SOHO reef

yvoneysl

Guys... I can't join you guys tomorrow coz there will be some M'sian reefers coming over to meet up and see my setup... you guys go ahead and have a crazy chionging time ok?   

so fast your tank go international areadly :eyebrow: ...

• Replies 613

so fast your tank go international areadly :eyebrow: ...

Err... no lah... more like cross channel :lol::lol::lol:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Means no go lor

Bad news, Mission aborted ;)

Good news... I'm meeting my tank maker next Monday :yeah: ...hopfully can get more discount from him if not I will need to do more late night's drawings :fear:

Specially bought one big acrylic tub to house the live rocks. Equip with one seio 820, one 700I mini pump, one air pump & 2 T8 light. Next time whoever need big tub to cure live rocks can look for me in future. :heh:

Will add in a FR with Aquapharm Po4 remover later and also will maintain high Mg & Ca to encourage coralline algae :evil:

post-34-1164966923.jpg

Bad news, Mission aborted ;)

Good news... I'm meeting my tank maker next Monday :yeah: ...hopfully can get more discount from him if not I will need to do more late night's drawings :fear:

Specially bought one big acrylic tub to house the live rocks. Equip with one seio 820, one 700I mini pump, one air pump & 2 T8 light. Next time whoever need big tub to cure live rocks can look for me in future. :heh:

Will add in a FR with Aquapharm Po4 remover later and also will maintain high Mg & Ca to encourage coralline algae :evil:

blue light does encourage growth of coralline algae . =)

can see ur tank coming hee hee

Most of the live rock r more than 1 ft... very nice :wub:

Thanks you Mr Kamal :lol:

yup run FR in the holding tank to absorb all leaching phosphate if there are any .

wow, more than 1 feet .. i think i need 3 to full up my whole tank hee hee

yup run FR in the holding tank to absorb all leaching phosphate if there are any .

wow, more than 1 feet .. i think i need 3 to full up my whole tank hee hee

CORALLINE ALGAE PROPAGATION

I have summarize the following important points after consulted some of the expert here…

A lot of patience :angel:

Lights on for 14 hours using actinic blue light + white light

some types of Coralline Algae prefer higher lighting some lower

Good water current is helpful.

Calcium and magnesium are vital to coralline algae growth.

Organic calcium accelerates the growth of coralline algae.

Algae eaters such as tangs, snails, amphipods and copepods can be helpful.

They keep the hair algae at bay so the coralline algae can take hold and grow.

Scrub the coralline on the glass or a rock helps spread coralline algae

Maintaining excellent water quality

SG 1.024

Calcium- 400ppm (a specific gravity of 1.024.)

Carbonate Alkalinity- 7-12dKH

Strontium

Iodide

Low Phosphates -Close to Zero

Low Nitrates - 5 ppm or lower

Most common causes of poor coralline algae growth :evil:

low pH and KH

High phosphates and very high nitrates will slow down coralline algae growth

Excessive herbivores, especially ones that eat coralline algae e.g. Sea urchins, parrot fish, limpets...

I appreciate more comments & input you guys can provide. :bow:

CORALLINE ALGAE PROPAGATION

I have summarize the following important points after consulted some of the expert here…

A lot of patience :angel:

Lights on for 14 hours using actinic blue light + white light

some types of Coralline Algae prefer higher lighting some lower

Good water current is helpful.

Calcium and magnesium are vital to coralline algae growth.

Organic calcium accelerates the growth of coralline algae.

Algae eaters such as tangs, snails, amphipods and copepods can be helpful.

They keep the hair algae at bay so the coralline algae can take hold and grow.

Scrub the coralline on the glass or a rock helps spread coralline algae

Maintaining excellent water quality

SG 1.024

Calcium- 400ppm (a specific gravity of 1.024.)

Carbonate Alkalinity- 7-12dKH

Strontium

Iodide

Low Phosphates -Close to Zero

Low Nitrates - 5 ppm or lower

Most common causes of poor coralline algae growth :evil:

low pH and KH

High phosphates and very high nitrates will slow down coralline algae growth

Excessive herbivores, especially ones that eat coralline algae e.g. Sea urchins, parrot fish, limpets...

I appreciate more comments & input you guys can provide. :bow:

u have done ur homework heehee :lol:

anyway as for mi i didnt really try to accelerate coralline growth and they do cover real fast in my case . Get ur purple up ya ! :yeah:

now aching all over haha.. so long didnt run ... :lol:

I think lighting plays a significant role besides what's in the water. from what i observe, now i use 10,000K MH and my water quality is kept in check, but coraline growth is only average

Last time when i didn't have so much equipment, I ran ONLY ONE single tube FL coral sun 50/50 and just checked pH and dKH. coraline grew like crazy.

So perhaps light plays an impt part. I have another friend who reported the same thing with coral sun 50/50 and on top of that he had another tube same brand, but to the blue side. he also reported substantial coralline growth. Somemore my friend is a newbie don't know anything abt water parameters so the tank bye bye in the end but the coraline growth was really quite amazing.

I'm betting on the lights. Infact i'm thinking of changing my 10K bulb to a 20K bulb to shift the spectrum. any comments on that?

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

Hammy wear red beret in our army forces... must respect :bow:

We will cover longer distance this Monday ya :evil:

yup yup ... need to train up ... i am a fat man now

I think lighting plays a significant role besides what's in the water. from what i observe, now i use 10,000K MH and my water quality is kept in check, but coraline growth is only average

I agreed. :rolleyes:

But again how much or little light is required for optimum growth has been the subject of many debates.

One of the expert here stated that some coraline algae (not all)loves actinic blue light and hates white light as in nature they grows best deep in the ocean where only blue spectrum light can penetrate.

You might want to keep your 10K for the benefit of other corals as 20k create very low PAR

Just add actinic blue T5 to increase blue spectrum might do the job

hey bro yvonneysl, I like those macros going on the sandbed on the right side of your refugium. Will they grow until dense and lush and form like a carpet? I also come from planted tank background. miss all the carpet grasses.

Now my tank the floor is bare glass..i was thinking of putting a thin layer of sand and then grow all these macro until like a carpet. i've never seen this done in a marine tank before so i thot can be quite interesting.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

ya I miss my planted tank with all the bubbleing effect... ;)

I personally don't like BB as they appers unnature to me... You can try add in 2 packs of live sands & grow some carpet forming marcoalgaes like a lagoon concept.

I'm very excited to know more algae loving reefer :lol: