lighting with auto-dimming feature

terryansimon

in one of the sponsor's websites *I think its eAquanature.com or something*, I stumbled upon an ATI lighting system with the auto dimming feature. hmm....was wondering if there are any other such lighting systems in the market? not that I don't like the one on EAquanature....but just wanted to see if the market has any other models/variants or not.

oh yeah the autodimming feature is suppose to mimic sunrise and sunset, much like the moonlight feature in most lights. except the auto dimmer is controlled by an electronic ballast that has a variable resistor inside the ballast itself, hence dimming the lights to a pre-programmed time. then again, I may be wrong. :P

so....any type of help will be much appreciated! (=

I am not spending the extra to get dimmer to simulate sunrise. Instead I plan to use actinic light and white light to do it:

10am - on actinic

11am - on white light

9pm - off white light

10pm - off actinic light

A dimmer could simulate better but I don't think there is much difference.

I am not spending the extra to get dimmer to simulate sunrise. Instead I plan to use actinic light and white light to do it:

10am - on actinic

11am - on white light

9pm - off white light

10pm - off actinic light

A dimmer could simulate better but I don't think there is much difference.

I was thinking of that....but that would require you to do it religiously...

but what if you're not at home for a while? I can't really rely on my family members to do it for me. got spooked out the other time when I told my mum/maid to feed the fish with one cube of bloodworms daily. they took it as one cube of bloodworms until I came back. lukcily only 3d/2n chalet. sian siah. :P

then again maybe my instruction not clear also lah. hehz

Hi terryansimon,

A little bit sick looking at the subaru picture at least 20 times a days.

Appreciate if you can change something new to share..

No hard feeling.

Chris

Tank 4x2x2.5

Dimming of ATI is different from on/off the light using timer. The dimming process took 45mins to dim from 100% output down to 0% output. This is a smooth transition of turning off the light. The turning on is the same, 45min from 0% up to 100%.

Such lighting will prevent shock to fishes and help them get prepare for bed time. But not too sure they does the coral any good thou.

Dimming of ATI is different from on/off the light using timer. The dimming process took 45mins to dim from 100% output down to 0% output. This is a smooth transition of turning off the light. The turning on is the same, 45min from 0% up to 100%.

Such lighting will prevent shock to fishes and help them get prepare for bed time. But not too sure they does the coral any good thou.

ah just like what it says on the website. the issue here however is, am I only restricted to ATI if I want this feature? or are there other available models out in the market?

thank you (=

I think I'll probably get the ATI Dim-fix Retrofit from Edmund soon... :P

the problem is, if I get such a light fixture, is there anyway for me to add in additional MH lights that can run in tandem? I'll probably start on corals like...six months to a years time. so the heavy investment in a MH light is not neccessary. then again, the investment in an ATI will also not be necessary if thats the case. but I'm getting it merely for aesthetic and novelty sake *aesthetic to make fishy look nice and novelty..well. dimmable you see. romantic, leh*

so anybody out there can recommend me another MH light that can be bought and used together with the dim-fix? or will it be better for me to purchase another Dim-fix retrofit from him when the time comes?

will 4x54W be enough to supplement the lighting from a 150W MH?

urh I'll be getting a 4ft by 2ft by 2.5ft by the way.

to Edmund (if you're reading this)

I was wondering if you could link a normal Retrofix to a Dim-fix? does it use the same ballast? or something like that? :P