myb..?? far end of sentosa or sister island?? raffles lighthouse area?? unless there are the areas where u wanna let go.. i'm commercial diver.. diving in local water to work almost everyday.. seabed is full of MUD, soft MUD, dirty MUD.. aint seeing any eels b4! all i see are gobies, puffers, filefish, damsels etc.. realli not a place where a eel shld live.. nvr let it go @ east coast or juz some beaches.. PLEASE.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member glim18 Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 sounds like better places to release the eel is pulau ubin, kusu...ie. any island around singapore, but not singapore itself! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 25, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 ya but i saw some powder blues at ponggol beach the other day!!!!!!!possible? water was dirty.don think so but look like leh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 oh. sorry cant yet. i still have to clear fish and redo my scaping and that will be like after my Os. Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 u sure alot of moray eels in local waters??p.hantu myb..?? far end of sentosa or sister island?? raffles lighthouse area?? unless there are the areas where u wanna let go.. i'm commercial diver.. diving in local water to work almost everyday.. seabed is full of MUD, soft MUD, dirty MUD.. aint seeing any eels b4! all i see are gobies, puffers, filefish, damsels etc.. realli not a place where a eel shld live.. nvr let it go @ east coast or juz some beaches.. PLEASE.. yeah sentosa ... n labrador (west coast area) ... usually inhabit rock areas... go during low tides, no need to scuba dive ... size of the morays abt 6-9 inch those purplish with yellowish spots ones ... need to look at the gaps between rocks lah ... hv found octupus, seahorses, copperbands ard those areas as well ... Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hongqixian Posted October 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2006 might your snowflake moray bite someone? Three feet is pretty large. http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/eelcare/p...nowflakeeel.htm says that "Diet & Feeding: A carnivore, this eel's diet consists mainly of crustaceans such as shrimps and crabs, as well as sea urchins, but it may eat smaller fish if the opportunity arises. Unlike other moray species that have sharp pointed teeth for grasping onto prey, even though the Snowflake Eel has blunt or flattened teeth designed for grinding up shelled invertebrate prey, primarily crabs, shrimps and mollusks, it nonetheless has a nasty strong bite. Therefore, using a feeding stick is a good idea." What if it ends up biting some poor kid poking around rocks in the beaches? Cos it's used to human contact. I'm not too sure if there are the larger morays around SG waters so this point might not be applicable. But if your moray's trained to eat chunks of defrosted seafood then you might see someone's post about Catching a Snowflake Moray! at fishingkaki.com. haha do reconsider passing it on to some other aquarist or LFS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...