kelvintan_a1ea Posted August 30, 2006 Share Posted August 30, 2006 I luv Sunnies. My sun garden. Super sun fr Bio-Ocean and normal suns from fellow reefer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted August 30, 2006 Author Share Posted August 30, 2006 Yellow suns Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted August 30, 2006 Author Share Posted August 30, 2006 Before feeding. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted August 30, 2006 Author Share Posted August 30, 2006 Super Sun close-up. They jus blossom at night.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted August 30, 2006 Author Share Posted August 30, 2006 Another angle.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted August 30, 2006 Author Share Posted August 30, 2006 Another branch... not opening very well yet. Will post more pics as they grow. Will appreciate all to share nice pics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member remus Posted August 30, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted August 30, 2006 Nice one bro, jus brought one, like them alot but target feeding is one pro cos also dun open try cyclopeeze ,mysis and bine but still not as power as yours. This is the 3rd days liao try to train them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted August 30, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted August 30, 2006 hihi bro remus .. just keep trying lah, u'll succeed ... i hv 10 colonies of sunnies n i now feed them ocean nutrition formula one medium sized pellets ... n they love it ... patience will be rewarded in sunnies Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tjchan Posted August 31, 2006 Share Posted August 31, 2006 my sun never open for 2 weeks.... then one day... i bought cyclopeeze and feed... all slowly open up. from then on... they open whenever i feed my fish.... regardless of cylopeeze or flakes or mysis shrimp.... so now can target feed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladyfinger Posted August 31, 2006 Share Posted August 31, 2006 my sun never open for 2 weeks.... then one day... i bought cyclopeeze and feed... all slowly open up. from then on... they open whenever i feed my fish.... regardless of cylopeeze or flakes or mysis shrimp.... so now can target feed. Yup, feed with cyclopeeze and ur sun coral will become big and sunny. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted September 1, 2006 Share Posted September 1, 2006 that's the thing about sun coral.... i love supersun and sun , they brighten up the tank a lot , but lazy to target feed .... to hardworking sun owner. Quote 2x1.5x1.5 tank Lighting: AI hydra 52HD Skimmer: Deltec SC 1455 Reactor: Minimax; rowaphos Skimz ; NP biopellets Wave Maker: MP 40 WQD Return pump: Eheim 1262 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 hp A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel -- Proverbs 12:10 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted September 1, 2006 Author Share Posted September 1, 2006 I think they are not difficult to keep. If your water quality is good, it will definitely open. I rotate mysis, cyclo with phyto and henry's(hong leong) food mix. Be careful of overfeeding. There's once when my nitrate shot up over the tester max indicated. ( lazy to test and change water ) All my colonies died. Check out the sun skeleton on some of my pics. The challenge is to keep constant feeding and yet maintain low nitrate levels. The key to keeping sunnies is water change, good skimming and proper denitrification. Hey Dazza, got some pics? 10 colonies will be breathtaking... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
slcw Posted October 13, 2006 Share Posted October 13, 2006 once i had 4 sun corals and it took a toll on my water parameters.... > 280 NO3....and my tank is 210G....imagine the accumulation over time and dilution necessary needed to reduce it. http://www.chuisui.com/viewthread.php?tid=4117 Quote Azoo Tank (TOTM) >> http://www.ultimatereef.com/TOTM/2009_november/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted October 25, 2006 Author Share Posted October 25, 2006 To: princesseve I mix generous amount cyclofreeze (curry powder) with AquaZ phyto using tank water. I feed about 20-40 ml first and see if the sunnies open after abt 15-20 mins. If they open, thats means they can sense the food. If not, feed some more. Also feed this blended food mix from Henry (Hong leong marinelife or sealife always mix up) When ever I feel like it, I will hand feed with mysis or brine shrimp. Abt 6 cubes at one go. However, do be very careful wif water parameters. It is very difficult to balance yr NO3 given the heavy feeding. I keep my current no3 at between 20-50ppm. Constant change of water every week or biweekly. (I use a 2ft tank to premix the salt water so I can use the following week) I am also using 1 litre amount of Puralock in a FR to absorb NO3. I am using a HnS F2001 now but the No3 will rise gradually over a week or two. I jus bought another 12 pcs. Now got over 20 colonies liao. It will be best if u hav a further things like denitrator, DSB, and refugium system all together. So far these have been the challenges I am faced with. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted October 27, 2006 Author Share Posted October 27, 2006 My suns on day 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted October 27, 2006 Author Share Posted October 27, 2006 After 2 weeks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted October 27, 2006 Author Share Posted October 27, 2006 Another pic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sunnymau Posted October 27, 2006 Share Posted October 27, 2006 my eye is hurt i love sunny too that is why i call sunnymau Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gorgonia850 Posted October 28, 2006 Share Posted October 28, 2006 Wow, veri nice sunnies u have Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HwdQ Posted October 28, 2006 Share Posted October 28, 2006 Nice bro, are they only open during feeding time? Also, anyone knows the difference between normal sunny and super sunny? Thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted October 28, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2006 here is another sunny Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hondaker Posted October 28, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2006 Nice bro, are they only open during feeding time? Also, anyone knows the difference between normal sunny and super sunny? Thanks. Normal suns are under the family of tubastrea Super suns are under the family of dendrophyllia Basically, super sun are much bigger than normal suns in terms of poylps' size, and their tentacles tend to be more translucent in color If i am not wrong, there is a even bigger version of the super sun, but very rare, saw the pic in SRC once before, lazy to dig it up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators thomas_lim Posted October 29, 2006 Moderators Share Posted October 29, 2006 Normal suns are under the family of tubastrea Super suns are under the family of dendrophyllia Basically, super sun are much bigger than normal suns in terms of poylps' size, and their tentacles tend to be more translucent in color If i am not wrong, there is a even bigger version of the super sun, but very rare, saw the pic in SRC once before, lazy to dig it up Bro, you are right. There is 1 more which is much bigger. Per head is easier 2X the size of a supersun's. Irwana main tank had 1 head. Whitish in color. Can go view there if anyone want to see the real thing. It is located more to the right side of the tank in lower mid water level. Quote Tom Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member vagabond Posted October 29, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2006 Bro, you are right. There is 1 more which is much bigger. Per head is easier 2X the size of a supersun's. Irwana main tank had 1 head. Whitish in color. Can go view there if anyone want to see the real thing. It is located more to the right side of the tank in lower mid water level. Are we talking about this guy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelvintan_a1ea Posted November 8, 2006 Author Share Posted November 8, 2006 Wow.... very big lei.... Must try to take a look at the real thing man... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...