Denitrator

acidjazz

i have been doing some research on my own over the internet and have personally seen some of the denitrator designs. The design is in fact so simple and can be easily DIY.

Therefore my question is. . is it possible to convert a CR into a denitrator instead? The denitrator is also using the drip method, thus i was wondering if i can use a CR and fill it with sulphur beads and it will work like a denitrator.

All comments, good or bad are welcome.

Honestly I think it is workable... if your CR got probe holder even better... can fit in a Redox Electrode. Now all you need to do it to further limit your water intake to 1 to 2 drops second (for your tank size better 2 drops lah) and make sure there are minimal water circulation within the chamber itself.

Follow AquaMedic method, put in around 70% bioballs and 30% Deniballs lor... you may also want to find ways to inject in Denimar (supplement in powder form for your bacteria)... but it create too much hassle.

If you need help... I can post some pix of my NR1000 but dun copy exactly lah... just as reference no harm :)

Go ahead and impress us with a proper review :lol:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

jervis. . you are the pro la. . u pick up things pretty fast dun you. . i mean u're not in this hobby tt long but u know the specs and designs and technical parts of most equipments. . :bow:

the way i see it, the denitrator works almost like a calcium reactor. . actually the sulphur method might be better and slightly cheaper considering tt deni balls are $2 each. .

My CR is dual chamber, so i can fill one chamber with sulphur beads and the other with Agronite calcium media. .

Post some pictures if its not too much hassle.. thanks!

Haha... thank you...

Well... for you tank volume and 80+ fishes... you should go for Sulphur based denitrator as they are more "powderful" :yeah::yeah::yeah:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

i am planning to get a calcium reactor and convert it into a denitrator. :lol:

then see if it works or not.

i am planning to get a calcium reactor and convert it into a denitrator. :lol:

then see if it works or not.

But bro... a CR is not that cheap right? Why the trouble? At first I thought you are recycling some old CR... is the trouble worth it? I heard Deltec Sulphur Denitrator is quite power leh :lol:

i have a barr aquatic CR now but the chamber too huge, enuff to fill 20kg of sulphur beads!!

Therefore i shall get a 2nd hand Cr and convert it into a denitrator. Alternatively, can use a FR and convert it as well. If u didnt know, the old Deltec Denitrator's design is based on a FR design.

i read about the new Deltec denitrators at reef depot, simple design but big price tag.

btw anyone knows where to get sulphur beads? i.e. industrial etc. .

i have a barr aquatic CR now but the chamber too huge, enuff to fill 20kg of sulphur beads!!

Therefore i shall get a 2nd hand Cr and convert it into a denitrator. Alternatively, can use a FR and convert it as well. If u didnt know, the old Deltec Denitrator's design is based on a FR design.

i read about the new Deltec denitrators at reef depot, simple design but big price tag.

btw anyone knows where to get sulphur beads? i.e. industrial etc. .

Bro try bioballs first lah... Deniballs being exp is just a myth... it's less than $2 a piece and they can last around 1 year... how many Deniballs you can fit in your chamber? 35?

I think your Barr huge chamber is very suitable for bioballs... but a bit wasteful lah... such a beauty.

Bro try bioballs first lah... Deniballs being exp is just a myth... it's less than $2 a piece and they can last around 1 year... how many Deniballs you can fit in your chamber? 35?

I think your Barr huge chamber is very suitable for bioballs... but a bit wasteful lah... such a beauty.

haha.. same sentiments man.. i am using a $1000 CR as a denitrator. . people will be laughing behind my back.

Anyway u still looking for Cr? u have to come see this giant Barr Aquatic Cr. Can support sps-crazed tanks.

hmm... jervis u noe where can get sulphur beadS?

Deltec lor... or maybe AquaMedic lor :lol:

Manage to get contacts for a chemical plant in jurong which sells sulphur beads. Anyone else interested? :)

Anyone here need sulphur beads??