Mandarine Dragonet

Hi all;

While I have an abundance of pods and growing... Has anyone kept 2 dragonet together?

I know they will fight and compete but is it possible....

Dun wana add and see one perish...

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Restarted 30G Corner Tank.

How much liverocks do you have in your tank? Generally the ratio is about 26 pounds to a single mandarin but it's only an estimate. Secondly, how matured are your liverock...ie. have the copepods had the opportunity to multiply without natural predators in the tank?

Thirdly, if you were to get a pair, get a male and female. Males are distinguished by their high fin on the top....kinda like a flagpole, while females don't have this "high fin".....a male and female can generally get along and if you're lucky might mate as well.

hope that helps... ;)

Tank 66"x27"x28" - Return Pump Red Dragon 12m3 - Skimmer Deltec AP701 - Chiller Starmex - Wavemakers Wavysea - Lighting DE 6 x T5-HO

southpaw23's reef

How much liverocks do you have in your tank? Generally the ratio is about 26 pounds to a single mandarin but it's only an estimate. Secondly, how matured are your liverock...ie. have the copepods had the opportunity to multiply without natural predators in the tank?

Thirdly, if you were to get a pair, get a male and female. Males are distinguished by their high fin on the top....kinda like a flagpole, while females don't have this "high fin".....a male and female can generally get along and if you're lucky might mate as well.

hope that helps... ;)

Hi southPaw;

Thanks for the reply. My water is nuetrients rich so the pods multiply like mad, only natural killer is this dragonet. I'm in a regime of reducing feeding of LS and coral. If ratio of 26 pound 4 for 1 dragonet, then I have enuf. My dragonet actually got a tummy without me feeding... yet can see pods on the glass. The sump's pods can even see them, abt 2-3mm...

Thanks for answering this not so common question.

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Just to clarify..did u just get yourself a dragonet or have you already had one in your tank for sometime now.

The reason i ask is cos the caution with dragonets is that although you may have abundant pods in the tank....depending on the tank size...a dragonet can completely decimate it's population in less than 2 months. I used to own a 16 gallon which i allowed to mature for a whole year before introducing a mandarin. At that point, my tank was loaded with pods and so was the custom 8 gallon refugium i built...even so, the dragonet literally terminated all the pods in the maintank in less than 2 months. It's amazing how much these lil buggers can eat.

Either way, now that you've got one...just keep an eye on him and see if you can slowly wean him onto frozen brine/mysis shrimp as that'll help the pod population to recover.

If you already have an existing mandarin and intend to get another one...it'll be tricky cos most times you'll need to introduce both in at the same time as they tend to be aggresive towards one another. If u still insist on adding another one...your best bet is with one from the opposite ######.

Ur welcome on the response....I can understand your query as i had these same questions when i first stumbled across this beauty a couple of years back.

Tank 66"x27"x28" - Return Pump Red Dragon 12m3 - Skimmer Deltec AP701 - Chiller Starmex - Wavemakers Wavysea - Lighting DE 6 x T5-HO

southpaw23's reef

Very insightful reading... I am also planning to introduce another Spotted Mandarin to my tank (currently a female)... on second thoughts... maybe not... not now at least :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Just to clarify..did u just get yourself a dragonet or have you already had one in your tank for sometime now.

The reason i ask is cos the caution with dragonets is that although you may have abundant pods in the tank....depending on the tank size...a dragonet can completely decimate it's population in less than 2 months. I used to own a 16 gallon which i allowed to mature for a whole year before introducing a mandarin. At that point, my tank was loaded with pods and so was the custom 8 gallon refugium i built...even so, the dragonet literally terminated all the pods in the maintank in less than 2 months. It's amazing how much these lil buggers can eat.

Either way, now that you've got one...just keep an eye on him and see if you can slowly wean him onto frozen brine/mysis shrimp as that'll help the pod population to recover.

If you already have an existing mandarin and intend to get another one...it'll be tricky cos most times you'll need to introduce both in at the same time as they tend to be aggresive towards one another. If u still insist on adding another one...your best bet is with one from the opposite ######.

Ur welcome on the response....I can understand your query as i had these same questions when i first stumbled across this beauty a couple of years back.

Equipment:

Live Stock:

Reef:

RIPs (Since June 2005):

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Another option is u could switch the mandarin back and forth between the sump and main tank so that both places have time to recover.....they aren't that hard to catch :)

southpaw23's reef

Pods are short for for Copepods and Amphipods, they're basically the lil white bugs in your tank...they look like mini white cockroaches that live and multiply in your liverock.

Most times they serve as food for some fishes like the mandarins and wrasses. Do a search on google for them...should give you a good idea of how they look......

southpaw23's reef

Another option is u could switch the mandarin back and forth between the sump and main tank so that both places have time to recover.....they aren't that hard to catch :)

Haha, ya they are really slow. But too elusive to catch anyway. :rolleyes:

Equipment:

Live Stock:

Reef:

RIPs (Since June 2005):

Old 30G Corner Tank.

I got 1 green and 1 spotted mandarin in my tank and so far so good! My spotted mandarin with me for 6 months liao! Still fat and healthy! :P

I oso got 1 red blenny scooter which shd belong to the Dragonet family! :lol:

Good to see a couple ppl with knowledge of this cutie fish. Okay will source for a male dragonet.

Equipment:

Live Stock:

Reef:

RIPs (Since June 2005):

Old 30G Corner Tank.