mAriNe_enthusiast Posted October 15, 2003 Share Posted October 15, 2003 Hey, I wanna ask u guys abt doc fish. U see, i juz got one doc fish. i added into my tank and it swam ard. The next thing i noe, it's out of sight liao. Could it be that it's hiding due to the stress or it kena ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [d]3v|L Posted October 15, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 15, 2003 Yes maybe it is stressed by the new environment and aggression by other fishes.. give it some time to appear again Quote ORDed back to studies and reefing again.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cleartank Posted October 15, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 15, 2003 How would we know??? No lah... hehehe. Maybe hiding maybe dead in the midst of your rock maze? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mAriNe_enthusiast Posted October 15, 2003 Author Share Posted October 15, 2003 That's what i am worried...that it's dead. Maybe captured by the shrimp Hope it comes out tom... Thanks for the replies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member metals99 Posted October 15, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 15, 2003 yeah doctor fish rarely survives in captivity.. it will die and not in sight and the body get eaten up by your scavengers... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mAriNe_enthusiast Posted October 15, 2003 Author Share Posted October 15, 2003 It's that hard to keep a doc fish? IN tat case it's more advisable to remove the body i guess. have to move the corals and rocks liao... sigh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted October 15, 2003 Share Posted October 15, 2003 Yep..doctor fishes hardly ever know to care for themselves in captivity. They normally only do well in large tanks with lots of fishes. You still might have to try a few fish before 1 really survives. Think it's because of their high metabolic rates and the shipping process. Imagine being caught from the ocean and being starved before someone buys you. Combined with stress....hence the low survival rate... Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KingFish Posted October 15, 2003 Share Posted October 15, 2003 Doctor Fish or Common Cleaner Wrasse are obligate parasite feeder. So unless you have a large enough fish community as hosts for the parasites that it feeds on, it will never find enough food. LiveAquaria is a good source of information, do read up and determine if you have the capabilities to take care of your next fish/coral purchase. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Fireclown Posted October 15, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 15, 2003 My cleaner wrasse feeds on cyclops. Will it survive? It's eating well... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
acce Posted October 15, 2003 Share Posted October 15, 2003 yeah bought 2 doc fish for my tangs but oni the more agressive one survive. Mine feeds on brine/mysis even trys eating the pellets Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted October 15, 2003 Share Posted October 15, 2003 Hey IMO read more about doctor fish, they are in fact have very low survival record so i suggest we all leave them in the wild. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Regal Posted October 16, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 16, 2003 Although they are very low survival record , but Still had some body kept it survival . IMO they may be some way to keep it ..... Any Tips ???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
air701 Posted October 16, 2003 Share Posted October 16, 2003 Already try abt 5 of them. None survive. Too bad cos they help to cure sick fish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Octopuffy Posted October 16, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 16, 2003 I bought 1, put them in and they disappeared. Only saw it 2 times after that. The worst $4 ever spent. Cheers! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chrislwp Posted October 16, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 16, 2003 As usual.. the fish is probably hidding some holes. My 1st doctor disappear after 1 day,, found dead after sometime on sandbed. 2nd doctor disappear after 3 days.. found hidding in hole after another 3days.. but still die later. Quote Tank 4x2x2.5 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted October 16, 2003 Share Posted October 16, 2003 Although they are very low survival record , but Still had some body kept it survival . IMO they may be some way to keep it ..... Any Tips ???? somebody??? you mean my uncle's doctor???? IMo they thrive better with fishes around, not sure how and don't understand why the doctor can survive BTW they have hrive for 10months already Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hoppinghippos Posted October 16, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 16, 2003 I had one doc a few weeks back, it took to eating brine shrimps, seemed quite healthy and all, then one day it became weak and died, had a red (bloodied or wounded?) lower mouth. And for the life of me, I really don't know what was wrong with it, no signs of disease only the red mouth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mAriNe_enthusiast Posted October 16, 2003 Author Share Posted October 16, 2003 I think there's a lot about this fish that we are not aware of... So it may be better to strike them off the fish list Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member IcecruncherZ Posted October 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 17, 2003 I had one doc a few weeks back, it took to eating brine shrimps, seemed quite healthy and all, then one day it became weak and died, had a red (bloodied or wounded?) lower mouth. And for the life of me, I really don't know what was wrong with it, no signs of disease only the red mouth. You're not alone on this... my Red Sea Cleaner also had a sudden death... I got it to eat flake, but it just perished suddenly about 2.5 weeks later. Very depressing... cos it's not easy to get the RS Cleaner to feed... *sigh* Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hongqixian Posted October 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 17, 2003 they are very prone to diseases themselves. They also tend to get attacked by crabs/worms when they find a hole in the rockwork to sleep at night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted October 17, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 17, 2003 probably its dead if it dun cme out for abt 2 days... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...