SRC Member cdckjn Posted October 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2006 I tried this method, and it works perfectly and it is eco-friendly. What I did was to get a needle and syringe from your local doctor and then freshly squeezed a lemon and then filled it in the syringe and then inject the aiptsia each with about 3ml of lemon juice and then see them shrink and then slowly see bubbles come from them, and then about 5 min, they will die. So far so good for me, managed to kill off 4 by this method. the aiptsia is like 10 cents in diameter when fully open. So with lemon juice can kill them off easily. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member searching4dan Posted October 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2006 bro.. did u check ur PH after u use them .. is it stable ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greywolf Posted October 19, 2006 Share Posted October 19, 2006 Same method but use hot water instead of lemon juice. It works. Henry taught my girlfrend to do it when I was away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted October 19, 2006 Share Posted October 19, 2006 using concentrated kalk work as well i believe . Quote 2x1.5x1.5 tank Lighting: AI hydra 52HD Skimmer: Deltec SC 1455 Reactor: Minimax; rowaphos Skimz ; NP biopellets Wave Maker: MP 40 WQD Return pump: Eheim 1262 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 hp A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel -- Proverbs 12:10 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member searching4dan Posted October 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2006 HOT water? how hot is hot?? boiling water u mean?? worth a try man.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member honzo Posted October 23, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2006 Woo.. can give a try! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member KennethK Posted October 29, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2006 Lemon is good. Better then kalk, which might bring the kh down. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member honzo Posted October 31, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2006 Peppermint shrimp? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member KennethK Posted October 31, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2006 I intro 2 peppermint b4 but MIA and the aiptasia still ard. Maybe will try again but now have a longnose hawk so alittle difficult unless it is removed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted October 31, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2006 I tried the copperband but it died after about 2 weeks, although in the other tank it manage to eat off several before it went up the lorry. after that I just wash out the whole tank and restarted again. So in the current main tank when I got them again, that's why I resorted to lemon. I guess if you can reach these aiptsia and they are big, 5 cents size, then injecting a little lemon will not cause too much of a problem. This is provided that you are able to reach into the live rock to inject the lemon juice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member KennethK Posted October 31, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2006 Just bought a lemon and try. Not much help, could be the powerheads. But a little difficult to see not like injecting kalk which is white. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted October 31, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2006 you need to get the needle and the syringe, aim directly into the mouth and then push the needle into middle of the body and then squeeze the lemon juice inside, at this time, the aiptsia will shrink and I could see bubbles started coming out already as the lemon juice goes in. I inject about 1-2ml (I used a 10ml syringe) you can inject more if you want. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted November 1, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2006 Various methods: http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/msubpesta.../a/aa061903.htm Lemon Method http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/anemonecare/a/aa100798.htm Hope this is helpful Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member KennethK Posted November 1, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2006 Wow 1-2 ml is almost half a lemon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member searching4dan Posted November 2, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2006 lol.. i intro a copperband and a peppermint into my tank too aiptais problem solved.. now i dun see any sticking out.. 2weeks too.. my copperband oso up the lorry liao ytd last nite onli .. sadness.. peppermint i think still ard la.. juz MIA nia. haha.. done a great job both of them.. lucky my copperband up the lorry after it completes its task.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trex Posted December 10, 2006 Share Posted December 10, 2006 juz in case cannot get the syringe with needle where can i get the peppermint shrimp? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sky107line Posted December 15, 2006 Share Posted December 15, 2006 juz in case cannot get the syringe with needle where can i get the peppermint shrimp? Hi there bro! If you were to purchase any salifert test kit it'll comes with a shringe and the idea is you can use that shringe to fill up with a thick kalkwasser and shoot it directly to the infested area & Voalaa!! It works 100% dude! For the hot water it works but it will kill your coraline algea within a second but still the choice is yours. Happy trying! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Volitan Posted December 22, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2006 Try out the seagrass filefish. Works quite readily, unlike copperband. I had mine in the tank for about 2 weeks, and one evening I suddenly realised that most of the aps are either missing or shrunk into the rocks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fishchemist Posted December 26, 2006 Share Posted December 26, 2006 Hi everyone, Is this also a pest anemone or Zoathids? If it is a pest anemone, does introducing a peppermint shrimp get rid of it? Please advise... Thanks. cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evanscence Posted December 27, 2006 Share Posted December 27, 2006 hi guys, i bought a banner butterfly fish and the pest were gone within days..i saw for my own eyes how tis fish hungrily deour those pest..for those for are having problem cn try out this fish..but it is definitely not reef safe.. cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted December 28, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 28, 2006 Hi everyone, Is this also a pest anemone or Zoathids? If it is a pest anemone, does introducing a peppermint shrimp get rid of it? Please advise... Thanks. cheers looks like aiptsia to me. monitor it for a while if starts to grows and overtake your tank - then kill them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fishchemist Posted December 29, 2006 Share Posted December 29, 2006 looks like aiptsia to me. monitor it for a while if starts to grows and overtake your tank - then kill them. thanks bro... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chercm Posted December 29, 2006 Share Posted December 29, 2006 Try out the seagrass filefish. Works quite readily, unlike copperband. I had mine in the tank for about 2 weeks, and one evening I suddenly realised that most of the aps are either missing or shrunk into the rocks. is it reef safe ? Quote Humble tank : Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display Equipment : Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1 Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1 CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium Light : ATI 8x54W Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fishyone Posted December 29, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted December 29, 2006 Bros i have tried using superglue gel and it works for sure - without affecting water quality. You just need a small blob of it on a disposable chop stick end and the Aiptsia will be bonded into the rock. Sure and safe. My 2 cts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pingpong Posted January 1, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted January 1, 2007 http://www.garf.org/news7p1.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...