blueheaven Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 I am intending to keep clams in my reef tank and i was told that calms can only be put into tanks with MH. i now have one 7000k sunlight tube and two acticnic tubes. is this enough for clams? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 I am intending to keep clams in my reef tank and i was told that calms can only be put into tanks with MH. i now have one 7000k sunlight tube and two acticnic tubes. is this enough for clams? Tubes???? you mean FL, no no way even or the less light demanding clam such as squamosa also need at least t5s.............. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 14, 2003 Author Share Posted October 14, 2003 t5? whats that? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 light goes by enegry (watt) + kelvin.. clam needs more wattage.. T5 a higher intensive light than PL, FL. compromise for MH. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 14, 2003 Author Share Posted October 14, 2003 how much is a t5 selling for? what about VHO light. are they selling in singapore? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 VHOs are not sold in Singapore. They are usually imported in from overseas by hobbyists. T5s are considered as HO bulbs = High Output bulbs or even VHO by some people. The key is not the colour temp of bulbs but the wattage as that equates to increasing intensity which is more important than colour temp. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 14, 2003 Author Share Posted October 14, 2003 then any recommendations for my 2ft tank? also whats the pricing? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 If you going for clam, try MH but one word of warning when using MH the temp will shoot sky high(well maybe not really) but if it does, you might want to gte a chiller of fan to cool the water temp down Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spong3bob Posted October 14, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 14, 2003 then any recommendations for my 2ft tank? also whats the pricing? suggest u dun get any clams. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 14, 2003 Author Share Posted October 14, 2003 my tank is only 2ft. how to put MH? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 i am using metal halide for my 2foot...i dun see any problems with that..hehe Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 Ahem.. also... next time.. pls be more descriptive in your topic title and description. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 roidan Posted on Oct 14 2003, 10:08 PM i am using metal halide for my 2foot...i dun see any problems with that..hehe you got use chiller or cooling fan... if dun hav i think i will get a MH... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 well...most of the time..my aircon is on....water temp is 27....if i am out for a few hours...i turn my superpower ciculator fan those 40inches diameter to blow at it...could hang in around 27-28 Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 well...most of the time..my aircon is on....water temp is 27....if i am out for a few hours...i turn my superpower ciculator fan those 40inches diameter to blow at it...could hang in around 27-28 nevermind lah just on the air con 24hrs just to cool down the tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted October 14, 2003 Share Posted October 14, 2003 Read this! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 15, 2003 Author Share Posted October 15, 2003 i am using metal halide for my 2foot...i dun see any problems with that..hehe what type of MH are you using? those hanging ones or what? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted October 15, 2003 Share Posted October 15, 2003 what type of MH are you using? those hanging ones or what? Think most MH for 2feet is either those drill on wall kind oh hang on kind Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 15, 2003 Author Share Posted October 15, 2003 Now i using: 1 ATI T5 AquaBlue 24 watts 1 Arcadia Marine Acticnic Like this can have clams liao? Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...