Reefzzz

• Replies 541

Nitrate... hmmm.... looks like zero.... gd news

ur mangrove is working .

how about the D-D phosphate test kit result . :P

personally seen the tank, clean , neat and the mangrove is really an eye-opener.

my eyes nearly pop out when bro reefzz tell mi the price of one mangrove in UK and US .

nice guy who is really willing to share his knowledge too.

thumb up for sk reefers!

seriously bro, that's what i am trying to figure out.... when i first instal the skimmer, there were skimmate but only for 1 day. After that, no more liao.. it had been a week already.. really cannot figure out why... the bubbles, turbulence were there, just dun know why no skimmate...LOOKING FOR HELP... :blink::paiseh::cry:

Return using only aquabee 3000...

Emm... Aquabee 3000 is quite sufficient... however looking at the way you connect to your chiller... do expect the head loss to be tremendous... perhaps reducing your flow to half its capacity when it reaches back to your main tank.

Even if you have 1500 litres remaining, that is still 400US Gallons of turnover left... quite sufficient so you should focus your worries to the protein skimmer instead.

It's unusual for a skimmer to skim in day 1 then stopped skimming for the remaining of the week.

1) What have you been feeding your corals?

2) Does your skimmer requires tuning?

3) Did you add any bacteria during the first day of skimming?

Hope you don't find me asking too much questions... trying to help here :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

seriously bro, that's what i am trying to figure out.... when i first instal the skimmer, there were skimmate but only for 1 day. After that, no more liao.. it had been a week already.. really cannot figure out why... the bubbles, turbulence were there, just dun know why no skimmate...LOOKING FOR HELP... :blink::paiseh::cry:

Try cleaning the neck of your skimmer collection cup and also check the water level in the main body. Water level should be nearer to the top of the body. Hope this helps :)

bro shootsimon,

Will clean the collection cup today to check if it works better.. :thanks:

as for the water level, it is at the optimum level already and just right below the collection cup..

:thanks: for your input.. :D

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

Emm... Aquabee 3000 is quite sufficient... however looking at the way you connect to your chiller... do expect the head loss to be tremendous... perhaps reducing your flow to half its capacity when it reaches back to your main tank.

Even if you have 1500 litres remaining, that is still 400US Gallons of turnover left... quite sufficient so you should focus your worries to the protein skimmer instead.

It's unusual for a skimmer to skim in day 1 then stopped skimming for the remaining of the week.

1) What have you been feeding your corals?

2) Does your skimmer requires tuning?

3) Did you add any bacteria during the first day of skimming?

Hope you don't find me asking too much questions... trying to help here :)

Ok... so all 3 questions I asked were not the determining factors of your skimmer not skimming...

1) Some food affects skimming esp. those that consists of small amount of oil or fat... but since you feed only once every few days... don't think your coral food is affecting your skimmer.

2) Good news...

3) The reason I ask is... it is known for addition of bacterias in tablets or bottle forms to increase bubble formation for a day or two. Take my tank for example, after I add in Aquamedic Biobacter, my ATI Bubble Master went crazy for 2 days ;) Initially I suspect that is the reason why you get skimmate in day 1.

Don't worry... we will find out why... or perhaps you should add 2 fishies tomorrow :lol:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

get some cyclopeeze and throw in, if the skimmer starts foaming crazyly and u can see some cyclopeeze being skimmed up that means ur skimmer is fine and its only becos ur tank low bio load.

I know what's the best method... Henry's mix :lol:

hey bros, saw some skimmate today. Maybe because i put in a few new corals yesterday.. but skimmate those very dry type...

No more skimmate now again... :(

Henry mix?? what's that...

hey bros, saw some skimmate today. Maybe because i put in a few new corals yesterday.. but skimmate those very dry type...

No more skimmate now again... :(

Henry mix?? what's that...

Skimmate very dry? Emm... wet skimming is better in general... perhaps you need to add 2 fishies into your tank this week :lol:

Henry's mix is fish food mixed by Henry... Marine Life's boss... it is very delicious... most fish cannot resist it... but it can create skimmate in split second efficiency :lol:

Skimmate very dry? Emm... wet skimming is better in general... perhaps you need to add 2 fishies into your tank this week :lol:

Henry's mix is fish food mixed by Henry... Marine Life's boss... it is very delicious... most fish cannot resist it... but it can create skimmate in split second efficiency :lol:

Bro Jervis,

will be adding in fishes soon.... most exciting soon... :D

i am going to get some of henry's mix :evil::evil:

Bro Jervis,

will be adding in fishes soon.... most exciting soon... :D

i am going to get some of henry's mix :evil::evil:

Then you can also get fishes from Henry... he will be happy to demonstrate the power of his MIX in front of your eyes before you buying the fishes... make sure they feed before introducing into your tank :)

And may the BUBBLES be with you...

Phosphate level of the DI water... 0ppm...

Not sure if the tap water is already at Phosphate 0ppm or the DI had removed them.

Will do a Phosphate on the tap water to confirm..

Now the result for my tank phosphate level...

post-34-1160639048.jpg

WOW!!!! my phosphate level sooo high.. between 0.11ppm & 0.34ppm

Optimum value in reef aquarium is <0.015ppm.

Hmmm.... my FR will need to be up by tomorrow...

post-34-1160639129.jpg

get some cyclopeeze and throw in, if the skimmer starts foaming crazyly and u can see some cyclopeeze being skimmed up that means ur skimmer is fine and its only becos ur tank low bio load.

From my own experience, it seems that every time i throw cyclopreeze into the tank. Instead of forming like mad, the skimmer water level tends to drop. This uis the case for both the beckett skimmer and ATI skimmer.

If i am not wrong, other reefers did write about the same experience they get when feeding cyclopreeze.

I was a previous user of Schuran Jetskim 150. I didn't read thru ur entire 11 pages of set up.

Quick qn.

1) Is the skimmer in sump or out sump?

Dun be discouraged, results might show after a while

Hi bro acidjazz, the skimmer is in sump powered by Ehiem 1250 (manufacturer's recommendation).

Do they have such a long time period to break in?? It been 3 weeks.. I am only starting to see some skimmate but those very dry type...

Will take a pics later today to show. Maybe you can comment if my bubbles created is sufficient when i post a pics later.

Thanks bro :thanks::thanks:

Hi bro acidjazz, the skimmer is in sump powered by Ehiem 1250 (manufacturer's recommendation).

Do they have such a long time period to break in?? It been 3 weeks.. I am only starting to see some skimmate but those very dry type...

Will take a pics later today to show. Maybe you can comment if my bubbles created is sufficient when i post a pics later.

Thanks bro :thanks::thanks:

In fact i experience the same thing as you when i first bought the schuran jetskim 150. Not much skimmate. It took a pretty long time for the skimmer to break in for dunno wad reason.

u can do a search in product reviews or maine equipments, keyword is "schuran"

WOW!!!! my phosphate level sooo high.. between 0.11ppm & 0.34ppm

Optimum value in reef aquarium is <0.015ppm.

Optimum level for PO4 is ZERO :lol:

That very true though... :D

Going to run the phosphate remover. Don't know how effective will it be :erm:

Any one had experience with them?

Some updates.... :idea:

Mushies corner as usual...

post-34-1160669200.jpg

2 Blastoooooo

post-34-1160669260.jpg

Prata & Bubblesss...

More of hoping there will be more bubbles in the skimmer though... hehe

post-34-1160669332.jpg

That very true though... :D

Going to run the phosphate remover. Don't know how effective will it be :erm:

Any one had experience with them?

Most reefers will run PO4 remover in one form or another... it's quite essential in my opinion... but do follow the instructions... some requires more rinsing than others :)

Pretty soon you will achieve undetected PO4... make sure you remove water from the frozen mysis or brine shrimp :lol: